We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“INTRO TO THE CANAL & INDUSTRY IN SENECA FALLS”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Seneca Museum of Waterways and Industry
Attraction details
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
902 reviews
408 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,835 helpful votes
“INTRO TO THE CANAL & INDUSTRY IN SENECA FALLS”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Seneca Museum of Waterways and Industry has some interesting exhibits of tools and machinery, especially on the lower level.

It is a place to learn about the New York State Canal System. Seneca Falls Locks CS2 and CS3, a waterways place on the Cayuga-Seneca Canal which is near the Elizabeth Cady Stanton House at 32 Washington Street. This is a double lock. The lift of each lock is 24.5 feet. That’s a total of 49 feet.

The Seneca Falls Visitor Center is also here. It has some good tourist info and a gift shop.

If you go down Water Street and get out behind the Seneca Falls Visitor Center, you’ll see more of the Cayuga-Seneca Canal. Across the canal is an old boarded-up building. It is the Seneca Knitting Mill. It is the future home of the National Women's Hall of Fame which is presently at 76 Fall Street. Make that another stop on your itinerary.

And, of course, don’t miss the Women’s Rights National Historical Park at 136 Fall Street. See my review of that attraction.

If you found this review helpful, kindly click YES below.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Maurene_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum with great volunteers!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We happen to wonder into the Museum and were delighted with the information and displays that were shown- we had fun trying to guess what some of the objects in the front window were used as. Our questions were answered with knowledge and enthusiasm- this whole area of New York is a hidden gem- with so much history it is a shame that more people do not take advantage of the area.Definitely worth the visit and a donation

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BonnieRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Waterways Museum”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We did not know anything about the Erie Canal before our visit. We would love to take a trip on the Canal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank johnhazlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
291 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Welcome”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our visit here was made even more enjoyable by the wonderful people of Seneca Falls who made us feel very welcome. It was a cold, rainy day so we had time to read and look at the many interesting exhibits. This is a great place to start your day in Seneca Falls.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank gailmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
189 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Seneca Falls at Its Finest!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stopped at the Seneca Museum for tourist information and left an hour later! Seneca Falls has a unique place in America's growth. Their collection of antique irons was extensive from charcoal to heavy weights. Next, I came across the history of pumps from wooden to cast iron all made in Seneca Falls. If you ever spun the world globe in your classroom, it probably came from women who worked tirelessly to make them. How about Westcott wooden rulers? Yep, in Senaca Falls. In fact the last one made was on display. Finally, if you ever watched the Christmas classic, "It's a Wonderful Life" - come to the town that was its inspiration. The town has annual visits from some of the former cast members. I could go on but I think Trip Advisor will limit my enthusiasm!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinJoe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seneca Museum of Waterways and Industry also viewed

 
Seneca Falls, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Seneca Museum of Waterways and Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing