We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit the spot”

deSha's American Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
deSha's American Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 1,964 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located in the northern Cincinnati suburb of Montgomery, deSha's is known for savory American entrees and warm hospitality. We have an extensive offering of beer, wine, scotch, craft cocktails and specialize in top-barrel bourbons that can be enjoyed in our dining room or in the bar. It’s a great place to dine, drink and gather.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were out Saturday night and tried to get into several places but they all had 60 min wait times. We were in the area so we tried and guess what....no wait? Not surprised, because it's a huge eatery. They had a nice bar with a not too loud jazz band playing which was great. Off that there was a smaller bar and lounge which was also quite full. However, we asked for a quite booth and that's what we were taken to. We got to walk through the whole place, multi levels down to their small lake wall of windows view. Nice, dim lighting, warm atmosphere, lots of families, mixed in with couples. Relaxed enough for jeans, but still a nice mix of dress up. On the food side of things, the menus seemed a little limited. Two burger choices, two fish, one pasta, one steak and a couple of others. They did have a couple of salads and some nice appetizers. We settled in on some tavern chips with blue cheese, a good cheese burger and their 6oz fillet. There was also a nice choice of wines and a couple of seasonal specials. Food servings were on the slightly small size, but that's ok. They were tasty and well presented. Desserts were ok. The apple pie and ice cream was good, the cheese cake was a little dated. Overall, nice and relaxing, good food, decent service, all for under $70. Not a destination place to eat but a great option. Will be back for sure.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishCreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at deSha's American Tavern, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks for the review! Glad to hear we hit the spot for your Saturday night and you will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    34
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Business lunch location - you can't go wrong!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

deSha's is a good location for a business lunch; the food, service and atmosphere are always consistent. The service was attentive and our meals were prompt, but we were not rushed to clear the table. Lots of options for lunch, from soups, salads and sandwiches. We chose the chicken cranberry salad, which was very tasty and proportioned well for lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VacationReady330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at deSha's American Tavern, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for the review! Glad we could accommodate you for a great business lunch! Hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We attended a family function of 30-36 ppl on a Saturday evening at 6 pm. The food was good and service excellent. The decor is lovely and comfortable and it was nice to hear live music coming from the bar area. We will patronize again. :)

Helpful?
Thank MeschelleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at deSha's American Tavern, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thanks for the great review! Glad you and your family had a great time! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Average - not a MUST”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A friend and I dined at DeSha's today for lunch. The service was good but the food was nothing to write home about. I have the quiche and onion soup and my friend had the tomoato soup and chicken salad croissant. We enjoyed our meal but neither of us walked away truly impressed. Maybe it's the atmosphere at lunch is different than at dinner. I'd like to go back and sit in the bar - maybe that will be better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimBux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at deSha's American Tavern, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your review and recognizing our service. I am sorry we did not impress, but thank you for giving us another chance by either joining us for dinner or at the bar. We would like to hear how this goes and if we still do not impress, we would like to learn how we can improve. You can contact me directly at info@tavernrestaurantgroup.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

If you are looking for some good and straight forward American food, this is it. The menu is very nice with a good selection. The Desha's burger and their fried chicken are excellent. The bar is also very nice. It is very well stocked and has a nice selection of craft beers along with good bourbon and scotch. The staff has always been quite pleasant and helpful when I have been there. They do get quite busy at times but I believe the wait is worth it. I have enjoyed time in the restaurant and bar several times over the past many years and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at deSha's American Tavern, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for the review! Glad you are never disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed deSha's American Tavern also viewed

 

Been to deSha's American Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing