We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Needs Updates...And Soon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garfield Suites Hotel
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Cincinnati
Reviewed 21 January 2014

First off, let me say that the nothing is wrong with the Garfield Suites Hotel that it can't be fixed--but it needs to happen soon and will require some initiative and investment from its owners. This hotel has great potential, but its rooms are woefully dated and in need of attention ASAP.

The location can't be beat...it's convenient to all the major downtown Cincinnati sporting, entertainment, shopping, cultural and convention venues. The on-site Cafe Martin is quite good and quite reasonably priced.

The suites, while very spacious and moderately priced, are circa 1989. They need to be refurbished from top to bottom with new EVERYTHING...tile, carpet, appliances, bedding, wall coverings, you name it. The hotel corridors are equally in need. Still, they are adequately clean, but sure showing their age. This is a place for a group of friends, not a romantic holiday, at least not until they renovate lol.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjl3845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and recently stayed at the Garfield while attending the Golf Show in Cincinnati.
We found our room very clean and accommodating, the service of the front desk staff remarkable and the food from the restaurant very good. We plan to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Director of Sales at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you very much for the great feedback. We are pleased to hear that you found our suites very clean and accommodating, the service of the front desk staff remarkable and the food from the restaurant very good. We will be certain to share this with our entire staff. We look forward to hosting you again in downtown Cincinnati soon.

Thanks again,
Mick Douthat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

If you are looking for a true two bedroom condo with a full kitchen and living room, Garfield Suites is the location. This property is a three minute walk from the Cincinnati Aronoff Center and the wonderful restaurants surrounding the center. The property is clean, the beds are comfortable, but it is in need of a major upgrade.
Paint is chipped from the doors and wood work. The furniture is from the 80's as are the TVs in the bedrooms. The living room has a large flat screen TV.
The heating system worked quite well, even though the system appeared to be jerry rigged combining two old through the wall old hotel/motel units.
The staff were nice and extremely accommodating. When our TV did not work, they sent someone up immediately to reprogram the TV.
The parking was in a garage, in he same block, around the corner from the hotel.
Music is played in the hallways and elevator. It is loud if your room is near one of the speakers. We did ask them to turn it off at 11:00 PM since we could hear it in our room.
I would return to this property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at the Garfield Suites Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are very happy that you enjoyed the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suites and found our beds to be comfortable. We do indeed offer the largest hotels suites that you'll find anywhere in the world! We are also aware that the furnishings are ready to be updated. Good news... renovations are planned to start soon!

Thanks again for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback . Please feel free to contact me anytime with questions or special requests for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This place is a great location for downtown. There are great places to dine within a few minutes walking distance. It is also close to the Bengals Stadium. The come and go parking is also a good price, $10 per night. The secured free wifi is also a plus. Cook ware is also supplied in the suite kitchen. The only problem I had was the walk through the "tunnels" to the parking garage.

Also I want to add that the hotel restaurant and bar had great food and great house cocktails.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at the Garfield Suites Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are very happy that you enjoyed the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suites and our excellent location in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's Entertainment district.

We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant, Cafe Martin, as well as our cocktail lounge.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback . Please feel free to contact me anytime with questions or special requests for your next visit.

Mick Douthat - Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We came to the Garfield because it was centrally located to spend Cmas with our family, 23 (15 children and 8 adults) total guests in 2 condo suites and 2 suites. I agree the rooms are a bit outdated but definitely clean. Wonderful, welcoming staff as our entire family trooped in with Cmas tree and gifts and children exploring everywhere. Can you imagine seating that many for dinner without a reservation? Again we were welcomed and the best part was the food was great. Service somewhat slow but hey what can you expect? My daughter, spouse and 5 of the children took advantage of the free shuttle which will take you within a 1 mile radius for free. Can't think of anything that needed improving. We will be back.........stay tuned.

Room Tip: Room 1001 is the bomb with in-room jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Director of Sales at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at the Garfield Suites Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We take great pride in offering exceptional and friendly service and I will be sure to share your wonderful compliments to all of our staff...especially the chef! Cafe Martin is indeed Cincinnati's best-kept secret and we are pleased that you had a great dining experience and a Merry Christmas with us at the Garfield Suites Hotel.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback . Please feel free to contact me anytime with questions or special requests for your next visit.

Mick Douthat - Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stay at Garfield Suites fairly often when we're visiting downtown. The rooms appear to be old apartments with separate bedrooms, living room, kitchen and bathroom. The kitchen has a full size refrigerator and stove. The rooms are quite outdated, but for the price you're paying, they are clean and do the job. The rooms also have a balcony where you can enjoy the sun and fresh air.

I was first concerned with the location, but we've stayed here several time now and have had no issues. I actually have a friend that lives in apartments a block away. It's a little further north, so the walk to the Ball park and Stadium is a little further, but definitely worth a little extra walk for the price. It's close to the new restaurants and shops in OTR and close to everything downtown. It's also a short ride over to the casino.

The staff is friendly, and there is also a hotel shuttle that can take you anywhere downtown. If you're looking for luxury, this is not your place! If you're looking for an affordable hotel downtown close to everything, check out Garfield Suites!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicsanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Director of Sales at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at the Garfield Suites Hotel. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us...again!

We are pleased that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our large suites and the full-sized refrigerators and balconies! The good news is that our hotel is preparing for a major renovation this year too! So stay tuned! We are indeed centrally located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's entertainment district. We are just 4 blocks from the casino and now surrounded by the very best restaurants, bars, museums and entertainment and provide free shuttle van transportation anywhere downtown!

We are truly fortunate to have some of the nicest staff of people you'll ever meet and I will make sure to read your nice email at our staff meeting today.

We also appreciate your recommendation of our hotel to your friends. Thanks for the opportunity!

It is nice letters like yours that make us all work hard to remain friendly and motivated. It really makes our day! Thanks for being a regular returning guest! We appreciate your business very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We came in to visit family and enjoy some if the city's seasonal attractions and the Garfield was just right. We got a 2br suite for two adults and a child and the rooms were spacious and clean. Staff was very friendly and we will definitely return.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Cincy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Director of Sales at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at the Garfield Suites Hotel.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!


It is nice letters like yours that make us all work hard to remain friendly and motivated. It really makes our day!

Thanks again,

Mick Douthat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Forest Park
#29 of 52 in Cincinnati
167 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#17 of 52 in Cincinnati
1,151 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Cincinnati Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Address: 2 Garfield Pl, Downtown - Entertainment District, Cincinnati, OH 45202-4303
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range: £71 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati's best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Situated in the entertainment district near the casino and Reds stadium, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing