We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just for a beer...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arnold's Bar & Grill

Arnold's Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Arnold's Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 1,952 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just for a beer...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Cons: If you're going for a nice dinner then don't bother. Typical bar quality food and the menu is extremely limited.
Pros: Service was good and we were seated quickly even though the place was packed on a Saturday night.

Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    50
    23
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Nice atmosphere, bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My fiancé and I ate here to decide if we wanted to have our rehearsal dinner here. The bar itself is neat but the food was horrible. For ten dollars my fiancé got a shrimp po boy with four pieces of shrimp and a pile of lettuce. I had the meatball sub which was three meatballs that tasted ok but subways are better. We had to stop on the way home and grab dinner. Unfortunately we will not be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ACB221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
943 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Historic Old Tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is an old tavern in downtown Cincinnati with much charm. The drinks were cheaper than anticipated and the snack food was very good. The venue is nice for after work drinks and snacks. Parking on the street after hours is free but there is a pay parking lot across the street that charges about $10 for event parking.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LiketoeatCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Kind of a letdown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We went here on a Friday night, and were seated outside. There was a jazz combo, which was kind of nice. The drinks and the beer were good. But the food was only so-so. I had the greek pasta, which was supposed to be a speciality, but was pretty much like pasta I have had elsewhere. The service was friendly, but was kind of rushed, probably because of Friday night and being outside. Next time drinks only.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Islandbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnetonka. minnesota
Level Contributor
209 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Still the best bar in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

A premium bourbon here (Blanton's) went for $9 that a few blocks away sold for $15. But that isn't the draw.
The atmosphere, service, and clientele make this a special place. A great selection of beer, bourbon, and scotch, very good food, and good music, make this, the oldest bar in Cincinnati, worth a visit. Breakfast is good too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zadkine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arnold's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Arnold's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing