We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garfield Suites Hotel
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Cincinnati
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Room !”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The room is really wonderful. It is more a studio apartment than a room, with a fully equipped kitchen (refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, cooking range, oven), a large living room with comfortable sofas, a dining space and a chandelier over the dining table, a cosy bedroom, one walk-in closet and one broom closet.
I was there for only one night, so couldn't really explore the area much. Quite a few diners close by, but I could not find a single convenient store open, and it was only about 9 pm. It was quite close to the place where I was to have a business meeting the next day, and so I guess the business district is quite close too.
However, the food left much to be desired. I ordered in both dinner and breakfast, and the steak I had for dinner is one of the worst I have ever tasted. The breakfast was better though.
The upholstering of the sofas either need to be changed or cleaned. My skin itched after sitting on the sofas.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saswatibiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, General Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found that our suites are really wonderful, spacious and comfortable! Thank you! Regarding your dining experience in our restaurant, Café Martin we are happy that your breakfast was good, but would love to talk to you about that steak dinner more. . Everyone on our staff takes great pride in providing our Guests with professional and personalized service, AND excellent food and it is very important to us that your stay and your meals with us are all excellent! We generally receive rave reviews on our food, especially our steaks so we are curious to learn more about your experience. Overcooked? Undercooked? Lacking in flavor or presentation? Please feel free to call me directly at 513.421.3355 option 2, or stop by the front desk and ask for me if I may be of assistance. On behalf of the entire staff at the Garfield Suites - Downtown Cincinnati, thank you for choosing our hotel and allowing us to take care of you. Sincerely, Mick Douthat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    243
    143
    106
    89
See reviews for
210
222
56
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Was here over the weekend. This is a older Hotel but was very , very comfortable. A friend was having a Post Christmas party for her work. So they rented a ball room and several rooms to stay the night. Each room had two separate bedrooms. Very quite ! Will be back in March and will leave another review.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Director of Sales at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Tom,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, that you found the accommodations spacious and very comfortable.

We look forward to seeing you again in March and appreciate the opportunity very much. Please do not hesitate to call with any special requests.

Sincerely,
Mick Douthat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pikeville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

First off, let me say that the nothing is wrong with the Garfield Suites Hotel that it can't be fixed--but it needs to happen soon and will require some initiative and investment from its owners. This hotel has great potential, but its rooms are woefully dated and in need of attention ASAP.

The location can't be beat...it's convenient to all the major downtown Cincinnati sporting, entertainment, shopping, cultural and convention venues. The on-site Cafe Martin is quite good and quite reasonably priced.

The suites, while very spacious and moderately priced, are circa 1989. They need to be refurbished from top to bottom with new EVERYTHING...tile, carpet, appliances, bedding, wall coverings, you name it. The hotel corridors are equally in need. Still, they are adequately clean, but sure showing their age. This is a place for a group of friends, not a romantic holiday, at least not until they renovate lol.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjl3845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and recently stayed at the Garfield while attending the Golf Show in Cincinnati.
We found our room very clean and accommodating, the service of the front desk staff remarkable and the food from the restaurant very good. We plan to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Director of Sales at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you very much for the great feedback. We are pleased to hear that you found our suites very clean and accommodating, the service of the front desk staff remarkable and the food from the restaurant very good. We will be certain to share this with our entire staff. We look forward to hosting you again in downtown Cincinnati soon.

Thanks again,
Mick Douthat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

If you are looking for a true two bedroom condo with a full kitchen and living room, Garfield Suites is the location. This property is a three minute walk from the Cincinnati Aronoff Center and the wonderful restaurants surrounding the center. The property is clean, the beds are comfortable, but it is in need of a major upgrade.
Paint is chipped from the doors and wood work. The furniture is from the 80's as are the TVs in the bedrooms. The living room has a large flat screen TV.
The heating system worked quite well, even though the system appeared to be jerry rigged combining two old through the wall old hotel/motel units.
The staff were nice and extremely accommodating. When our TV did not work, they sent someone up immediately to reprogram the TV.
The parking was in a garage, in he same block, around the corner from the hotel.
Music is played in the hallways and elevator. It is loud if your room is near one of the speakers. We did ask them to turn it off at 11:00 PM since we could hear it in our room.
I would return to this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at the Garfield Suites Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are very happy that you enjoyed the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suites and found our beds to be comfortable. We do indeed offer the largest hotels suites that you'll find anywhere in the world! We are also aware that the furnishings are ready to be updated. Good news... renovations are planned to start soon!

Thanks again for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback . Please feel free to contact me anytime with questions or special requests for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Mississippi, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This place is a great location for downtown. There are great places to dine within a few minutes walking distance. It is also close to the Bengals Stadium. The come and go parking is also a good price, $10 per night. The secured free wifi is also a plus. Cook ware is also supplied in the suite kitchen. The only problem I had was the walk through the "tunnels" to the parking garage.

Also I want to add that the hotel restaurant and bar had great food and great house cocktails.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at the Garfield Suites Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are very happy that you enjoyed the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suites and our excellent location in the heart of downtown Cincinnati's Entertainment district.

We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant, Cafe Martin, as well as our cocktail lounge.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback . Please feel free to contact me anytime with questions or special requests for your next visit.

Mick Douthat - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelleys Island, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We came to the Garfield because it was centrally located to spend Cmas with our family, 23 (15 children and 8 adults) total guests in 2 condo suites and 2 suites. I agree the rooms are a bit outdated but definitely clean. Wonderful, welcoming staff as our entire family trooped in with Cmas tree and gifts and children exploring everywhere. Can you imagine seating that many for dinner without a reservation? Again we were welcomed and the best part was the food was great. Service somewhat slow but hey what can you expect? My daughter, spouse and 5 of the children took advantage of the free shuttle which will take you within a 1 mile radius for free. Can't think of anything that needed improving. We will be back.........stay tuned.

Room Tip: Room 1001 is the bomb with in-room jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Director of Sales at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at the Garfield Suites Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We take great pride in offering exceptional and friendly service and I will be sure to share your wonderful compliments to all of our staff...especially the chef! Cafe Martin is indeed Cincinnati's best-kept secret and we are pleased that you had a great dining experience and a Merry Christmas with us at the Garfield Suites Hotel.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback . Please feel free to contact me anytime with questions or special requests for your next visit.

Mick Douthat - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cincinnati hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#15 of 52 in Cincinnati
1,088 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Cincinnati Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 52 in Cincinnati
1,286 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Property: Garfield Suites Hotel
Address: 2 Garfield Pl, Downtown - Entertainment District, Cincinnati, OH 45202-4303
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati's best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Situated in the entertainment district near the casino and Reds stadium, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing