We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting views and very interesting elevator ride” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carew Tower

Carew Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
The Nati in a Nutshell Cincinnati Food Tour Including Carew Tower Entrance Fee
Ranked #11 of 174 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Interesting views and very interesting elevator ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Carew Tower provides excellent views of downtown Cincinnati, the riverfront and the Ohio River. It costs a measly $2 to gain access to the observation deck. A mere fraction of the cost compared to observation decks in other cities around the US and the world.

You need to be very careful of what elevator to get on as I must not have been paying too much attention. A normal elevator ride will take you up to the 45th floor where you can on another elevator to the 48/49th floor where the observation deck is. I got on an elevator and pressed the button for the 45th floor. My car stopped on the 22nd floor and did nothing. The doors didn't open, it didn't move up or down. I was worried that I had become stuck! After a deep breath I hit the "door open" button and got out on the 22nd floor and took another car to the 45th. It stopped my heart for a second. Don't make my mistake!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Meowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    141
    32
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Find entrance!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

It's hard to find the entrance. It is rift between the tazza Mia an morton's. Definitely fun and worth it!!!'

Helpful?
Thank Bekatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

For the price of $2 this has got to be the best deal in any city. You get to go up to a an open top building and see Cincinnati in all directions. I would definitely recommend anyone visiting Cinci to do this.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank kraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
178 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Amazing view - Outdoor deck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

The 360 degree view from the top of Carew Tower (49th floor) is a great way to get your bearings in the city and to plan what you want to see next. The observation deck is outdoors and very safe. The elevator up to the 45th floor is very quick and you can choose to take a small elevator the rest of the way or walk the 4 additional floors. We walked and found it very easy to navigate to the deck. Admission is only $2 for adults and $1 for kids. This is the best return on investment for any attaraction in Cincinnatti.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank whereaminow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Best $2 deal in Cincy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Our family spent about an hour on the roof of Carew Tower taking in the beautiful scenery of Cincinnatti and northern Kentucky. Some beautiful pictures and you can really see all of the buildings and the layout of the city from here. Watching ships, paddle wheelers, trains. traffic and the people in the downtown area is easy to do. You can see both the Reds and Bengals stadiums very clearly. There are no screens or fences blocking your 360 degree view. Only thing missing is a detailed picture map of what you are looking at. I would highly recommend this bargain attraction when you are in Cincy.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Gatorzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Carew Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing