We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a work convention for almost a week.
The place has history and is beautiful. The staff is super nice. From Kelly the guy who greets you at the door. From checking-out with Amanda. All super nice!! The rooms are comfortable and have all amenities. The elevators are quick and work great. If returning to Cincinnatti I would stay here and only here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ffmunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
July 22, 2014

FFMunson

Dear FFMunson:


Thank you for taking the time to complete our Electronic Guest Evaluation form as well as your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for your positive ratings in conjunction with your visit to Cincinnati with the International Association of Fire Fighters. As a Gold HHonors Traveler, your ratings and comments are especially important to us.

Thank you for taking the time to recognize Kelly, our Doorman and Amanda, our Front Office Agent. We are delighted that they both took steps to insure that you were recognized and that your needs for quickly handling luggage and completing the check-in while you were at the game were taken care of. We’ll be sure to share your comments directly with each of them!

FFMunson, many thanks for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director

Cc: Belvedere Hotels, Ltd.
John Howard, Director Brand Performance, Hilton Hotels
Matthew Coffey, Assistant General Manager
Julia Morgan, Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    685
    249
    97
    40
See reviews for
353
597
105
979
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alliance, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Built in 1930, this hotel has been well maintained and a recent $10 million renovation to the rooms makes this the downtown Cincinnati hotel to stay with. Great location. Walking distance to ballparks, and most downtown events. Shuttle close by goes to the casino. Hotel staff is well trained and helpful. Breakfast buffet was very good. Like a lot of higher end hotels, no free WiFi in the rooms. Room very clean, refrigerator, comfortable bed. Excellent hotel choice.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the Fountain Square side. If there is activity there, it can be noisy.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 788jackw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
July 15, 2014

788jackw

Dear 788jackw:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found our staff to be very helpful.

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding your in room dining experiences during your stay. We are well known for our food and beverage services and we will be sure to forward your kind words to our management staff to share with their team members.

Thank you for your comments regarding our Internet policy. Currently our complimentary guestroom Internet access is for our Diamond and Gold HHonors members. We offer complimentary wireless Internet service from the lobby and in our business center in the lobby. At present, we are providing the lowest unbundled price on our system since many of our travelers do not utilize our Internet service. Our charges for guestroom Internet service are comparable to all of our full service competitors in this market. Nevertheless we apologize that this was a concern.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was a great hotel. It is within walking distance of many local spots- including the Reds and Bengals stadium and the aquarium. We were offered bottles of water while waiting in line to check in. Check in was quick and the gentleman waiting on us was very pleasant. The room was clean and stocked with more than enough towels, etc. Air conditioner worked well. We called down to the front desk and had them bring up sheets for the pull out sofa bed. Sheets arrived surprisingly quickly. We also ordered room service. It was great, but it would be nice to see a few more options on the "late night" menu. My only con is that it can be hard to find parking, depending on how busy it is. Still a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ainsleyk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
July 15, 2014

Ainsley13

Dear Ainsley13:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found our staff to be very helpful.

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding your in room dining experiences during your stay. We are well known for our food and beverage services and we will be sure to forward your kind words to our management staff to share with their team members. As we move forward with this area of our business we will certainly keep your suggestions in mind regarding more late night food options.

Please accept my apologies in addition to our team member’s for your concerns regarding the location of our parking garage. Beginning in the fall, the new Mabley Garage which will be housed in the adjoining (former) Carew Tower Mall space, will be opened providing us with excellent access to parking including valet and self parking options. We look forward to the improvement this will bring and regret this was a concern.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I recently visited Cincinnati as part of a two week trip in the US and the Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza was the best hotel I stayed in during the entire two weeks.

The gentleman on the front desk was incredibly polite and as I had arrived a couple of hours before check-in was due to start, my room wasn't ready yet, so he offered me a free WiFi voucher for the duration of my stay (two nights), which I thought was a nice touch seeing as it was my fault for turning up early!

I had requested an upper floor room and my request was certainly met as I had a corner suite on the top floor, with fantastic views across the city and neighbouring Kentucky. The room was incredibly spacious and very clean. I had room service on one of the mornings and the food was very good and delivered promptly.

The location is excellent, easy walking distance to both the football and baseball stadiums as well as numerous bars and restaurants. The fitness centre is also excellent and has a large array of different cardio and weights work stations.

I hope to come back to Cincinnati soon and will definitely stay at this hotel again. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms offer fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
July 15, 2014

SoloChris

Dear SoloChris:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found our staff to be very helpful.

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding your dining experiences during your stay. We are well known for our food and beverage services and we will be sure to forward your kind words to our management staff to share with their team members.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Came to Cincinnati to catch the Reds game and fireworks on the 4th. Debated on staying at the Hampton in Covington vs downtown. Being an older hotel, the room on the 9th floor was smaller than you find in more modern hotels, however it was clean and all was in working order. We arrived just ahead of several guests checking in. It was efficient and our desk clerk was friendly and courteous. We really didn't stay long enough to see and experience the hotel. As for pricing, I thought it was a little high compared to Hampton Inns or Hilton a Garden Inns that have larger rooms and complimentary breakfast. However, by using my HHonors, the total cost was right.

We forgot to put our Do Not Disturb sign out and had housekeeping knocking on the door by 8:30 am. Definitely put out your DND sign.

I will definitely consider this hotel again when going to a late evening Reds game. It's a comfortable 15 minute walk to the Great American Ball Park. Very close to Fountain Square and it's evening lineup of activities. Overnight parking was comparable to parking for the game.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELMER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
July 15, 2014

ELMER B

Dear ELMER B :

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found our Front Desk staff to be friendly and courteous. We will be sure to forward your kind words to our management staff to share with their team members.

As a historic hotel, we have over 120 different guestroom configurations. We have a small number of single king and queen bedded rooms are quite small by today’s standards. When our occupancy allows us to do so, our agents will review our guest’s requests and place our guests in room types that are above and beyond what has originally been reserved. Nevertheless, we regret this was a concern.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Spent 2 nights there as part of one of my usual business trips to the US, and it is a fine place to stay, but honestly nothing special. One thing is when buildings are old and keep their style and charme, and another one is when buidings are simply old and need an update......the Hilton falls into the second cathegory. The room was spacious, and comfortable, but average clean, and with clear signs on the walls, toilett, carpets and furniture that needs an urgent upgrade. Good quality sleep (Hilton standard) good service, and very good internet connection. Don´t know the hotels offer in Cincinnati, and also don´t have planned to be there again in the short term, but if I do, will certainly try another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvaro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
July 14, 2014

Alvaro E

Dear Alvaro E:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

We are disappointed to learn that you did not feel the hotel was in excellent condition. We normally comments that are supportive of the work that we do in preserving the hotel public and guestroom spaces. Should you wish to discuss this further, you are welcome to contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My Wife and I stayed in the King Whirlpool suite. I was on the fence between the Hilton and a few other neighboring Hotels in Cincinnati. This hotel was recommend by a friend so the Hilton is what me and my wife chose. We were very satisfied with our stay. The Hotel is in the perfect central location in downtown with plenty to do. The hotel was very clean and had all the perks; pool, hot tub, bar, bell service, gym, etc. The hotel is also directly connected to a mall and surrounding stores. Highly recommend to All!... and for Couples the Whirlpool Suite is very recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
July 14, 2014

Patrick S

Dear Patrick S:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found the hotel itself to very clean with many perks. We will be sure to share your kind words with our management staff to share with their team members.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#11 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Property: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing