We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I call that a bargain... the best I've ever had!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garfield Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garfield Suites Hotel
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Cincinnati
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I call that a bargain... the best I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

I must say that this was the best hotel bargain that I've ever had. We loved the large apartment-style room because it gave us tons of room to spread out and lots of room for the kids. It was nice that the kids had their own TV in the bedroom and the living room had a plasma TV that was easy to hook-up our Wii to.

The beds were nice and firm and the location was perfectly located between the zoo and the aquarium. The restaurant onsite was cheap and adequate.

All in all for $120 with the size and location I would stay there again and recommend highly.

  • Liked — Value for the size
  • Disliked — Lobby
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    243
    143
    106
    89
See reviews for
210
222
56
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

I must say, this was the best hotel deal I've ever had. The room was an apartment and was large enough for our kids to have plenty of room to play. The living room had a plasma TV that was easy to hookup our Wii to....

The beds were nice and firm and the location was perfect between the zoo and the aquarium, and view from our balcony was nice (we could see the Ohio River).

All-in-all for $120 it was much better than renting to adjoining rooms I must say. I would recommend to all.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank April2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

If this is the #1 place to stay in Cincy, then I shudder to think about the rest of the places available in Cincy. The hotel is very runned down and had a funky odor when you entered the lobby and our room smelled of bleach. The sheets were torn, the remote control only had one battery, there was a big stain on the ceiling in the living room area, the wallpaper was peeling off the wall in the bathroom, and the tub wasn't even white but all stained. If you do choose this place, don't waste your time getting a room with a balcony, as there are no chairs available to enjoy it unless you don't mind standing. The only plus is the location as it is walking distance from several places.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rundown conditions
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurricane, WV
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

The hotel was very large and spacious. Kind of behind times, they did not offer their internet wirelessly. Had to use a CAT5 cable and the connection was VERY slow. Slower than dial-up. The room service was fast and many items on the menu was $10 or less which was great! They did supply dishes in their kitchen (not the best but did supply them). The hotel is within a 15 minute or less drive to many places which I loved. Some rooms had a balcony, ours did not which was OK with me. Did not spend much time in the room anyways. The gym on the top floor was nice but small. Did not use it, but did go up and look at it. Would have used it if the hours were longer. Only open until 10:00 at night. If it was open all night would have used it. Over all the hotel was nice.

  • Liked — Close to everything
  • Disliked — Slow internet speed
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tommywv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

Terrific stay and great value for money.

My wife, father and two children were all comfortably accommodated in a three bedroom suite. The room was clean, comfortable and modern. The staff was very friendly and helped us with everything from valet parking to directions to the Cincinnati Reds baseball game. The hotel is located at the edge of the downtown area and was central to most downtown attractions. The pricing was very attractive for the size and type of room we stayed in.

Overall, a very positive experience.

  • Liked — Comfortable accommodation for parents, grandfather and children at an attractive price
  • Disliked — Neighborhood okay, but a bit dodgy at night
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HCMMLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

My family of 4 stayed in the 2 bedroom suite. It seems like the Garfield Suites were apartments. They had a kitchen bathroom living dining area and two bedrooms. Our room was clean. The kids were disappointed that there was no pool. Great location we walked to The Great American Ball Park.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chatty3867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
174 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

We decided to change our vacation plans and stay somewhere closer to home. We chose this location due to how close it was to everything we had planned to do. The hotel is easy walking distance to Fountain Square (restaurants and entertainment) and to the riverfront. We were also able to walk a couple of blocks and catch the supershuttle (Tank) over to Newport for $1.25 each ride.

The room was spacious with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, full kitchen, and dining/living room. The hotel does need to invest in new TV's, ours had a green cast to one side of the screen. The air conditioning units were noisy in the bedrooms. The hotel elevators are slow and so was the service at the hotel restaurant. The hotel has an attached parking garage (ran by the city) and the most you pay to park is $5. The staff was friendly (except those in the restaurant) . I ordered an omlet and chose the contents off a list of items and the waitress was dismayed at my choices and let it be know verbally and by the look on her face (I don't think what I requested was anything unusual). The hotel has a manager reception on Thursday evenings with an appetizer bar and free drinks which was nice, and yes we did get to meet the hotel manager.

We would recommend Izzy's Deli and Arnold's Bar and Grill for places to eat near the hotel.

We went to the zoo which was nice but the construction was not so nice. The zoo is 10 minutes from the hotel.

We went to the Underground RR museum. I guess I wanted to see more artifacts but got more self initiated reading and movies regarding the subject. The museum has an audio tour included in the price that helped.

Jungle Jim's is a waste of time not much more than an overblown grocery store.

Ikea was a neat shopping experience about 14 miles from the hotel.

BB Riverboat one hour sightseeing tour in Newport was a nice experience, the captain told a bit of history about the area. The annual Inland Seafood Festival near the BB Riverboat docks was a joke. The festival had a handful of vendors and three of them were the same vendor and I didn't know Papa John's had seafood. I noticed most of the vendors were using artificial crabmeat.

  • Liked — Size of the accomodations and location
  • Disliked — A little worn around the edges
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeye02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Property: Garfield Suites Hotel
Address: 2 Garfield Pl, Downtown - Entertainment District, Cincinnati, OH 45202-4303
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati's best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Situated in the entertainment district near the casino and Reds stadium, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing