We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garfield Suites Hotel
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 19 June 2008

We had a week long stay at the hotel and really enjoyed it. The rooms were nice and big and clean. Our only problem with them was that we had requested a non smoking room but got a smoking room so was a little smelly.
The staff were very helpful, the hotel driver even gave us a lift to the Museum centre and came and picked us back up later on in the day.
The location was excellent, close to all the attractions and restaurants.
We ate in the hotel restaurant quite a lot as generally the food was good and reasonably priced. We did notice that the quality wasn't quite as good on the occasions we ordered room service and it wasn't quite as warm as you'd hope.
Used the hotel gym a few times too, up on the top floor with good views over the city. It was really quiet both times we went so had the whole thing to ourselves.
Overall would really recommend this hotel, we chose it due to the good reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleprincessUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    243
    143
    106
    89
See reviews for
210
222
56
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2008

I'm grateful to the other reviewers on this site who steered us toward the Garfield Suites. Those who reviewed the hotel positively were absolutely right. The suite was gigantic, comfortable, well-appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The public parking garage was nearby, easy to access, and cheap ($5/day!). The hotel's restaurant/cafe made reasonably good food at quite reasonable prices. The location in downtown Cincinnati was excellent. The Garfield Suites is a couple of blocks north of the major hotels (Hilton, Hyatt, etc.) and is in a quieter area as a result. The ballparks are still in good walking distance, as are good restaurants and shops. We had a great stay and would almost be willing to go to Cincinnati again just to stay there.

  • Liked — lots of space and the fully equipped kitchen
  • Disliked — small bathroom, mattress a bit soft
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank scamargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2008

I stayed at the Garfield Suites last month and found it to be an excellent hotel with an an extremely helpful and friendly staff. At checkin the front desk was courteous and took the time to explain to us where everything was in the hotel and the best places in the area to see. When I got to my room was amazed at the amount of space I had. Full kitchen, bath and bedrooms had more than enoigh space. The fitness center had everything I needed and then some. I got a great workout in and there was plenty of equipment so I did not have to wait around. The enire stay was great and I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Cincinnati area. I will be back in Cincinnati later this month and have already booked my room at the Garfield Suites. Thanks to the staff fo making this a great stay.

  • Liked — Nice Rooms plenty of space
  • Disliked — I really had no issues with this hotel-great facility
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Army_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffersonville Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Spent $300 on the penthouse suite. It was sooooo out dated. Suite appeared to be "thrown together" with left over yard sale stuff. The vents in the bathrooms did not work.....BECAUSE they were so caked with brown / black dirt. Plastic yard furniture on balconey which, I was not told, was shared with another suite....not even a divider of any sort. WE COULD SEE INTO THE OTHER SUITE THOUGH "make shift" wall they put up!!!! It was VERY UNCOMFORTABLE!!!......The beds were old....water pressure was pitiful.....one stool had dust under it about 1 cm thick!!!.....The restaurant, down on the first floor, their food, and waitress were great. I would expect a penthouse suite to at least have a fair size bathroom with a jetted tub but nothing was up to our expectations in the room.....I have stayed at Holiday Inns that were tons better.

  • Liked — The view from penthouse balconey of city
  • Disliked — COST!!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cmoody70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2008

The Garfield Suites, a small, independently owned, all-suites hotel in Cincinnati, is all about the service. As Gary, the owner, tells his staff, "We are in the hospitality business. Our number one priority is to make our guests feel welcomed. Everything else is secondary."

We certainly saw this ethic in action during our recent stay at the Garfield. When we arrived at the docks in Cincinnati, Ron, the front desk clerk, sent Dave, the very capable valet, to meet us at the Delta Queen, though she was not on their regular shuttle schedule.

We had not been in our two-bedroom, two-bath, private patio penthouse suite for five minutes before the phone rang. Ron wanted to be sure everything was to our liking; was there anything we needed, anything he could do?

We did find something we needed help with: the LAN ethernet cable had been "borrowed" by the previous occupant; leaving us no way to enjoy the Garfield's free high-speed internet. Ron to the rescue--we immediately had two housekeepers and the chief engineer at our door. Five minutes later we were happily online.

Others have spoken of the cleaniness, the spaciousness, the graciousness of these suites, and our experience was no different. What WAS different about the Garfield was the service.

When we are in Cincinnati, we will stay nowhere else. After all, when you've met the best, why keep on looking?

  • Liked — Spaciousness, graciousness, and service
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank inabedofroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2008

We celebrated our 17th anniversary and brought along the kids (ages 11, 12, and 15). We loved our clean and spacious suite and the staff treated us with great kindness, respect, and had a desire to be helpful. We enjoyed the location and our walk to the downtown celebration, that took place while we were there, to the river, and both stadiums was very nice. The "tunnel" from the parking garage to the hotel was nicely carpeted and made it easier to find the hotel vs. walking out of a garage to figure out which way to go to the front doors. The security watching the tunnel was a reassurance also. The valet was a wonderful alternative to walking the "tunnel" as well.
This was a beautiful and wonderful weekend getaway for us and would gladly recommend it to others and go back for a visit.
The kids quote: "This place rocks!" and "This is totally wicked!"

-The Clark Family

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The5Clarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverlake
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

The desk clerk had a terrible cold. We listened to another guest complain about the peeling pots & pans provided in his kitchen. It was not a relaxing introduction to the property. Our one bedroom suite was large but the furnishings were unattractive early American. The walk to the parking garage was difficult with luggage as stairs had to be negotiated. It was a decent bed and a good nights sleep but nothing beyond functional.

  • Liked — Size
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoofSilverlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#13 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#3 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Property: Garfield Suites Hotel
Address: 2 Garfield Pl, Downtown - Entertainment District, Cincinnati, OH 45202-4303
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati's best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Situated in the entertainment district near the casino and Reds stadium, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing