We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Via Vite

Via Vite
Reserve with OpenTable
Via Vite is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 1,953 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Cross street: On Fountain Square, Fifth & Vine Streets
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Good variety of salads, sandwiches and entrees. Salmon was outstanding. Service was friendly and professional.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    170
    57
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good and cozy”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is good and environment is cozy for breakfast or lunch. I had vegetarian pizza, which was not so very good but still ok. But minestrone soup was good and tiramisu was great.

Helpful?
Thank Andy700311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus. Ohio
Level Contributor
303 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Fun evening”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We were in town for Valentine's weekend and wanted good Italian. We started at Nicola's, but it was too formal for our taste. So we went to Via Vite. Both had been recommended to us by people at the Findlay Market. We sat at the bar. Service was great ... the owner stopped by to chat, which we enjoyed ... and the food was excellent. We both had caesars, which were excellent. My partner had angel hair with bolognese and a meatball. The sauce was rich, creamy, and delicious. Ditto for the bites I had of the meatball. The bread was perfect--flown in from NYC and baked locally, we were told--and we loved the olive oil so much we bought a small bottle. It was expensive, but given our experience at the restaurant, it was worth it. We opened the bottle the next day and were grossly disappointed; it was bitter and nothing like what we had at the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peebs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
376 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Downtown Italian”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

There could not be a more centrally located restaurant in Cincinnati and in the boot a pretty good one as well. These folks have a number of house made pastas and a wide variety of Italian fare. I’ve had the braised veal shanks before and they are delicious. This night my daughter had Gnocchi grilled somehow so they were “crisped”, and I had the pasta e fagioli. The Gnocchi were rich but portioned correctly so they were not over powering and the bean soup was hearty with house made sausage. I’d have added more tomato but that didn’t stop me from eating every drop. The “Carmel Complexity” was a bit overwrought in my view but my daughter enjoyed it and we got out with dinner, a couple of glasses of a quite respectable Barbera, cognac and espresso for about $125. I thought it was a good deal. Downstairs is way nicer better than upstairs. I've been here a number of times and I’ll be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“view”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great view of Fountain Square. Reasonably low decibles. Good fish stew and service friendly. I enjoy dining here with friend who come in from out of town.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Via Vite also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Via Vite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing