We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but...”
Review of The Gould Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gould Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Seneca Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson Valley NY
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place, but...”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

A nice boutique hotel with a Euro-feel which would be even better with some improved service. As an example, when I called to make a reservation the clerk told me that she was busy and would have to call me back - that took two hours to happen. Normally that type of service would cause me to take my business elsewhere but Seneca Falls doesn't offer too many lodging choices. Upon arrival we were pleased to find a clean and tastefully decorated room. The beds were quite comfortable and the bathroom was exceptionally clean and bright. The IPOD Dock and flat-screen television were nice touches which I did not expect to find.
The adjoining restaurant, Divine Kitchen and Bar, had a decent selection but, despite being one-quarter empty, was severely back-logged understaffed. Our waitress was genuinely apologetic about the slow service and we could see that it was not her fault. Complimentary glasses of wine were sent to our table as an apology for the wait which we found to be a classy touch. Once we were served the food was very good; the black olive and herb gnocchi was top-notch, and the desserts were even better.
Although the room rates were a little steep for the area I would return for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HudsonValleyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    122
    38
    18
    9
See reviews for
53
195
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

This hotel has been beautifully renovated, and while the rooms are not huge or luxurious, they are stylish and pleasant. Don't expect much of a view, but do look for an ultra-modern bathroom and chic design throughout. The bar and restaurant are both excellent, and the restaurant was able to simplify a dish to suit our super-picky 9 year old. Prices were reasonable; staff was pleasant enough, though not exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meryl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

What’s a smile worth? About $200 to the management of the Clarence Hotel had we kept our reservation for dinner at their restaurant, which we made at the same time we made our last minute hotel reservation and cancelled the first minute after our awful experience checking in with their sullen room clerk. Said clerk was on the phone when we came to the desk and for ten minutes afterwards during which time she acknowledged us not at all, not even making eye contact. When she did, we wished she hadn’t. Finding no reservation, she declined our offer of the print-out with our confirmation but instead searched their online resys then proceeded to ask for all the information we had already entered online in making it, name, address, phone, etc., etc. When I asked why she needed to ask all this again, she snapped “The person before me on the desk didn’t get them from online.” When I offered that it seemed strange that she needed to enter it all again, she mouthed a supercilious and cynical “Sorry for your inconvenience, sir,” which made me lose my cool enough to say, albeit quietly, “Of course you don’t mean that.” After she finished huffing, puffing and glaring at this simple observation, I got surly-sirred to death as she searched her system for the queen-sized bed we’d reserved. “There are no queen size beds, sir,” she muttered acidly, adding “So I’ll have to upgrade you to a king” in a tone that made this seem my fault. I simmered but behaved as we went to the elevator where we met another couple carrying a chair from the bar because, they said, there was only one in their room. So it was also in ours, which came furnished with a desk chair but featured a large blank space where a side chair or perhaps a coffin might have been. I got online immediately and looked for a restaurant (Suzanne’s in Lodi, we highly recommend even to happy customers of the Clarence’s so-called Divine Restaurant). Our dinner was so good that even Miss Congeniality’s howling across the lobby to a waiter “Whaja put on this sam-witch of mine!??” couldn’t spoil it. The next morning we were willing to let bygones be bygones, especially since the housekeeper and the people at the desk greeted us so cheerily, but after sitting for ten minutes at the restaurant table without a glass of water or a menu or for that matter a greeting, we watched as the single waitress (Miss Congeniality’s sister perhaps?) instead went to wait on a table of people who had just arrived. By then our bygones were back and we were long gone, having breakfast at half the price in a diner miles away where they knew good service. When we left the people at the desk were asking other guests to write a Tripadvisor review since this was their one year anniversary, which came as a shock to us since we assumed this was a boutique hotel on training wheels. A lot of money and care has gone into this hotel but not enough to make up for bad service, or for that matter bad design. Some instances of the latter include the two 100 watt spot lights in the ceiling above the headboard of the bed without dimmers and with no other bedside lighting (maybe lamps are in the same shipment with the side chairs?); drapes that won’t close despite the efforts of previous patrons who have partly torn them from their hooks in trying to shut off the light that pours in around the ill-fitting shades; a ceiling mounted air conditioner that blasts cold air directly on the bed; a cable box situated on a shelf below the level of the desk so you have to be a contortionist to change channels. If a smile is worth $200, unfortunately our room was not.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2010

The Hotel Clarence has some good things going for it - location, decent rooms, etc., but the service was utterly lacking during our visit last week.

As mentioned by a previous poster, you are on your own for any baggage help, parking, etc. We were greeted at the check in counter with a curt explanation as to why our specific type of room requested was not available. At checkout, we asked the woman there how to get to the closest lake - you know, it is the Finger Lakes region. Her response, I am not kidding, was "I have no idea - I'm not from around here. You need to ask somebody else". Let that settle in for a minute. You ask the sole representative of the hotel the most basic question and:

a. She has no idea. So why then is she the face of the hotel to the public?
b. She didn't say "I don't know, but I will find out for you" or something like that. Something helpful for travellers who have chosen her hotel?

The restaurant that they crow about so much was a decent spot, but again, the waitresses clearly have had no hospitality training. I needed to open the wine that I ordered because the waitress couldn't open the bottle herself. The sign as you walked in boasted of a cheese tray that evening and listed 5 or 6 interesting and varied cheeses. Great, we thought. What came to the table was a heaping platter of cubes cheeses and a piece of brie. When we asked the waitress what type of cheese we were served, she replied "I really don't know. But if you taste them you can figure out the difference between them". The presentation wasn't so much a cheese tray but a jumbled platter that you would see served at a wedding reception. Again, a lack of sophistication in presentation and service.

It seems that the employees could as easily be working at the mall or at a restaurant or at a hotel. They need to train their employees in the basics of the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pDubBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

It was an extremely nice hotel. It was recently opened so there are a few issues. They are minor ones though. Like - should have a bell person to help with your bags. The price is good but not that good that you would have to carry your bags from the car, park your own car and then do the same to check out.

Would still recommend but insist that this service is available.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SavareseMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My two sisters and I stayed here on our Sisters' Trip. Friendly service, beautifully clean, and fantastic meals in the hotel restaurant. After a day or so, it felt like we were at home. We toured the countryside, bought wine, drove around the Finger Lakes, and came home to the Clarence each night.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kralovec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The Hotel Clarence is a pleasant surprise in an area aching for a premium hotel. The rooms are very clean and modern with hardwood floors, tall ceilings, cable box and lcd tv. The towels and linens are upscale and the beds are comfortable. The restaurant is wonderful. Dinner was a treat. The timing, presentation, and taste of our meals was delightful. The hostess and wait staff are pleasant, friendly, and hard working. The restaurant was packed on Saturday night and we still received excellent service. The only negative to this hotel is that the front desk is only staffed by one friendly person. She is room service, concierge, operator, check in/out, etc.. It seemed like a Saturday Night Live skit as every number on the speed dial went to the same person. It is too much for one person to do well, no matter how good their intentions.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OCC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seneca Falls
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
640 reviews
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
9.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
10.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gould Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gould Hotel

Property: The Gould Hotel
Address: 108 Fall St, Seneca Falls, NY 13148-1472
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Seneca Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Seneca Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gould Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Gould Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing