We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better hilton in the Cincinnati area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
280 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“One of the better hilton in the Cincinnati area”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Netherlands plaza really exceeded our expectation for a vintage hotel. We had a remodeled room with a great river view. Prior to our arrival, the hotel did contact us if we really wanted a whirlpool suite or a 2 room suite, we didn't know why, but when we arrived and checked out the whirlpool we opted of the 2 room suite. The whirlpool was small and wouldn't be comfortable for people over 5' tall. Bit once we got settled in, we had a quick snack in the executive lounge which was nicely furnished with a nice selection of desert and beverages. Then off to the lobby bar for a drink and possibly dinner. We were impressed with the menu offering in the bar lounge. The chicken wings, burger and even the garlic fries were beautifully plated and delicious. The staff were excellent and even the bar manager stopped by to see how we liked our meals. We commented on the condition of the artwork and the condition of the hotel. She did suggest that we should view the halls of mirror, she even helped us to get a security guard to open up the hall for us to have a quick tour. The hall was breath-taking and we can only envision how it could have been back in the days.
Our stay at the hilton was good, the only complaint I have is the size of the bathtub/shower. When they renovated the room, I wished they should have installed curve shower rod. I don't recall being in such a tight space for a shower in decades.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    705
    262
    102
    40
See reviews for
377
611
108
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay and the staff was extremely nice and helpful. Room was very nice, beds comfortable. We used the pool and fitness center as well and had a great experience. We also ate in the bar area and had a great meal. Beautiful hotel, too!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hilton Netherlands is a beautiful hotel, especially the restaurant and bar area. Hotel staff, from the front desk to the valet service, are friendly and helpful. This is our hotel of choice when visiting Cincinnati!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mary C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville Ontario
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked the Hilton Netherlands Plaza for one night on our trip to Georgia and what a wonderful decision. The Hotel staff were friendly, rooms were spacious, bed comfortable and breakfast delicious. But the best part of the stay at the hotel was the décor of the hotel, it was spectacular. This décor is worth a stay just to experience the granular of the age that the hotel was built. I would recommend this Hilton to anyone travelling to Cincinnati or just travelling through. For travelers it is just a few minutes off the highway.

Room Tip: I am sure that all rooms in this Hotel are equally perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Cincinnati Netherland Plaza is an exceptionally beautiful historic hotel that is meticulously maintained. Every member of the staff goes above and beyond to make each guest feel special and appreciated. We had a wonderful experience staying at this hotel and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio, Usa
Level Contributor
217 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I was just a little disappointed at the condition Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. This old hotel needed some major remodeling of the rooms. The days of the glitz’s and glamour have been long gone and now this rustic old sold is still trying to hang on when its time has passed. The small rooms have tall ceilings and large windows that are drafty. During its time this was one of the finest hotels built but now it is suffering from decay. It might be good for those who want to relive the old days but I would rather stay at a new motel than an old hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the river, it is a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
December 2, 2013

Harvey A

Dear Harvey A:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your feedback, we regret that you did not enjoy the guestroom experience of your stay. We are continuing to improve our property with our many recent updates in order to provide an outstanding product to our guests. Nevertheless we apologize that you found these aspects of your stay disappointing.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. We spent lots of time looking around. If you can, go and see the Hall of Mirrors. The restaurant has delicious food. Our suite was very nice and clean. It also has a great location. It also connects to Carew Tower, so you can go up on the observatory deck. It has a National Historic Landmark designation. Great hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors and facing the river, we had a view of a construction area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#13 of 50 in Cincinnati
1,064 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#10 of 50 in Cincinnati
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 50 in Cincinnati
855 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing