We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay for the bargain rate!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Jacksonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay for the bargain rate!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Shah and his lovely wife do a fine job at this little motel. Located just south of Wind Cave, it is in the quaint little town Hot Springs, near several museums, the Mammoth Site, Wild Horse Sanctuary, and other attractions. Access to early coffee/breakfast is a 3 minute walk down the hill to a local family owned restaurant and the mini-mart/fuel station across the street (I was down there by 5:30 daily). There are no bells and whistles at the motel, but I don't want them. Rooms in Rapid City exceed $129 a night. For under $80 my family had a double + a roll-away. This was my 3rd stay, and I plan to return next summer. Easy access to everything in RC either via 79, or my preferred route, 385 over Wind Cave (where the buffalo roam in the street!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    39
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
35
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
middletown, ct
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Nice stay, but this motel is only average, at best. The gentleman at the front desk was really nice and helpful. The room was OK, but was about 90 degrees when we walked in. The AC did it's job within an hour or so. The floor had a crack or hole in it or something, felt like I was going to fall through. The wi-fi didn't quite work as I had hoped. Breakfast was not good--just donuts and cereal. I'd stay somewhere else next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanks250125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here on my way to Mount Rushmore like many of the visitors(see TripAdvisor). We called and got a room at a great price considering the other rates in the area.
The room was all that we needed and clean. Shah(Owner) was attentive and we stayed with no problems. The magic began once we left.
I'm about 1 hour away and realize my camera that I've been traveling with for 6 months is gone. We call the Inn and Shah searches the room, but can't find it. I'm having a meltdown at Mount Rushmore and finally give up hope. Fast forward to 6PM that same afternoon and Shah calls from his cell saying he has my camera. At this point we're in Badlands about 3 hours away. We're driving cross country so it would've set us back 6 hours.
Not only does he ship the camera and Dollar Inn t-shirt, but he agrees to use my choice of payment to him. I arrive back in Connecticut and the camera is just how I left it.
I'm not sure his background in hospitality, but this is truly the place to stay if you're going to visit Mount Rushmore, Black Hills, or Badlands.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank langan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Don't let the name fool you. Rates are very reasonable and it was a quality place to stay. Very friendly staff, quiet rooms. Rooms were also very clean. Staff were very knowledgeable of area attractions. Would not hesitate to stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delton, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Recently I stumbled across a business card from the Dollar Inn in Hot Springs, SD where I stayed some two years ago. I remember the place being such a good value, and so surprisingly clean and nice inside that I had glowingly mentioned it to the owner. He had given me the business card and said to come back. There are quite a few motels in this area of South Dakota that are questionable at best, nightmarish at worst. This isn't one of them! If you don't mind simple, clean comfort, then you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Breakfast was quite unusual and good. Not standard, small motel fare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My friends and I stayed at Dollar Inn Hot Springs when we were visiting South Dakota. We had visited Mt.Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park, and were looking for a place to rest for a night. This place fit the bill perfectly! It was roughly an hour from Mt.Rushmore, and Wind Cave National Park was less than twenty minutes away!
I think we paid $50 for a night. The room was spacious and had a microwave, TV and a fridge. Housekeeping could have been a little better however (the bathroom was a little dusty).
Breakfast was OK with limited options (this is a family run motel - so one really can't expect too much). The manager of the motel was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theonlytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My family went on a trip to the Hot Springs / Black Hills area in September 2013. We wanted to locate a convenient, affordable motel near the Custer State Park area and my sister found the Dollar Inn; We liked the reviews and the price range ($50 range for family of 3). And we found the Dollar Inn to be all the great things we enjoy in our trips away. It was very comfortable and clean for a super price. Great TV selection, plenty of shops and cafes to dine at nearby (also Pizza Hut delivers the late night pizza!), location was just lovely and it was so convenient for our trek to Custer State Park and Wind Cave National Park. The manager was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much and we'd love to stay there again next time we're in the Hot sSprings area!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Hills Inn
Hills Inn
#1 of 9 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn by the River
1.4 mi away
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
#3 of 9 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Hot Springs
Motel 6 Hot Springs
#4 of 9 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Hot Springs
Super 8 Hot Springs
#5 of 9 in Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dollar Inn Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dollar Inn Hot Springs

Property: Dollar Inn Hot Springs
Address: 402 Battle Mountain Avenue, Hot Springs, SD 57747-3001 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dollar Inn Hot Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Dollar Inn Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Hot Springs
Hot Springs Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing