We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the food”

deSha's American Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
deSha's American Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #146 of 2,050 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located in the northern Cincinnati suburb of Montgomery, deSha's is known for savory American entrees and warm hospitality. We have an extensive offering of beer, wine, scotch, craft cocktails and specialize in top-barrel bourbons that can be enjoyed in our dining room or in the bar. It’s a great place to dine, drink and gather.
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had heard really good reviews of deSha's. The servers were warm and welcoming. Food was delicious and portions were appropriate. Will definitely visit again.

Thank Amit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at deSha's American Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Glad you enjoyed! Hope to see you back soon! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

I went with a party of 10 people for a late Friday night dinner about 9 p.m. since we were in this northern suburb of Cincinnati, just above the I-275 "Circle Freeway."
I had remembered this restaurant from a few years ago as having a nice rustic character and pub-style food.
The menu features a typical standard American fare with some beef, chicken, and fish entrees.
There are also several salad options.
Reportedly, they have a wide selection of bourbons, which none of us sampled, but the beer and wine menu is very satisfactory.

The restaurant was only about 1/4 full at the time we went there, but there are other enclosed party rooms available.
I did not check ahead of time to know that they would have a Classic Rock cover band in the Bar area adjacent to the restaurant.
The band was not overly loud as far as bar bands go, but since the bar was open to the restaurant area, we found that us 50 and 60-year old musicians had to strain our voices in order to converse with each other.

The food was good, but not special.
The hostess and waitress were friendly, but not as punctual as I would have desired given that there were not too many diners at that time.

There is plenty of free parking at this restaurant located in a small open-air shopping mall in this upscale suburban neighborhood of Cincinnati.
If you are in the area shopping, live in this area, or visiting this part of Cincinnati, deSha's is a good restaurant for American food.
It is not worth a special drive here. Also, check ahead to see what kind of live music is playing!.
It was open until 11 p.m. on Friday night for dining.

There are many other restaurant choices in this area competing for diners. I don't know what kind of crowd deSha's is aiming for, but it does not appear to be middle-age diners looking for a quiet place for conversation and camaraderie.
If you want high energy and vibrant, cutting edge food, I would say go to the Over-The-Rhine and downtown Cincinnati areas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cincydoc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at deSha's American Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank for taking the time to share your very detailed experience with us. It is disappointing to hear we did not fully impress you and we apologize the music was too loud to enjoy your evening. We do often have live music on either Friday or Saturday night . We post all of our live music on our website or you can always call to see if we have a bands playing that night. I have shared this with our general manager so she can share with our team to make sure we are providing the best experience for all our guests. Our general manager would really like the chance to apologize to you personally, if you would willing, please send your information to info@tavernrestaurantgroup.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were out Saturday night and tried to get into several places but they all had 60 min wait times. We were in the area so we tried and guess what....no wait? Not surprised, because it's a huge eatery. They had a nice bar with a not too loud jazz band playing which was great. Off that there was a smaller bar and lounge which was also quite full. However, we asked for a quite booth and that's what we were taken to. We got to walk through the whole place, multi levels down to their small lake wall of windows view. Nice, dim lighting, warm atmosphere, lots of families, mixed in with couples. Relaxed enough for jeans, but still a nice mix of dress up. On the food side of things, the menus seemed a little limited. Two burger choices, two fish, one pasta, one steak and a couple of others. They did have a couple of salads and some nice appetizers. We settled in on some tavern chips with blue cheese, a good cheese burger and their 6oz fillet. There was also a nice choice of wines and a couple of seasonal specials. Food servings were on the slightly small size, but that's ok. They were tasty and well presented. Desserts were ok. The apple pie and ice cream was good, the cheese cake was a little dated. Overall, nice and relaxing, good food, decent service, all for under $70. Not a destination place to eat but a great option. Will be back for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IrishCreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at deSha's American Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thanks for the review! Glad to hear we hit the spot for your Saturday night and you will be back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

deSha's is a good location for a business lunch; the food, service and atmosphere are always consistent. The service was attentive and our meals were prompt, but we were not rushed to clear the table. Lots of options for lunch, from soups, salads and sandwiches. We chose the chicken cranberry salad, which was very tasty and proportioned well for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VacationReady330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at deSha's American Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thanks for the review! Glad we could accommodate you for a great business lunch! Hope to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We attended a family function of 30-36 ppl on a Saturday evening at 6 pm. The food was good and service excellent. The decor is lovely and comfortable and it was nice to hear live music coming from the bar area. We will patronize again. :)

Thank MeschelleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at deSha's American Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thanks for the great review! Glad you and your family had a great time! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed deSha's American Tavern also viewed

 

Been to deSha's American Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing