We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garfield Suites Hotel
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Cincinnati
Windsor, ON
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Good location- a few blocks from the great American ballpark. Service and suggestions from the concierge was good - suggested morelin brew house which was fabulous with a great view!!! Good value. Best price for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindsorON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    243
    143
    106
    89
See reviews for
210
222
56
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lumby, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Garfield Suites Hotel while taking in some Reds games. The suites are apartments with separate bedrooms, living rooms, bathrooms, and kitchens. Very roomy and comfortable - like living at home if you live in an apartment. Full service kitchen with a microwave and everything you'd need to cook a meal and a great touch - two trays of ice-cubes in the freezer compartment. Coffee maker with coffee packs in kitchen. Bed very comfortable and large and if you're the type who likes to watch TV in bed you're in luck - also a larger TV in the living room. Two closets. Everything very clean. Hotel in the midst of the downtown core close to Fountain Square with a myriad of restaurants and shops close by. Numerous bus routes - including in front of the hotel - in the area. Great American Ballpark and Paul Brown Stadium a 12-15 min walk away. A fitness room available with 2 restaurants in the hotel. Never used the fitness room; but I had 2 very good and inexpensive breakfasts in the bar/restaurant. Never visited the other restaurant that is on the premises. Free USA Today paper daily in the lobby. A couple of negatives though - I could periodically hear talk in the street later at night (bus stop in front) as my room was on the 5th floor; but was actually about 3 levels about the street. Not too bad though as my sleeps were very good. Also I would like to advise potential guests about the hotel taxes in Cincinnati. When I booked on a hotel booking site the tax portion of my statement said USD 0.00 which I took to mean that the Total Charge was what I had to pay or the taxes were included in the final total. Not so. When I checked out I found 3 taxes included in the final bill totaling close to $19 (per nite) which is added to the daily rate. Just a heads-up when budgeting. Even with the taxes this hotel is great value and wouldn't hesitate to stay again if I am ever again in the Queen City. P.S. The hotel or booking site didn't charge my credit card until I checked in.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the less street noise you hear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarville, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed 5 nights at the Garfield Suites. The rooms are a little outdated but was very clean. Customer service was some of the best I have ever seen. They went above and beyond to make sure that we had everything that we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Garfield Suites is the type of place that can polarize opinions. I can easily see how one person can view the space as a little kitschy and retro, while another sees it as rundown and dated. I can see how some can both like and hate the apartment-style interior (such as a separate bedroom space and a kitchenette with 1980's-era appliances and pantry shelves) that the Garfield rooms sport.

In terms of downtown-vicinity hotels, the hotel is among the farthest to places along the riverfront like Great American Ball Park (GABP) and Paul Brown stadium (at least a mile-long-trek to either of those destinations.) It also is located on the edge of what seem like some seedier neighborhood areas, but during our stay my wife and I made a night walk from GABP back to the hotel with no issues.

During our stay, we also found the staff nice and helpful, and very adept at handling the crowds (the Suites appears to draw a lot of baseball fans in for a series of games.) The interior, although dated, wasn't an issue for us, with plenty of space (a bonus for larger families/groups) to be had, and the space itself was clean and well-kept.

The somewhat small loading zone for the hotel (on Garfield Place itself just off of Vine) can be a bit tricky to access, especially if you're coming from the east from Eighth Street. Hotel parking (which can be prepaid with an online reservation if desired) is located in the garage to the west/rear of the hotel. You can get to the garage to the hotel lobby without having to go outside, but the passageway is winding and tight in spots and can be tricky to negotiate if you are hauling bigger pieces of luggage and/or battling others going the other way.

If you're looking for a downtown location and you can spend about $70 or more per night than the Garfield's typical room rate, then the Garfield probably should not be in the conversation. If the cash is a little more near and dear to you, then the Garfield and the Millennium Hotel (based on Trip Advisor reviews, a hotel that shares worn down/cleanliness/dated-feeling issues that trades a slightly higher room rate for a more convenient location to the riverfront) seem to be the two main downtown choices.

As far as the former, we found the Garfield perfectly fine and would stay there again without issue. We gave it a 3-star rating, but since you can't give fractional ratings here on TA, my true rating would be closer to 3.5.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO2TheSecond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Met my folks in Cincinnati to go to a Red's Game. Arrived Friday night and left Sunday Morning. Chose this hotel because basically I got a 2 bedroom condo, so it was nice to have a mutual living room for visiting with my parents Room was up to date, the hotel was clean, and the staff was friendly. By the way, we stayed on the 11th floor. They also offer a free shuttle to anywhere in the city you might want to go. We took advantage of of dropping us off for the Red's game and well during the day to walk over the Purple Bridge. It's also a close walk to/from Red's game.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravnhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Newly renovated, I don't think so. Try 30 years ago. The room was just awful. Dirty, dark and dated. The carpets were so filthy, our 10 month old's knees and the tops of his feet were literally black. No kidding. Everyone's feet were black. Disgusting.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cincinnati hotels

North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed here the week of August 18 to see the Reds. Had a two bedroom suite that was equipped with a kitchen and 2 bathrooms and with four people the room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel is a nice walk to Great American Ballpark as well as Paul Brown Stadium (a mile or so). The associates we encountered were nice and customer service oriented. Upon check in Ron explained all the amenities the hotel had as well as the use of the hotel shuttle and the shuttle to the casino. We were at the Bengals pro shop when it started to rain, we called the hotel to see if they could send a shuttle to pick us up, within 10 minutes as promised the shuttle was there to take us back to the hotel. This will be the hotel of choice on our next trip back to Cincinnati. Oh yea also a short walk to Skyline Chili and Graeter's ice cream.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#15 of 52 in Cincinnati
1,089 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Cincinnati Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 52 in Cincinnati
1,286 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Property: Garfield Suites Hotel
Address: 2 Garfield Pl, Downtown - Entertainment District, Cincinnati, OH 45202-4303
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati's best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Situated in the entertainment district near the casino and Reds stadium, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing