We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basement location with exposed brick, candle light and good food”
Review of Sotto

Sotto
Reserve with OpenTable
Sotto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,975 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Walnut Street
Description: It is a concept of casual intimacy and communal romance.Sotto is the art of simplicity, a steward of restraint. It’s undressed, gutsy and human. It is fire, meat, wheat, and laughter.Above all, Sotto is Italian.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“basement location with exposed brick, candle light and good food”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This felt like a restaurant in Spain or Italy. The menu was unusual and we relied on our sever to explain a lot. We had a bottle of red wine which was fair. We purchased the bread and butter which is normally included at most restaurants but no big deal. We had a pasta appetizer which was a short rib ravioli in a light cream sauce and it was tasty. We also had the polenta appetizer which was just okay.

There were three of us and we shared the huge porterhouse steak and the way they prepared it was amazing. It was charred on the outside, pink on the inside and sliced in thin strips all the way to the bone. The flavor and texture were outstanding and the fact that it was already sliced meant no work in cutting in up. It was one of the most flavorful steaks I've ever had. The veggie they served was different but good.

We were there on a Saturday and it was a bit loud but a great vibe. Make reservations especially on weekends.

There were three of us and we shared

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank likethewind27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    85
    28
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Dining Experience”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The atmosphere is very romantic with dim lighting, exposed brick and chandeliers. The food is great. Everyone loved the spare ribs, various kinds of bruschetta, and you must end with the doughnuts, delicious!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here for dinner before a play. We love Italian food and she had been wanting to eat here for a little while. We were very impressed as the food was outstanding.

It is easy to miss this place from the street as the entrance is down the stairs below street level. Reservations are recommended as the restaurant filled very quickly. Our server, Will, knew the menu well and guided us to some excellent choices.

The food was excellent fresh Italian, we tried the bruschetta with pork belly, the homemade pasta with a pepper cream sauce. For our main course, my wife had the branzino and I had the braised beef. Her fish was light and flavorful while my beef was tender and very rich.

We had a great time and really enjoyed the food and we'll go back soon.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mturner85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“High energy atmosphere with OK food”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had a really fun dinner at Sotto. The environment was high energy with music, conversation and an active bar. Food was good. Nothing was fantastic but everything was pretty good. Drinks were better than the food. We tried the Branzino, the Short Rib pasta, chicken and pork loin. Nothing stood out as fantastic but in the end it was all gone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing food”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We went to Sotto's tonight for the first time anticipating a great experience based on the review given in the Enquirer. The ambiance was quite nice. However, the food was definitely lacking. Our waiter advised us to order one of every item and share between the two of us. We ordered the Blue Oven bread, which was wonderful with the pure olive oil. In addition we ordered the arugula salad, beef shortrib ravioli for the first plate and the "Sea Bass" with sliced zucchini for the second plate. The arugula salad was quite bland with little oil or dressing. The ravioli was mediocre at best, and the Sea Bass? Well it was tiny, quite flat and likely wasn't sea bass at all. The fish was dry and barely seasoned at all. The zucchini was simply sliced and unseasoned.
The serving sizes of all these items, which are purchased a la carte by the way, were meant for a single diner. So we ended up sharing a meal meant for one person. Even the bread, although wonderful and comes from a local bakery, was only two pieces. The Enquirer article said the chef there was about keeping everything simple and let the food speak for itself. What it said to me is "you are going to leave hungry." This was definitely not Italian cooking (the wife is an Italian immigrant).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sotto also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Sotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing