We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a stop”

Wilson's Creek National Battlefield
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Republic
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Albany, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Well worth a stop”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I hadn't heard of Wilson's Creek Battlefield, and only stopped because I saw a sign from the freeway and thought "well why not?" I'm glad I stopped, because it is very interesting. The loop doesn't take too long to drive, so you can make it a short stop if you like. But if you have time, there is plenty to see along the way such as battery points, a home that was used as a hospital, and of course the battlefield itself.
This was an important battle in the early Civil War, as it dealt a blow to the the north and made the Union anxious about maintaining control of Missouri.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dustin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    73
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kimberling City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Battlefield relived”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Battle of Wilson's Creek was the second major battle of the Civil War and walking around the various sites brought visual pictures of might have happened. The visitor's center was staffed with helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly employees who answered questions thoroughly. The old rustic cannons were a reminder of this difficult time in our nation's history when brother fought against brother and father against son. Missouri was a key state in the Civil War as early Confederate victories soon became negated by the Union Army's ability to push them into Arkansas and the important Battle of Pea Ridge. The major difficulty in locating this battlefield is the absence of highway signs to guide you. A GPS is a major advantage.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timmer304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good understanding of the early Civil War”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We didn't watch the movie in the visitor center because of a one year old daughter. But walked through the center and mostly drove the battlefield with one small hike. Overall it was well laid out and information very detailed to give the knowledge of the battle and background. I've been to a few battlefields, not saying this is the best it's different with a toddler trying to hurry through things but I'm glad we stopped while driving through the area. If you like American history or the Civil War you definitely should do this at least once.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Mt
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Still charged us a fee even though nothing in visitor center”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a hard time finding the battlefield from Springfield and after paying our entrance fee, we were told the Visitor Center was under construction. They should've told us ahead of time and had a fee reduction since a Visitor Center is a major portion of a National Battlefield. We did watch the film and did the road tour, stopping at the house, where we received a very good walk-through tour. Having seen many Civil War battlefields, I was disappointed in the driving tour as it didn't seem to have a lot of interesting stops.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClarkCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little history”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great place to visit. Saw re-enactment of cannon fire. Lots of history here. Easy to get too. Self guided tour is a plus.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wilson's Creek National Battlefield also viewed

 

Been to Wilson's Creek National Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing