We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cincinnatian Hotel
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatchewan
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

When Amtrak from DC to Chicago stopped in Cincinnati, we (unexpectedly) checked into the Cincinnatian. What a treasure this hotel is! Built in 1882, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a strong Art Deco flavour. Our room overlooked the 8 story atrium in the centre of the building and had a bathtub fit for a king. The hotel restaurant continues the Art Deco theme and has outstanding service.

The hotel was a bit pricey, but we got a deal because we booked late. It was well worth the investment in luxury. Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyDSask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    263
    124
    60
    44
See reviews for
93
410
49
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The Cincinnatian was well worth the money! The room was updated, clean, and elegant! The staff were friendly and helpful. The water pressure for the shower was perfect, the bed was comfy, and the double sink was nice!! The Atrium is gorgeous! Our room had an atrium view, and we enjoyed hearing the piano play at night!
Over night valet was $28, but that included unlimited exit and entry which was nice. We left quite a few times to head across the river to the Levee.
We did visit The Palace for dinner our first night, and wouldn't recommend it. Although the atmosphere was very romantic, the food and prices were less than desirable! Although, that is the restaurant and not the hotel, just wanted to give a warning!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfrietch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We booked a room with Priceline at a great price. The room we were given was fine, but we decided we'd rather have a king bed and gladly paid $20 + tax/night extra. The king bed room was much bigger and well worth the extra. Hotel location excellent. One block to Fountain Square. Excellent restaurants nearby. Walk to Reds stadium. Only drawback (common to fancy downtown hotels) is that the only hotel parking is $28/day plus tips to the valet. Easy alternative: Central Garage 2 1/2 easy blocks away at 6th and Elm (across from Duke Energy Center) is $2/hour with maximum of $7 for 10 hours. It's only $8 for 10-24 hours.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbjii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERBY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We loved this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was large and the bathroom was enormous. Both were very clean. The location was great for attending a ball game - less than a 10 min walk to the park. It is also close to restaurants.

Although I'm not a Yankee fan, the team happened to be staying at the hotel while we were there so we were able to see several of the players.

Fountain Square has free concerts each evening and it is only a block away from the hotel . The square also has a large screen on which they show the baseball game. So we were able to listen to music and watch the game.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoeKell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor ont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We spent the weekend at The Cincinnatian with the primary goal of going to a ball game. (Go Jays!) The location was perfect. Easy to get to from the highway and in the heart of downtown. Just a block from Fountain Square and a Skyline Chili. The Great American Ballpark is an easy 7min walk. Navigating downtown was also easy. The hotel was clean and staff friendly. Our room was smaller than we expected, but was fine. Comfy bed and white robes were nice touch. The lobby boasts a lovely marble and wood staircase.( It is a Historic Hotel of America ) But the carpet is worn and looks a wee bit dingy. The only complaint would be that our room faced "inside" the hotel. Our "view" was that of the live musicians in the bar/restaurant. ( a pianist ). We were on the fourth floor and could clearly hear the music in the evening. ( I did bring my sound machine so that covered the noise, not sure if we would have asked to be moved what would have happened) But I would recommend at least an upper floor...or an outside view. Also an FYI, overnight parking is $28/night. If you continue down Vine St. just one more block (essentially right behind the Cincinnatian) there is public parking. You can access this parking from Vine or turn left at the next block so you are behind the Cincinnatian (not sure of the street name...perhaps 7th?? ) Overnight parking here is just $9/night (but does not permit in & out priviledges).

Room Tip: upper level room facing outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mentalmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The service is great and everything is clean, but the rooms vary a lot in size, how renovated they are and their views.

Room Tip: Avoid the
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aw215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed here to go to a Reds game in early June 2011. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. The hotel was clean, quiet, and we had a VERY nice room with a lovely sitting area. The staff was friendly and helpful, everything was as advertised, and we would definitely stay there again. It also helped that the area around the hotel had some good restaurants and that the Reds won!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeBirds589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#15 of 52 in Cincinnati
1,091 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#9 of 52 in Cincinnati
1,294 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Property: Cincinnatian Hotel
Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2408
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#14 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing