We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The "WOW" Factor”
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cincinnatian Hotel
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The "WOW" Factor”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Talk about service.... this hotel has it and makes you feel like a true guest. From the courteous staff to the evening call left on your voice mail to ensure you are taken care of... I truly enjoyed our one night stay. Perfect place for enjoying the downtown sights. The beds are comfortable and the room was clean! Great job... keep up the service and I am sure you will continue to shine!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanette1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    253
    115
    58
    41
See reviews for
88
395
45
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I cannot believe that this is number 3 on the list! Dirty and in need of better upkeep. I get the "original" and historic but put some effort into maintaining the place. Call the Marriott. Stay away unless desperate.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mbreviews11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I booked on Priceline and never stayed where you weren't given two beds unless you specifically asked for one queen or king. Originally, only my 13 yr. old and myself were staying overnight for my sister's downtown wedding. My husband later found he was able to join us. When I called to confirm we'd have two beds, I was told no, one queen and it would be considered an upgrade with an added charge of $120! NOT what I expected. Sure, the place was pretty, the location was convenient, but that didn't help us when staff wouldn't budge (even if they had an avail. room) so we were forced to find a store and purchase an air mattress and pump! Then, the book in the room said complimentary coffee til 11 on the weekends. We went downstairs to check out at 10:45 and I planned to grab a Needed cup after. While at the desk, staff whisked away the coffee cart!!! No, I won't stay here again. I don't care how many stars they claim they are!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

we stayed here to watch the phins - bengals game. the location of the hotel is great and the staff were amazing. our room was brilliant!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The Cincinnatian is perhaps the best hotel in town. Nice charm, well-appointed rooms, great location downtown. While the front desk and concierge staff were quite helpful, the guys manning the front doors need a quick lesson in customer relations (simple comments like "welcome back," or "how is your day going" will give the impression that they actually see the guests entering the front door). I've stay at the Millenium and the Westin, and the Cincinnatian is superior in virtually every way.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARKTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The hotel was great. The staff was very friendly, and the room was second to none. From the walk in shower with jets and rain shower stuff or whatever you call it to the heated floors to the remote controlled lowering TV to the ambient lighting to the touch screen controls to the granite floors, the comfy bed, the in room speaker systems, this hotel room was 2nd to none. I have stayed in some awesome hotel rooms and this one by far tops the others. Restaurant was great for breakfast, but one downside (if you would call it that) was that the hotel does not have a late night bar scene, but there is enough to do around it within walking distance to go to. Within walking distance from the stadiums and the BB Riverboats (But I would recommend getting the valet and have in and out privileges, especially if traveling to Union Station Museum). Cincinnati was not the best city to visit and kinda dirty, but the area around the hotel was great, the girlfriend found Tiffany's pretty quick. Great stay, did not want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExecutiveBeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

When Amtrak from DC to Chicago stopped in Cincinnati, we (unexpectedly) checked into the Cincinnatian. What a treasure this hotel is! Built in 1882, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a strong Art Deco flavour. Our room overlooked the 8 story atrium in the centre of the building and had a bathtub fit for a king. The hotel restaurant continues the Art Deco theme and has outstanding service.

The hotel was a bit pricey, but we got a deal because we booked late. It was well worth the investment in luxury. Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyDSask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#3 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#13 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#10 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites Cincinnati-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Property: Cincinnatian Hotel
Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2408
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#14 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing