We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location....need renovations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garfield Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garfield Suites Hotel
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Cincinnati
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location....need renovations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Last minute getaway to Cincinnati horseshoe casino. We normally stay on the Kentucky side of the river. Since there were back to back Reds home games all of the hotels in the area were sold out. I stumbled upon this hotel on the casino's website as a partner hotel. They had a penthouse suite available so i took it. Got to check-in and the staff were extremely nice and friendly. the penthouse was very outdated but it was a nice size. A few renovations made, paint job done and it will be top notch. Flat screen tv in the living room but old tvs in the bedrooms.
The second day, one of the elevators was out of service for the entire day and next day. The checkout process needs to be changed. the guy at the counter explained because we had a penthouse we had to wait for them to inspect the room. With only one elevator working and the checkout rush, it was very inconvenient for me to wait for someone to inspect the room in order for me to get my deposit back.
The casino shuttle was the biggest plus to our stay. Kudos to Doug.
I would stay again only if everything else was sold out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    243
    143
    106
    89
See reviews for
210
222
56
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boswell, Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Garfield has an excellent location for all of the downtown festivities, events, games. The hotel is super-clean. The rooms are huge, truly suites. There is no escaping the police and fire sirens during the night, a bit nosier than many other big cities. The hotel restaurant is perfect for the stay. The Garfield's parking garage is extremely easy to use. Stayed there before, will stay there again.

Room Tip: Book early. Look for online specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The location of this hotel can't be beat and their free shuttle service to anywhere in a mile radius was great. We used it to get to Macy's and to the casino. The front desk staff need to learn to be a bit more professional as three times I had to interrupt personal conversations that were not work appropriate. The rooms themselves were large with two rooms, a bathroom, full living area and kitchen. The only problem was that they were outdated and the bathroom had a tub full of stains and the ceiling was chipping apart making us hesitant to use it. The hallway itself had a bad smell over the two days we were there but the rooms itself did not. The restaurant downstairs was wonderful with great food though there were safety issues causing them to lock us guests inside after dark as some seedy characters wandered in and apparently regularly do so. The beds were comfortable and the room was affordable. Parking around the corner was $6 for overnight even though the guest services said $2 so still reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Itinerary Goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My friends and I stayed at this hotel and we had a fantastic time. After being away from each other while attending colleges across the country, we decided that after we came home for the summer we would go on a road trip to Cincinnati. We ended up staying at this hotel and it was perfectly accommodating. We stayed in a three-bedroom suite. Our room had a full-sized kitchen, living room, and a balcony that gave us a fantastic view of the city. The setup of the room allowed us to be close together instead of in separately reserved rooms spread throughout the hotel. The Garfield is an ideal place to stay if you are traveling with a group. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There was someone always at the desk to answer my questions about the area and things to do downtown. The hotel is centrally located in downtown Cincinnati and was walking distance from many great bars and restaurants. My friends and I ate at Arnold’s Bar and Grille, the oldest bar in Cincinnati. The atmosphere was great and so was the food. The second morning we shared breakfast at the Coffee Emporium, another gem of downtown Cincinnati. It was raining so we had the hotel driver take us too and from the coffee shop. He responded quickly to our call when we needed to be picked up, which was a big plus to my friends and I! Overall, I would not have wanted to stay anywhere else. My friends and I got exactly what we were looking for when we booked a room at The Garfield, and we made so many memories!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
191 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were staying for one afternoon and night so I didn't want to spend a lot of money. I got a pretty good deal online for this hotel. Parking in the garage around the corner was only $6 for overnight. The hotel is located walking distance from the stadiums and all of the downtown area which was great. The hotel lobby, hallways, and rooms were very outdated and needed to be dusted/cleaned a lot better. It felt old and a little dirty. We had a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen, bathroom, and living room which was more than enough room. The beds were awful; super uncomfortable. We asked for non-feather pillows since my husband is allergic - we got two super old lumpy pillows which was disappointing. Overall great location and worth it for a night if you can get a good rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. We're happy to hear that overall you say that you received a "good deal" and that you enjoyed our central location in the entertainment district! The Garfield Suites Hotel takes great pride in providing excellent accommodations at an outstanding value. We hold ourselves fully accountable as a team and individually to ensure 100% guest satisfaction at our hotel. We are happy to report that the vast majority of our guests are repeat guests that stay with us over and over again. We are very interested in learning what suite that you stayed in and your dates of stay so we can address these issues individually. Our suites are outfitted with newer Serta Perfect Sleeper mattresses, fairly firm, but some folks are more accustomed to softer mattresses.Please call me on my cell phone to discuss the details of your stay. My cell # is 513.728.5394. Sincerely, Mick Douthat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Some friends and I are touring Major League Baseball stadiums and we were on the Cincinnati stop coming down from Pittsburgh. I found this place because you could get half-price Reds tickets with your stay. And we could get a 2 bedroom condo with fold-out couch in the living room, nice for 3 of us on the trip. That all seemed good. And it was a good night's sleep in separate rooms. It is also a good location near Fountain Square which seems to be the heart of downtown Cincinnati. And walkable distance to Great American Ballpark where we went to the game the next afternoon.

On the negative side, this property is the very definition of "tired." The furnishings, carpet and décor are all long overdue for an update. Hotels that are this outdated just don't feel clean for some reason.

We heard that Doubletree was thinking or going to buy the property and no doubt massively renovate it. Probably a good move as the location is very good and an updated hotel here would be popular but no doubt more expensive to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Suburbs
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is an older hotel with outdated furnishings, but I appreciated having the comforts of home. We felt like we were staying in our own private apartment. We did minimal grocery shopping in the city and were able to prepare breakfast in the kitchen in our room each morning. What a cost savings to not have to eat out!

I had to do some unexpected business during our trip, so the dining table and complimentary wi-fi came in handy. I was able to do my thing while my husband relaxed in the front of the TV. We weren't in each other's way, and the work was able to get done.

We were here on a Wednesday night during complimentary happy hour. It was nice to have some free snacks (chicken fingers, meatballs, veggie tray, beer/wine/soda) at no cost before we headed out to the baseball game.

The complimentary garage parking was also a nice feature. The location is great, and we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. We chose this hotel for the proximity to the ballpark and great value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLS101511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarfieldSuites, General Manager at Garfield Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel! We are happy to hear that you found your suite to be comfortable and roomy. We do indeed have the largest suites that you'll find anywhere in the world!. We are also pleased that your husband enjoyed our large 42" plasma TV in the living room while you could watch your own programs on the 32" TV in the bedroom. We are also pleased that you appreciated our free wireless internet and the super-convenient attached parking garage. Thanks again and please do not hesitate to call me when you're returning to downtown Cincinnati! I am always available to take care of any special requests. Sincerely, Mick Douthat. 513.728.5394 cell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Downtown
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Suites Hotel

Property: Garfield Suites Hotel
Address: 2 Garfield Pl, Downtown - Entertainment District, Cincinnati, OH 45202-4303
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garfield Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garfield Suites Hotel is one of Cincinnati's best hotels for leisure and business travelers alike, as well as for extended-stay guests. Situated in the entertainment district near the casino and Reds stadium, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the only downtown Cincinnati hotel offering multiple room condo-suites compared to the standard hotel rooms that the national chains offer. If you want a lot of space and convenience at budget-friendly prices, The Garfield Suites Hotel is the best choice in downtown Cincinnati Ohio hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and TravelClick so you can book your Garfield Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Hotel Cincinnati
Garfield Suites Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing