We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outdated but nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garfield Suites Hotel
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were staying for one afternoon and night so I didn't want to spend a lot of money. I got a pretty good deal online for this hotel. Parking in the garage around the corner was only $6 for overnight. The hotel is located walking distance from the stadiums and all of the downtown area which was great. The hotel lobby, hallways, and rooms were very outdated and needed to be dusted/cleaned a lot better. It felt old and a little dirty. We had a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen, bathroom, and living room which was more than enough room. The beds were awful; super uncomfortable. We asked for non-feather pillows since my husband is allergic - we got two super old lumpy pillows which was disappointing. Overall great location and worth it for a night if you can get a good rate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. We're happy to hear that overall you say that you received a "good deal" and that you enjoyed our central location in the entertainment district! The Garfield Suites Hotel takes great pride in providing excellent accommodations at an outstanding value. We hold ourselves fully accountable as a team and individually to ensure 100% guest satisfaction at our hotel. We are happy to report that the vast majority of our guests are repeat guests that stay with us over and over again. We are very interested in learning what suite that you stayed in and your dates of stay so we can address these issues individually. Our suites are outfitted with newer Serta Perfect Sleeper mattresses, fairly firm, but some folks are more accustomed to softer mattresses.Please call me on my cell phone to discuss the details of your stay. My cell # is 513.728.5394. Sincerely, Mick Douthat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Some friends and I are touring Major League Baseball stadiums and we were on the Cincinnati stop coming down from Pittsburgh. I found this place because you could get half-price Reds tickets with your stay. And we could get a 2 bedroom condo with fold-out couch in the living room, nice for 3 of us on the trip. That all seemed good. And it was a good night's sleep in separate rooms. It is also a good location near Fountain Square which seems to be the heart of downtown Cincinnati. And walkable distance to Great American Ballpark where we went to the game the next afternoon.

On the negative side, this property is the very definition of "tired." The furnishings, carpet and décor are all long overdue for an update. Hotels that are this outdated just don't feel clean for some reason.

We heard that Doubletree was thinking or going to buy the property and no doubt massively renovate it. Probably a good move as the location is very good and an updated hotel here would be popular but no doubt more expensive to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is an older hotel with outdated furnishings, but I appreciated having the comforts of home. We felt like we were staying in our own private apartment. We did minimal grocery shopping in the city and were able to prepare breakfast in the kitchen in our room each morning. What a cost savings to not have to eat out!

I had to do some unexpected business during our trip, so the dining table and complimentary wi-fi came in handy. I was able to do my thing while my husband relaxed in the front of the TV. We weren't in each other's way, and the work was able to get done.

We were here on a Wednesday night during complimentary happy hour. It was nice to have some free snacks (chicken fingers, meatballs, veggie tray, beer/wine/soda) at no cost before we headed out to the baseball game.

The complimentary garage parking was also a nice feature. The location is great, and we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. We chose this hotel for the proximity to the ballpark and great value!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLS101511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, General Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel! We are happy to hear that you found your suite to be comfortable and roomy. We do indeed have the largest suites that you'll find anywhere in the world!. We are also pleased that your husband enjoyed our large 42" plasma TV in the living room while you could watch your own programs on the 32" TV in the bedroom. We are also pleased that you appreciated our free wireless internet and the super-convenient attached parking garage. Thanks again and please do not hesitate to call me when you're returning to downtown Cincinnati! I am always available to take care of any special requests. Sincerely, Mick Douthat. 513.728.5394 cell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Garfield Suites Hotel has a lot to recommend it. It is well-located, about a 3-minute walk to Fountain Square and a similar distance to theaters and many good restaurants. The rooms really are suites - my living room alone was larger than the entire room in some so-called suite hotels where I have stayed and it had a complete kitchen. The staff is wonderfully nice and enthusiastic. The wi-fi is decent and included in the fare. And the price is about half of what you would pay for smaller rooms (let alone suites) at other nearby downtown hotels. The garage charges about $6 a night, again about half of what you would pay at many other downtown garages.

But here's the hitch. It hasn't been updated in at least 30 years. It may be more. The rooms are well-maintained, but they and the common areas are very much time-worn. While it is close to the center of downtown, it's also at an edge where the downtown is fraying a little.

The garage has an entrance to the hotel, but you basically have to go underground and up and down some steps. I found it easier just to walk around the corner outside.

This is a good hotel to stay in Cincinnati at a good price. The decor, I suspect, will be a problem for some, but that is up to you to decide.

Room Tip: There is some street noise in the area - I was on the seventh floor, and it was OK. The rooms at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our 3 night stay here was a good jumping off point for the events of the flying pig marathon running events. A reasonable walking distance to the convention center, and various race starting points. This hotel appears to have had a previous life as an apartment building, explaining the full kitchens, living room, dining area, and bedrooms. The staff was very helpful, the ramp garage close and reasonably priced, and the restaurant good for a lunch our first day there. Furniture old and banged up, but it did the job and the price was very reasonable. Some updating has been done as we could see with the pergo type kitchen floor. 4th floor heard weekend street noise at night. Nice balcony for some rooms, but would need to move dining chairs out there. TVs all functional with 1 of 3 a flat screen. We held a small banquet in a separate meeting room and the food was excellent. Our suite had enough room to accommodate a group of 15 -20 for a pre banquet get together, with some sitting on floor. Would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Treehugger14625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

When we checked in asking about where the theatre, stadium and restaurants were located- the manager Mick took us on a little guided tour of this wonderful city. He told us where the stadium was- suggested that we walk- assured us it would be safe after dark- showed us where the Phantom was playing and also took us to several restaurants introducing us to various hostesses and chefs as well as sharing his opinions on the choices on the menus! We thought our 2 bedroom suite was very clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable! You can't beat the location. It is walking distance to not only the stadium but many restaurants for young and old. The TV worked fine and there were many channel choices, internet worked great. So what if it is a little dated?! Good price - clean- comfy beds- great manager and service! What more do you need?! We will be back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bellasimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Went to see our 1st Reds live game. Great location for a hotel with lost of space...great for a family. Hospitality was excellent. Would recommend it.
Our Host was Darren. He was quite helpful. About 8 blocks from the baseball stadium walking distance.....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#16 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,122 reviews
Central Business District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#17 of 51 in Cincinnati
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Cincinnati Downtown
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Address: 2 Garfield Pl, Downtown - Entertainment District, Cincinnati, OH 45202-4303
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range: £75 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati's best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Situated in the entertainment district near the casino and Reds stadium, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing