We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay on remodeled 6th floor suite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cincinnatian Hotel
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice stay on remodeled 6th floor suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at this hotel. While the lobby and corridors are a bit dreary and dated, we had a fantastic room with two very comfortable queen beds , a wonderful and roomy living room, and a great bath complete with jacuzzi style tub. The room also had a very nice balcony overlooking the interior corridor. ... Although we did get mooned by another guest who didn't close his blinds while dressing !! Room service was quick , affordable , and prepared a yummy breakfast for four all for under. $60. The gym is a bit dated but surprisingly very very well equipped. The staff was extremely attentive including the bellhop Adam. that provided a free and last minute shoe shine before we headed out for dinner. Overall great stay and we look forward to coming back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jadams5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback!!! I am glad to see the changes we started making. I will be sharing your kind comments with Adam our bellman!
Thank you again.

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    246
    113
    58
    41
See reviews for
87
388
45
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel provided a lovely oasis with charm, friendliness and great bar! We had an older style room and enjoyed the character and appreciated that it still had all the conveniences we needed. The location could not be more perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. If you travel this way from Portland again we would love to be your host.

Sincerely,

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varysburg, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

From the moment we drove up to the hotel until we left we had excellent service. All the staff greet you with a smile and are well informed to help you with any question, which in turn made our stay in Cincinnati a great experience.
This hotel is right in the middle of the downtown area. If you want to go and see a Reds game you are only 4 short blocks away. You can also walk across one of the bridges to Newport levee and enjoy many sights. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Wow. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to sharing these comments with our staff as we all try very hard to make our guests comfortable and happy.

Please come back for another stay soon. We would love to have you!

Sincerely,
Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a perfect location but I was expecting more.
The room was odd but clean. It was not ready at normal checkin unfortunately. Had to wait when I had commitments to get to. They gave me another room to help out.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank aguilao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear your room wasn't ready for you when you arrived. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to get the rooms clean and ready as soon as they can but we don't want to give anyone a room that isn't perfect. I am glad the desk agents were able to get a room for you as quickly as possible.
We hope you come back for another visit.

Thank you again,

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

There are many choices of modern hotels in Cincinnati but, none seem to compare the the historic charm of the Cincinnatian Hotel. It's creeky floors, warm and cozy decor and top notch personal service only adds to the one of a kind experience. However, that was last year.
All hotels need to keep up with times but, when it comes to a historic one, you expect an upgrade in amenities and some change that will still maintain the original ambiance of the hotel. The Cincinattian has failed in this area. The front desk, although very nice, have become little robots quickly checking in people and having people wait 2 hours for their room. The lobby remains cozy and historic as do the halls. However, the rooms are a mess. Not because they look bad but, because they rob the hotel of the charm we booked this hotel for. Instead of carpet, there are cold wood floors. Instead of the armoire, there is a small chest of drawers. They still have the snack tray, which is great and the water station as well. They do have a nice sized LCD hanging above the fireplace. (yes fire place) where you can see the black cable hanging from the back connected to the DVR which is under the water tray. Not a hard fix. The room has was too many lights. I counted about 12 recessed ones just out of boredom, and then you have the lamps. I will admit that the beds remain very comfortable thought. And the jet tub is to die for still. Otherwise, the vanity area is way too small, and the toilet is a bit large. A lot of wasted space in the bathroom area. Overall our stay was nice but, quite uneventful. The next time I'm in Cincinnati, I'll most likely book at another hotel since historic doesn't seem to make a difference anymore.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have spent five nights in this hotel in the past three weeks. Several years ago this was a really nice place. Things have really run down although Travelocity rates it as a 4.5 star hotel. The dirty carpets are not my issue right now. This is a downtown hotel with many rooms facing an interior atrium. The bar is in the center of the atrium. I am eight floors up. It is nearly two a.m. and the yelling from the bar has made it impossible to sleep. I called the front and the guy said he was frustrated too. Here I have paid for a luxury hotel and I got a bar side bed. There other issues that I have had from general cleanliness to locks not working, to the failure of housekeeping to show up, but not being able to sleep out shines all of that. Do not stay here. If I had to guess this place will be closed soon anyway. I know this sounds like ranting, but I have given a lot of reviews, almost all positive.

Room Tip: Look in a different hotel, but if you are forced to stay here, do not stay in an atrium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the Cincinnatian in the fall for a birthday weekend. We had asked for one of the remodeled rooms when we made our reservation. Upon check in, however, we were given a smaller, more "historic" room. Though okay, it wasn't what we were expecting. Fortunately, after some phone calls to the desk, we were moved into a newly-renovated room with very nice furnishings and amenities, including a separate shower and soaking tub. From our point of view, we would have grossly overpaid for our stay had we been in the un-renovated room for the weekend. Otherwise, the location is convenient to Fountain Square and other downtown sights, and the hotel staff were quite friendly. We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
It never hurts to ask!!! Good lesson to the other travelers. We WANT YOU TO BE HAPPY so just ask. :)
We are so glad we were able to find a room that suited your needs. Thank you.

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#13 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Property: Cincinnatian Hotel
Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#14 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing