We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garfield Suites Hotel
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This isn't a four star hotel, but what it is a great place to stay while you're in Cincinnati. It's right in the thick of party action, but yet the rooms are quiet. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was HUGE. We also had a kitchen. This is a perfect hotel for a family to stay in. We were traveling on government business so we got the government rate, which included FREE breakfast and FREE dinner each day/night of our stay. We were fed in the hotel restaurant and weren't restricted on what we could order. We were told that the hotel might offer that rate for governmental employees who weren't traveling on business, but you might want to verify that. They will also ask you to prove you're a governmental employee by showing your credentials. The staff here were very professional and nice. They also have a free local shuttle.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I just returned from a 4 day 3 night stay at Garfield Suites. I stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with my parents and young son. I have to say that the people working at this hotel are some of the friendliest folks ever. They were extremely courteous and helpful. The location was awesome and the rooms were HUGE! It was awesome to have two true bedrooms, a large comfortable living room, dining area and full kitchen (complete with supplies). The hallways were quiet and even street noise was minimal (I heard a garbage truck one morning and emergency sirens once at night). I felt safe walking 4 blocks away to the convention center and loved that we were within reasonable drive times to great attractions (the zoo was awesome as well). The view was gorgeous and there were little touches that added to that "at home" feeling like, awesome pillows, bath and body works toiletries and super cozy bath towels. The hotel is scheduled to undergo renovations which will more than likely bump my review to a 5 star. Yes, some of the furniture was a bit dated, but everything was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Higher Floor - better view and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel was right down the street from our apartment, so we used to have friends/family stay here when they visited. I hadn't seen the rooms until recently, but now I feel bad for recommending it. Yes, the location is good, and the rooms are huge, but they're also horribly outdated and dingy feeling. This place needs a complete overhaul if they want to be competitive. On a positive note, it's probably the closest hotel to the new casino, so at least they have that going for them.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Last month, my husband and I decided to take a three day trip to Cincinnati, Ohio. We looked at all the hotels that were near the Greyhound bus station and picked The Garfield Suites Hotel. We were met by friendly courteous staff, and we found ourselves in a very clean one bedroom suite. Since we are both visually impaired-we found the hotel book had a wealth of information-and found out that near the hotel was a mini market-so we could get breakfast items. If a cab was not available, the valets shuttled us to various points of interest, such as the Horseshoe Casino. The food at Café Martin was delicious-we had a late lunch when we had arrived-and the staff was knowledgeable about the area.
I and my husband would recommend this hotel, for cleaniness, courteousness, and a staff that goes above and beyond the call of duty. Hats off to Johnnie who was able to fish out my husband cane from the grate. This is the hotel for us, and we hope to visit and explore more of Cinci. Looking forward to visiting in June as we enjoy our stay there and will enjoy seeing the Dodgers playing the Reds.

Room Tip: For a couple the one room suite is ideal, but if it a large family-consider the bigger suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeggyGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I chose to stay here because the rooms had balconies and seemed to be a good price for a one evening stay. Even though the furniture is outdated, it was clean and spacious. We didn't need to have a fancy hotel and this was just perfect for our time in Cincinnati. They offer free shuttle to any where you want to go and pick up. The parking garage was only $2 for our stay. We would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Stay on highest floor, better view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed in a very comfortable, spacious 2 bedroom suite. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful, especially Ron. The furnishings were a little outdated but otherwise fine. We enjoyed the convenience of eating in the on-site restaurant, Café Martin. We would recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stay in downtown Cincinnati. The room rate was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed many years ago while on business and I remember it being top notch. That is no longer the case. Terribly outdated, furniture, carpet just about everything. It has the feeling of being extremely dirty. Avoid there are too many other nicer places in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerH3595HX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#17 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,148 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati-Downtown
Comfort Suites Forest Park
#29 of 51 in Cincinnati
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Address: 2 Garfield Pl, Downtown - Entertainment District, Cincinnati, OH 45202-4303
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range: £71 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati's best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Situated in the entertainment district near the casino and Reds stadium, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing