We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Hotel was a basic Holiday Inn Express. We had traveled all day and needed some relaxation. We fixed a couple of drinks and went to the hot tub. The jets on the hot tub did not work and then there was a sign that no alcohol was allowed, O well. We drank our drinks as we sat in the hot water and went to bed.
Breakfast was very good for a hotel with breakfast included. There was an eff omelet and waffles.
This hotel was much more reasonable then the hotels in Keystone.
Hotel was clean and very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StillDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2008

We loved this hotel! We were in room 210, which was a kids' suite room, with a little nook for the kids with a bunk bed in it, and a tv and a little table. The kids loved it! We were overlooking the highway, but it was pretty quiet. It was so clean, I didn't feel the need to spray everything down with Lysol. The whole hotel is smoke free, so it didn't stink. It's directly across from the Mammoth Site, a site where mammoth bones were found in the 70s and that was so neat. The breakfast was good--mostly starches, but some yogurt, and fruit. Great coffee. We saw a deer the morning we were leaving just out our window. We felt it was a great value for $139.99. We asked at the front desk about where to eat dinner and the woman was very frank when she said to avoid the new restaurant that had just opened "Wooly's", although the place she did recommend wasn't that great, either.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Goophygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We had a family reunion over the 4th of July in Hot Springs, SD. Several families stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. We were all pleased by the condition of the hotel and the staff. Several times the staff allowed us to use the breakfast area at night to hold family gatherings. The staff went out of their way to help us in any way they could. Even the night desk clerk took the time to take a family picture of all of us. The rooms were spacious and well maintained. The breakfast was quite good and had a variety of items. The hotel was on the southern part of town but with Hot Springs being as small as it is, it only took a few minutes to go to any of the tourist spots. The Mammoth Site is right across from the hotel. Next door to the hotel is an arcade which was quite enjoyable for everyone. Wonderful hotel; wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AuroraTraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2007

The oversized 2 queen room was huge. It included a seperate sitting area with a queen sized sofa couch, a plush chair and table. Breakfast was normal HI Express waffles and cerial.

The hotel appears new and very clean.

It is in convinient location with the Mammoth sight across the street and a drug/grocery store just down the road. Hot Springs is a fairly small town, so restaurants are not too far.

We were there during the off season, so many of the restaurants were closed for the season. We ate in the town cafe on the main street in town. We had to walk through the gun store to get to the cafe in the back (this is South Dakota afterall). The food was okay, the malts were fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Classof64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

Clean hotel with friendly people. Breakfast needs work - hot water not hot to brew tea. Had tour group and they took over the hotel. A little insulted by the blue wash cloth for women to use to wash their faces ( they can't get the white ones clean?).

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank buds03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2007

This looked to be quite a new hotel and at our budget of just under $100 we booked in. We found it to be very good, clean and very welcoming.A visit to the Mammoth site just across the road was very interesting and well worth the trip.
A very good breakfast in the morning with waffles and all the usual cereals.
We enjoyed our 1 night at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scenic-Tourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

The oversized 2 queen room was huge. It included a seperate sitting area with a queen sized sofa couch, a plush chair and table. The staff was friendly. Great value!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WyoFamilyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
0.6 mi away
Hills Inn
Hills Inn
#1 of 9 in Hot Springs
286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Hot Springs
Motel 6 Hot Springs
#4 of 9 in Hot Springs
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn by the River
1.4 mi away
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
#6 of 9 in Hot Springs
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Hot Springs
Super 8 Hot Springs
#7 of 9 in Hot Springs
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Stay Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Stay Hotel and Suites

Address: 1401 Highway 18 Byp, Hot Springs, SD 57747-9664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range: £39 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — USA Stay Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
86 room hotel located in the beautiful southern Black Hills. Close to all attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your USA Stay Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Stay Hotel Hot Springs
Holiday Inn Hot Springs
Hot Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing