We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About 'middle-of-the-road'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I've stayed at quite a few HIE over the years and this one is probably at the bottom of the list. It's not BAD but then again it's not the Renissance O'Hare either. The rooms could use some updating and a thorough cleaning. Mildew in the bathtub and stains on the ceiilng are just a few of the items noted.

My biggest issue was with the A/C. I'm not sure if it just needed a good cleaning or what but the smell it produced was pure mildew (you know....that smell you get when you put away a wet tent and then take it out weeks later....that smell).

The door to our room was also extremely hard to open.

Front desk...top notch as always.

Pool...REALLY old and patched up outdoor pool...has seen it's better days.

Location...pretty convenient to anything around Cincinnati...make sure you have a 4-wheel drive to get yourself up into the parking lot as the motel sits on the side of a VERY large hill.

Pillows...HIE does offer "soft" and "firm" pillows on each bed (notated by the clever pillow case embroidery). I'm not sure if anyone pays attention when they put the cases on the pillows though. I certainly couldnt tell "soft" from "firm". These have to be the loudest pillows around too. The type of pillow when you move your head it sounds like someone is cracking peanut shells in your ears.

Door (again)....I fully understand putting the type of handles on the door that allows the elderly or handicap the abilty to open the door...but cant someone make a 'Do Not Disturb' sign that will stay on this crazy thing and not keep falling on the floor every time you open the door? We put robot rovers on Mars but HIE cannot get a door placard that stays put. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradley g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

The hotel is adequate for a night. Fairly clean rooms. Ok for a quick one night stay. Pool not very nice or clean. Quick highway access, shops and food nearby. Friendly staff. Disgusting property next door though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjgdb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I've not got a lot of experience with HI Express properties, but this is a perfectly nice motel and a good place to spend a night if you are traveling through Cincinnati. The property is a bit worn, but very clean and well run. The breakfast is perfectly adequate, and the breakfast room is huge with plenty of room to accommodate several families. We didn't use the pool, but it looked quite nice for a motel pool. I'd definitely stay there again if it were at a price point of $80 or lower.

One quick point - this is a four "star" property relative to other motels on the Interstate. This isn't a Hyatt or Westin style property, nor should you expect it to be. I'm rating this in comparison to other motels on the road... Hampton Inn, Fairfield Inn, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tribe1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I had a quick business trip in Cincinnati and booked a room at the Holiday Inn Express. It is very neat and presentable on the outside and is within an area where there are numerous restaurants, gas stations and places to shop.
The Staff was very friendly and helpful. My room, though, was dated and drab for my taste. I personally would not want to stay in the room for more than one night - kind of depressing, However, the star of the room was the bed - maybe one of the most confortable I have slept in. And at the end of the day, that's what we're looking to find.
The bathroom was very small but the double queen room had ample space.
I stayed on the fourth floor away from the elevator and it stayed very quiet; although the older AC unit continued to make noise the entire stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnzGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The entire hotel smells like stank, stale cigarette smoke. Carpeting and upholstery has stains. Rude, unattentive and argumentative staff. Did not want to touch the buffet or go in the pool based on the poor quality and lack of overall cleanliness of this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parkbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Parkbar,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you encountered issues with the level of cleanliness in our property and for the unsatisfactory customer service from our staff. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

If you are going to stay for a night or two this is fine. Basic place to hang your hat. Check in was quick and easy and staff polite. Room was clean, beds comfortable, bathroom was clean. Air conditioner unit was very loud. Great room has plenty of room for breakfast guests and breakfast was very good, lots from which to choose and kept well supplied to keep up with demand. If swimming pool is a deciding factor for your stay - forget about it. The area for the pool is pleasant, but the pool was full of debris, that can be excused if there had been a recent wind storm, but the cement patch repair jobs all around the edge of the pool and on the decking were unsightly. And uneven. No steps at pool, only ladders. Not bad for the discount price we paid and it served the purpose. We spent one night after a day at King's Island. But, next time we'll probably select another hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are most convenient.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sejalarch, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear Jim C,
Thank you so much for providing comments and feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your guest room and breakfast! Our staff works really hard to make your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible.
We have plans to build an indoor pool, which will be attached to the breakfast room. We completely agree with your comments regarding the outdoor pool (we were hit by a major storm the week of July 16th). We have been reluctant to spend the resources to make major improvements knowing that a new pool is just around the corner. Some of our guests tell us that they enjoy our outdoor pool due to the size of the pool and access to the outdoors. We do feel an year-round pool would be a better amenity.
We thank you again for staying with us and hope you will consider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Checked in about 7:30 pm on a Wednesday night. Process was quick and staff was very friendly and helpful. We were going to meet with about 10 family members for a quick "family reunion" before the big wedding Friday. Hotel staff was gracious enough to offer us the use of the "great room" which was the breakfast area. It was very quiet and gave us lots of room to be together for a couple of hours out of the way of the other hotel guests. Our hotel room was located on the 1st floor, which is below the lobby, and on the back side overlooking an abandonded motel. This made for a very quiet location. The room consisted of two queen beds which were very crisply made. There wasn't the usual "bedspread" on the bed, but sheets, a light blanket, and another blanket folded at the foot. There were 4 fluffy pillows on the bed as well. The first impression upon entering the room was a feeling of fresh, crisp and clean. There was decent storage space, a nice flat screen tv, and a nice bright bath. There was a coffee maker and mini-fridge. The breakfast the following morning consisted of ham and eggs, pre-made waffles, the usual pastries and bread, yogurt, fruit, cereal, and various juices. The room was very busy with families and lots of kids, so it was difficult to fight your way to the food. Nice atmosphere and the person replenishing the food was really on top of things. Rate was just about $102 for the night and $118 including tax; very reasonable. Considering all the kids at breakfast the next morning, the hotel was very quiet. We didn't hear anything during the evening. We recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Very nice accommodations
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southofzerobound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sejalarch, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Greetings,
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad you were able to relax and spend time with your family. Our staff goes above and beyond for our guests. We hope you were able to take advantage of the local restaurant discounts. We hope to see you and your family in the very near future.
Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Cincinnati-Eastgate
15.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hannaford Inn & Suites
10.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Forest Park
Comfort Suites Forest Park
#28 of 51 in Cincinnati
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Best Western Clermont
Best Western Clermont
#13 of 51 in Cincinnati
331 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Cincinnati
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati/Uptown-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West

Address: 5505 Rybolt Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45248-1029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range: £92 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our western Cincinnati hotel is centrally located to where you want to be! Located only 10 miles from downtown Cincinnati, the Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West is central to Cincinnati's business centers and tourist attractions. Located off I-74 at exit 11, Rybolt Road, and only 15 miles from Cincinnati-Northern Kentucky International Airport, your hotel is within just a few minutes of 4 Cincinnati convention centers. Duke Energy Convention Center, Northern Kentucky Convention Center, Wyoming Civic Center, and Sharonville Convention Center are all within fifteen miles of our hotel. Our Cincinnati accommodations also offer close proximity to many corporate businesses, including Proctor & Gamble (P&G), General Electric (GE), Kroger Company and Chiquita Brands. Getting to tourist attractions is easy from your western Cincinnati hotel, which is only a short drive from downtown Cincinnati and Newport on the Levee. Sports fans will appreciate our close proximity to the stadiums of both the Cincinnati Reds and the Cincinnati Bengals. Other nearby attractions include Kings Island and the Argosy Casino in Lawrenceburg, IN. Your hotel offers free high-speed, wireless Internet access along with a Hot Breakfast each day. The hotel also features an outdoor pool with sun deck, a fitness center and a business center. Come and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West Hotel Cincinnati
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing