We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quaint town, nice place to stay, especially if you love "It's a Wonderful Life"”
Review of The Gould Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gould Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Seneca Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We tried the Hotel via a Groupon, which included a certificate to try dinner in the restaurant. The hotel was lovely, but the restaurant was fabulous. We had a lobster dinner that was incredible and they were serving complimentary "Bananas Foster" for dessert for anyone who wanted it that was a great end to the meal. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms very nice and clean. We would definitely recommend staying here to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, it included the bridge filmed in the movie
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy14326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

Second stay at the Hotel Clarence in Seneca Falls, We used a Groupon for two nights. We experienced one problem, however the manager took care of it to our satisfaction. Every staff member that we encountered was very nice and accomodating. Tamika stood out when it came to superior customer service! The area is the best when it comes to wine trails! We have a blast everytime we are lucky enough to come to this area and stay at Hotel Clarence! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We had the opportunity to stay for two nights at Hotel Clarence. We had the King Suite. We didn't know what to expect. We were very happy with our stay. The hotel has had a recent renovation and they did an excellent job. The bar in the front lobby is very cute. It is small but that's part of what makes it nice. It's cosy.

The restaurant we were thinking before hand, oh yeah sure this will be a nice restaurant (sarcasm), but when we walked in for our first night dinner we knew we were in for a great meal. The wait staff we awesome. We were fortunate to have Tamara!! She is great. We loved the food so much we went back again the next night. And the prices were very good.

We would definitely stay at Hotel Clarence when we are in Finger Lakes again.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and have many windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This is a recently renovated hotel that stands out in the town of Seneca Falls. We loved the modern looking room with comfortable bed, pillows and comforter. We could regulate the room temperature, which made it convenient to stay. There was no Wi-Fi in the hotel, so we could not use iPad, but we used our phones and it was enough. It is located right in the center of Seneca Falls, so we could walk to the small shops, retaurants and museums. I recommend to stay in this hotel if you are in town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the king bed non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Clarence for the first time last week. There was a type of college conference therefore the hotel was busy. We were actually looking for quiet. (:. We noticed the noise from the street crossing lights, but turned the fan in the room on to drown that out. I have read other reviews. I agree and hope that the staff reads these. A reading lamp is needed on either side of the bed. And a comfortable chair in addition to the desk chair. The opening to the shower was very narrow and we are not large people. I think that guests should be told the first floor is actually the second and so on when booking. Due to the conference when we stayed the wifi was not always working and the staff at the desk offered no help or apology for that. It may just have been the particular staff person who was there that morning, though as we actually found the other staff helpful and considerate. We enjoyed the bar for a drink. We found the breakfast better than most continental breakfasts and like that it was ready at 6am. Loved the chandelier in the room and the ultra modern bathroom. We will stay again, but on the 1st, oops 2nd floor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We chose the Clarence for a recent visit to the Finger Lakes. We like a shower in the room (instead of a tub) and all the rooms in the Clarence are fitted out this way. This old building was originally a hotel and then converted to apartments. A few years ago the building was brought back as a hotel again.

The rooms are spartan. Our room had a queen bed, a large flat screen TV mounted on the wall and a single chair with a metal frame and a plastic seat! Not a room you would want to spend much time in unless you stayed in bed.

The continental breakfast was clearly 'continental' with bread, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, juice and coffee.

The staff were very helpful, providing another chair and removing the feather pillows and comforter to avoid our allergy problems.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobNepean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

It seems the name of the hotel was adopted from the movie "It's a wonderful life" - Clarence, angel. THAT alone gives the stay some substance. However it was disappointing that I couldn't find any evidence of the namesake? Perhaps I just wasn't looking hard enough. The logo is a cut out of a man with wings. If you didn't connect the story to the logo, it might be kind of creepy. It would have been fun if there was some information about the name connection.

If you saw the movie "Pleasantville", you will be able to visualize the hotel. It is almost completely washed of any color whatsoever. It really is very pretty - VERY well done, but it screams for a contrast in color with art (there is no wall art). That could add a depth of experience to the design that is currently Ansel Adams in color tone.

The beds are PERFECT, lighting not so great. There were no lamps in my room, and the beautiful, high ceilings were a bit high to get some light on my reading material. There was no desk lamp either. It made for a clean, attractive design - but function was lacking.

LIkewise I stayed in the hotel on a Monday night. I think there couldn't have been more than a half-dozen guests in the hotel. Yet the desk clerk still saw fit to put me in room 103; a room in the back of the hotel, just over the kitchen. It was pretty quiet until they closed up the kitchen for the night... the whine of the exhaust fan lingered for quite a while. That was all fine until they decided to dump large crates of wine bottles into a metal dumpster. The sound was explosive and had me wide awake at 11:30... about an hour after I had turned in.

So, even with all that I would still rate the hotel high marks. I liked it A LOT. I thought the price of $109 was a good price for a low-season night. I think the front desk clerk could have been more engaging - she didn't reflect feeling of the hotel. Or maybe she did - she seemed some what "color-less" in personality.

Any other problems? Well, the alarm clock was set to go off at 4:30. It was hell trying to figure out how to turn it off. The curtain over the window was slipping off the rings. I think that was all of it. Just minor stuff - maybe a little annoying, but certainly not enough to keep me away the next time I am in town.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask the front desk clerk to locate you away from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seneca Falls
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
706 reviews
4.7 mi away
Del Lago Resort & Casino
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 3 in Waterloo
389 reviews
10.2 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gould Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gould Hotel

Address: 108 Fall St, Seneca Falls, NY 13148-1472
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Seneca Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Seneca Falls
Price Range: £63 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gould Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gould Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing