We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garfield Suites Hotel
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a good place to stay”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Attending a conference in the city and was looking for an alternative place to stay instead of the host hotel chosen by the organization and found this hotel on the web. It was a short 4 minute walk to the conference, and even with parking, it was almost $50 less per night. The kitchen allowed us to have a quiet dinner after my long days and enjoy the patio and people walking below. The staff were good and helpful and it was easy to request a late check out because of my meetings. A good place to stay, comfortable and easy to get around downtown. An older hotel,but comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbilbill65203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our excellent location in the heart of downtown Cincinnati! Everyone on our staff takes great pride in providing our Guests with professional and personalized service, and it is very important to us that your stay with us is excellent!. Thank you for choosing our hotel and allowing us to take care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    243
    143
    106
    89
See reviews for
210
222
56
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
XENIA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed over the weekend and they desperately need a renovation. I am not sure when that is supposed to take place but it would be great if it happened sooner rather than later. The rooms seemed cleaned, DVD did not work. We called to have it fixed but there is no maintenance person on duty after 5. We heard the same complaints from others at the hotel.
Pros: Location and size for $
Cons: outdated, so it makes everything feel and look dirty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAVACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you found your suite and the hotel to be clean and enjoyed our excellent location in the heart of downtown Cincinnati! Everyone on our staff takes great pride in providing our Guests with professional and personalized service, and it is very important to us that your stay with us is excellent! The good news is the renovations are indeed coming soon. In the meantime, please feel free to call me directly with any questions, comments or special requests. Thank you for choosing our hotel and allowing us to take care of you. Sincerely, Mick Douthat. cell # 513.728.5394
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cincinnati hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The website leads you to believe this is an updated all suite hotel. Updated it is not. Cracked walls, old paint, mildew smell, and very dated dacor. No convenient parking and it costs extra. There were almost $50 in hidden fees that were not disclosed when I CALLED to reserve the room. Only the lobby was updated and the website claimed to have wifi but the signal was so poor I could not connect. The remotes to the tv did not work. When issues were brought to the attention of staff i only got apologies and no resolutions or comps.I would not stay here again. Pay a little more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlundindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, General Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
The Garfield Suites Hotel takes great pride in providing excellent accommodations at an outstanding value. We hold ourselves accountable as a team and individually to ensure 100% guest satisfaction at our hotel. We are happy to report that the vast majority of our guests are repeat guests that stay with us over and over again. We are very interested in learning what suite that you stayed in and your dates of stay so we can address these issues individually. Please call me on my cell phone to discuss the details of your stay. My cell # is 513.728.5394.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband chose this hotel because he had to go to Cincinnati on a business trip and this was close to his work site. I accompanied my husband so I could enjoy a small break from home. The rooms were like an apartment. There was a living room, full kitchen, 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. The rooms were very dated, but clean. Ayana (front desk) was so nice, friendly and very helpful.
I loved the fact that they had shuttle service for FREE to take you anywhere you wanted to go. Johnny (shuttle service) was very friendly and helpful. I utilized shuttle to take me shopping and also picked me up when I was finished shopping. All I had to do was call the hotel and I didn't have to wait long. We also utilized shuttle to take us to restaurants and to pick us back up when done. My husband and I loved this. Even though decor was dated, I would stay here again. Here's hoping the rooms will be updated in the near future to reflect the look of the updated and modern lobby area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, General Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Garfield Suites Hotel - that you found it very comfortable, affordable, with spacious suites and the staff was excellent! Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you here in downtown Cincinnati again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here with a group of guys for ball games. Hotel was perfect for this. It is just like a small apartment, 2 bedrooms, kitchen and living room, plus a balcony. Furniture and room a bit dated, but if you're not picky on that stuff, it's great. Within walking distance to the Great American Ballpark and downtown where there are plenty of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris_1977Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, General Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Garfield Suites Hotel - that you found it very comfortable, affordable, with spacious suites and the staff was excellent! We will be sure to share this nice letter with all of our staff. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you here in downtown Cincinnati again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel is nice and reasonbaly priced for what you get. Yes, the rooms are outdated and in need of renovation but they are clean and spacious. The staff are nice and the location of the hotel is great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our excellent location in the heart of downtown Cincinnati! Everyone on our staff takes great pride in providing our Guests with professional and personalized service, and it is very important to us that your stay with us is excellent! Please feel free to call me directly. Thank you for choosing our hotel and allowing us to take care of you. Have an excellent stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here for about 3 nights in January with my family (2 adults, 1 toddler). The pros: rooms are spacious (like staying in an apartment, more than a hotel), location is good for what we needed. The cons: very badly outdated, looked like a low-income apartment from the 80s; dingy, low quality carpet and textiles; kitchen and bathroom were reasonably clean, but the upholstery in the living room was gross (there were quite a few whitish stains of unknown origin on the sofa and I wouldn't let my toddler sit on the sofa); a bit dodgy at night outside

The worst thing of of all was how unsafe the windows in the room were (a lawsuit waiting to happen). The windows are sliding casement windows that are easily opened even by a child unless the lock is down. The lock itself is at the bottom of the window and easily openable by a child as well. We were on the 6th floor, and with the window open, any child could easily climb up on the heater located directly below the window and fall out the window. There was no screen, bar, or even sill of any kind on the outside of the window to prevent an accidental fall. We had to watch our daughter like a hawk and make sure that she didn't get close to the windows or attempt to climb the heater. Not sure that it is even legal for a hotel to have a room with non-childproofed windows like that...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, General Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer us this valuable feedback. While we are very happy to here that you found that our rooms are spacious (like staying in an apartment, more than a hotel), and the location was great, we are most concerned that you found windows that opened fully. We do indeed allow our windows to open to only 6 inches and, of course, our balconies have sliding doors that open fully to allow access to the veranda and views of downtown Cincinnati, but, safety is our #1 priority.and I wanted to personally welcome you to call me so we can determine which suite # you stayed in to check those windows. I can be reached at your convenience at 513.421.3355 ext. 2. Everyone on our staff takes great pride in providing our Guests with professional and personalized service, and it is very important to us that your stay with us is excellent and safe! Please feel free to call me directly. Sincerely, Mick Douthat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#13 of 50 in Cincinnati
1,064 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Cincinnati Downtown
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Property: Garfield Suites Hotel
Address: 2 Garfield Pl, Downtown - Entertainment District, Cincinnati, OH 45202-4303
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati's best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Situated in the entertainment district near the casino and Reds stadium, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing