We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant - Average”
Review of The Gould Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gould Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Seneca Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Restaurant - Average”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I echo the sentiments of a prior reviewer who called for a the hotel to engage a new chef. It's a beautiful facility and for the most part the service is good. (Not great, but good.) However the food was, not necessarily bad, but wrong. My wife and I share a house salad, I had the in house ground meat mix burger and my wife the Margherita pizza. The salad was great; the vinaigrette in particular was very good, but the burger and the pizza were not. The burger tasted of propane, and I believe this in part due to the very low fat content of the meat. With no fat, it really becomes a ground steak and need to be grilled differently. The Margherita pizza had garlic? (As well as basil and was made with beefsteak tomatoes.) While I don't expect it to be the same quality as in Naples, I do expect that of you're going to call it "Margherita pizza" you would prepare it in the same way. (there are, by Italian law, only 5 ingredients in Margherita pizza: roma tomatoes, 00 flour, 0 flour, fresh mozzarella and olive oil.) Otherwise you should call it 'Our version of a...' A culinary graduate or experienced chef would know that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    119
    36
    18
    9
See reviews for
52
182
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Nice room , great dinner, cosy and friendly bar, all good. Except : breakfast. Breakfast was really awful : no choice of bread, no fresh fruit, only childrens cereals. Ran out of juice, plates, napkins. Had to go to reception to get someone to the breakfast area because it had run out of everything. The guy showing up was really uninterested and spent his time on his smartphone instead of replenishing breakfast. Complete idiot. We complained at the reception after breakfast, the lady said : I will tell him. No apologies whatsoever. Fawlty Towers is better then this breakfast from hell.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here just for one night as a stop on the way from Ontario to Massachusetts and it was one of our favourite stops on the whole trip! We travelled with 2 teenagers and 2 dogs and enjoyed the luxe rooms. The rooms were bright, clean and spacious and the continental breakfast in the morning was really good with so many options. Wonderful little town with a gem of a hotel. We'll be returning for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KattD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union Springs, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Badly. Menu items sounded good. They were a very sad attempt. A good chef is desperately needed that can live up to the menu or menu is needed that can come down to the present chefs skills.
And glasses to see the bad grapes on the cheese plate. Oh and where was the jam that was supposed to come with that? And who hand rolled the goat cheese into a lumpy baseball? Wood fired pizza was soggy.
I understand there is new ownership of the Gould. If so they might want to close down the dining until they get it right. Or they'll never get anyone back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We knew from the website photos that the rooms were "modern artsy," but we did not expect it to be SO modern that they forego basic room amenities. It would be nice to have a dresser or chest of drawers. Oh, there is a tiny two drawer mini cabinet hidden in the closet, but just large enough for a few basic essentials. Not used to the "no carpet or rugs look" either. This falls to my next point...housekeeping! There was a housekeeping staff, however, after our room was "finished" nothing had been done to make ANY real difference. Bathroom was still untidy, trash on nightstand was still there, nothing straightened up...and the bare floor had not been swept or vacuumed...thus the task of having to wipe off your feet before climbing into bed! For unexplained reasons, our electronic room keys just stopped working. It's never fun being locked out of your room. The front desk staff were very helpful and apologetic.
Overall, we will find somewhere else to stay on our next trip.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sdavis357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tally
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

bulldoze the dump.
this hotel has been re- done about 20 times and every time it gets back to the basic idea. the company or conglomorite or whom ever decided that they are acting as if this is in marina del rey, soho, southbeach, or greenwich.ITS SENECA FALLS act and price things accordingly if you go 2 blocks in any direction it looks like south detroit. overlooking a smelly stagnant canal pot hole riddled streets pale fat ugly natives.overpriced
bad food ( limited options)and non existant service.
and s*** attitudes from bartenders that couldnt mix a drink to save his life..loud cold stark rooms cramped hotel rooms.....ugh im done. stay home with a nice malbec.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sloppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel was renovated at some point and by an large the renovation seems good although the decor seemed a little odd for a historic hotel. The problem is that the common areas such as the bar, lobby and restaurant area all badly in need of another renovation. The staff was pleasant and friendly but there were some issues--for some reason they could not keep the breakfast bar area adequately stocked. The breakfast was pretty good although the absence of any non-dairy protein was a little disappointing. Our room was exactly as expected but could have used a good cleaning. In fact all of the common areas just seemed a little scruffy as well. But the location was great. We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner as we had read some reviews that were less than favorable. While it is not likely that we will be in Seneca Falls again any time soon I hope that if we are we will find that this property has had some additional investment. We had no difficulty with parking.

Room Tip: We had a room that had no view but did not face the street and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seneca Falls
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
613 reviews
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
16.9 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gould Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gould Hotel

Property: The Gould Hotel
Address: 108 Fall St, Seneca Falls, NY 13148-1472
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Seneca Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Seneca Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gould Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Gould Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing