We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food for lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nicholson's Tavern & Pub

Nicholson's Tavern & Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicholson's Tavern & Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 1,952 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th
Description: Located in downtown Cincinnati across from the Aronoff Center, Nicholson’s is a restaurant and bar serving fine food and drink in a genuine Scottish tavern setting. Taking inspiration from the public houses found throughout Great Britain, our goal is to provide our guests with authentic hospitality and a brilliant dining experience. In addition to high-quality food, we offer a wide variety of beer, wine, bourbon, craft cocktails and feature one of the best selections of single malt scotch whiskies in the area.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We've been here for drinks acouple of times. The drinks are good and so is the food. For lunch we stopped in and had the lunch special. We ordered fish and a sandwich both with salad. The food was worth the wait. They were very busy that day for lunch but our server kept checking on us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank satrosper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank for sharing your great experience and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    134
    45
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Men in Kilts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is definitely one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten in. Living many years outside of Manhattan I thought I knew good food. Well this great little Pub on Walnut street downtown Cincinnati beats all! The décor was old world with rich wood columns and leaded glass windows.The lobster mac was absolutely sinful. My mouth waters just thinking about it. The lamb burger was bursting with flavor, savory and sweet. Now the kicker is that the staff was incredible-they bent over backwards to help with genuine sincerity-and wouldn't that have given us even more laughs as they all wore kilts! The big dilemma.....you'll have to go find out for yourself. Cheers to the best restaurant in Cincinnati.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JillW379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for the great review and glad you enjoyed your experience with us! Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Single Malt Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Not many places you can go that have the selection of Single Malts that Nicholson's has! I have not eaten here yet, but can vouch for the quality and variety of Malts and other drinks! Sit down and enjoy a flight, complete with your own still water to adjust taste and flavor. Great atmosphere and location!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank technobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for the review! You should definitely check out our menu next time you are in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
186 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“I will be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

My cousin suggested Nicholson's for a family dinner together while I was in Cincinnati on business. It was quite evident almost immediately why he chose it. Nicholson's is a great family friendly, actually any kind of party friendly place, with great food, friendly service and a bar to suit most tastes. Pub staples like shepherd's pie and fish & chips are excellent. The dishes enjoyed by the other members of our group were equally good but I measure "theme" places such as this one by how they make the staples. One fun thing to note is that the waiters all wear kilts and the atmosphere is right out of a Celtic pub. Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeachcombersNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. Glad you were about to join us and enjoyed the shepherd's pie and fish and chips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
209 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great gathering place with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

My wife and I picked this pub as a place to meet up with friends and it worked out great. They have a nice patio area that is right along the sidewalk and easy to spot people as they arrive. Very good drink selection though a few more tap beers would help. All the food we tried was great. Our server was slow and inattentive, or this would have been a five-star review.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aatbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for the review and glad you enjoyed the patio! I apologize for the service. I will be passing this along to management to use as a learning experience. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nicholson's Tavern & Pub also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Nicholson's Tavern & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing