We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old/classic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Nice old/classic hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Hilton Netherland dates back to the 1930s, when it was very glamorous, and it has hosted many famous guests since then. It's not as glamorous now - the rooms are pretty small and it's clearly an older building - but the hotel has been renovated and has updated furnishings while retaining the best elements of its Art Deco style (the bar/restaurant is particularly impressive).

I found the service to be good and friendly, and they even loaned us a wheelchair for the weekend for an elderly family member who was traveling with us.

The hotel is very well-situated in the middle of downtown Cincinnati. The building itself has an observation tower and a good selection of retail stores. Unfortunately, the parking in the hotel is valet parking, which was both unreliable and expensive at $25 per day. There is also a $6/day wi-fi charge, even for Hilton silver members (it's free at other Hilton properties), so these charges can make a stay a lot more expensive.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
May 20, 2014

Brendan S

Dear Brenda S:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati! As a Silver HHonors member your comment are especially important.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotels historic character and the service that you experienced with our staff. We receive many fine compliments in this regard from our guests. I’ll be sure to share your thoughts with them directly. Thank you.

Thank you too for sharing your difficulties with valet parking and your concern about charges for Internet service. I did not see valet charges on your bill. If you’d care to share more about this concern, please contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com. With respect to our Internet offering, we provide complimentary wireless and wired service from the hotel’s lobby and restaurants as well as through our business center. Nevertheless, we regret that this was a concern.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director

Cc: Matthew Coffey, Assistant General Manager
Matthew Kolb, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    715
    267
    102
    40
See reviews for
383
623
108
1,034
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed at the Hilton recently while attending a conference at the Duke Convention Center. The hotel is a classic hotel with a beautiful lobby and bar area. The location is perfect for downtown activities. The Hilton is within 2 blocks of the Duke Center and 2 blocks from the main square. It is also a short 5-10 minute walk from the waterfront. There are numerous restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk. The perfect location especially if you do not have a car.

My room was large and clean. The bathroom was on the small side but very functional. Overall the room was very comfortable and clean. Just what I look for in a hotel.

The doorman was also very friendly and helpful.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Cincinnati.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKPROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
May 21, 2014

AKPROG

Dear AKPROG:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found your guestroom to be large and clean. We will be sure to share your kind words with our management staff to share with their team members.

Thank you too for your feedback regarding the lack of space in the bathroom of your guestroom. We are continuing to review options for improving the bathroom portion of our guestroom experience. I apologize that these aspects of your stay were also disappointing. We are working with our owners group on future improvements to the bathroom that will include changes that will address the space issues that you have cited.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed here recently on a business trip. It has a nice historic flair with great details that set this hotel apart from others. My room was a bit small, but very functional and clean. There aren't very many of these hotels around these days so I really enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
May 21, 2014

T W

Dear T W:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found your guestroom to be very functional and clean. We will be sure to share your kind words with our management staff to share with their team members.

As a historic hotel, we have over 120 different guestroom configurations. Some of our single king and queen bedded rooms are quite small by today’s standards. When our occupancy allows us to do so, our agents will review our guest’s requests and place our guests in room types that are above and beyond what has originally been reserved. If we did not acknowledge our inability to fulfill a larger room type at the time of your check in I do apologize.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this beautiful downtown Cincinnati Art Deco era hotel. The staff was excellent, the rooms were quiet and the beds were just right! The hotel is easily accessible from an enclosed parking deck and the tower plaza hosts multiple stores, restaurants and a coffee bar. Excellent experience! We highly recommend and will stay again when we return to visit our daughter at the Cincinnati Conservatory.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
May 21, 2014

Pamela R

Dear Pamela R:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found our guestroom to be quiet and the beds to be just right. We will be sure to share your kind words with our management staff to share with their team members.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This Hilton is a historic hotel. Massive, elegant and impressive. The staff was well trained and great to deal with. The room was comfortable and everything worked. Very good quality sleep. The Belvedere Club Lounge was excellent. In addition to the usual lounge facilities there is a mini business center. Location is convenient to the entertainment and arts district. I give this hotel a loud YES. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Archer1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lovely historic hotel. Food was excellent, cocktails inventive and tasty. Staff was friendly and helpful. Of course it was a bit expensive, but it was well worth it. I was there for a class and certification exam and it was very comfortable for this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 87paulaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This stay was one night, I proposed to my girl friend of 5 years on fountain square at midnight in front of the fountain, surprised her with a stay at your hotel, red roses ,champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. She said yes and boy was she surprised. She loved it. She is still talking about it. The room was fantastic. The hotel is Excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
May 20, 2014

Marc S

Dear Marc S:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay on TripAdviosr and complete our Electronic Guest Evaluation form. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel in conjunction with your visit to Cincinnati. And please accept the congratulations and best wishes of our entire staff on your engagement! As a leisure traveler, your ratings and comments are especially important to us.

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay. Like many, many of our long term team members, we never get tired of hearing stories about our guests and the intersection of their lives with our hotel. So thank you for sharing this with us!

Marc S, many thanks for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to downtown Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director

Cc: Belvedere Hotels, Ltd.
John Howard, Director Brand Performance, Hilton Hotels
Matthew Coffey, Assistant General Manager
Julia Morgan, Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,256 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#15 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,076 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#13 of 51 in Cincinnati
867 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing