We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like Coming Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seneca Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barrister's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Seneca Falls B&B and Inns
Morris, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like Coming Home”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My wife and I picked Barristers en route to Vermont. It is a beautiful old building that has been meticulously restored. The stained glass is all original as is the wood work. It is bright and airy and the floors have that comforting creaking sound that gives it a lot of character.

We stayed in the Yellow Rose room. It was fantastic! The bed was super comfortable and loaded with pillows. I had a great nights sleep! The coolest part was the yellow tiled bathroom. It was awesome and I wish I would have taken a picture to post.

Breakfast was unbelievable! I'm not talking your standard scrambled eggs in a chaffing dish. This was 3 courses of gourmet deliciousness! It seems that Ken's no stranger in the kitchen. They were he and Dianne's original creations. Great breakfast and good company. What a treat.

All in all this place is a great B and B in and of it self. The real reasons to stay here are Dianne and Ken. They are the reason the the Barristers is what it is! Other people have stated this and now it's my turn. As soon as we were greeted by Dianne we knew we were in for a real treat. She really does make you feel like family and she loves owning the Barristers and meeting new people. That's the reason it's so cool.

As we were leaving I yelled "bye mom" and Dianne came out of the kitchen to give my wife and I a huge hug and a safe farewell....... I felt like I was leaving home. Thank you Dianne and Ken!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barristers-Bed-Break, Owner at Barrister's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
I was actually blushing with all the kind comments you bestowed upon us. It was a treat having you visit and we look forward to your return. Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts.
Ken & Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
116
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Ken and Diane are gracious hosts and the house is immaculate and restored perfectly! I would most definitely recommend this B and B to anyone who was planning a vacation to the finger lakes region. The food was delicious! The barrister bucks are also a nice touch and they saved us a lot of money along the wine trail. We will be coming back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smith8679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
189 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

For a B&B to be successful, it must have three essentials - good night's rest, convenient location to other attractions, and a breakfast that starts your day. Barristers's B&B has this and more - very cordial proprietors. Ken and Diane were the perfect hosts for our one-night stay. They shared their B&B experience and the town's history. Breakfast was enjoyable and filling - I was able to get through the day without feeling the hungries!
Seneca Falls is a step back in movie history. "It's a Wonderful Life" was based on this town and the town is proud to share it with you! I'll review the Seneca Museum in another review - a must see!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinJoe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiskdale, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My wife and I frequently travel and when we travel to more rural areas we tend to use B & B s. . . So, we have been at more than a few. Most exaggerate their claims and some like the Barristers ( @ Seneca Falls ) " fit the bill". Unlike the ones that " fit the bill" Barristers is at the very top of this group. It's impossible not to speak in superlatives in describing what Ken and Diane put into their service at Barristers. We stayed ( 1) night longer than expected because the owners ( Ken and Diane) went out of their way and over the top to make our stay memorable and unforgettable. Besides having the most memorable rooms we've ever been in: they were large, airy and decorated with flair and style. Ken and Diane were our concierges: making reservations at restaurants and checking into local activities. Their (3) course gourmet breakfast was superb and more than ample. Our stay was unforgettable and we will be returning to the Barristers at Seneca Falls, N.Y. or should I say Bedford Falls ( It's a Wonderful life)

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barristers-Bed-Break, Owner at Barrister's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your input means a great deal to us and want you and every guest to feel special. It pleases us to know that you felt comfortable in your room and we hope that you will come 'home' often. We enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again.

Ken & Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

While driving back to New Jersey from Niagara Falls, we knew we needed to find a hotel room. Checked the AAA book for rooms in the Finger Lakes Region and called from the road. Luckily for us, there had been a cancellation, and there was one room available. We stayed in the "Grace Yawger Room", which is their smallest queen room. What a great find. Although the room was a little small, the bathroom was very roomy and the closet space was more than adequate. Ken and Diane are wonderful. Breakfast was gourmet, with freshly baked cheese Danish, fresh fruit cup, and Grand Marnier French toast with Canadian bacon, orange juice and coffee. It was so nice talking at breakfast with the other guests. After breakfast Diane supplied us with plenty of coupons for wineries and helped us map out our route for the day. What a wonderful couple with a beautiful home. .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Barristers is a very attractive Victorian. Diane and Ken are exceptionally helpful. The breakfast is different each morning and a gourmet's delight. If you like old Victorian homes, walk across the street for a tour of that home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at this Bed and Breakfast just outside the center of Seneca Falls (scene of Bedford Falls in ' It's a wonderful Life'). 'Zuzu' actually stayed here during the filming of Wonderful Life...

Diane and Ken are the perfect hosts, with coupons and information on a multitude of local wineries, restaurants, cheese factories, breweries and attractions. Lots to do in this area, replete with history, natural attractions cheese, wine and beer tastings.

Ken is the baker and chef, and produced a breakfast spread worthy of a five star hotel, Diane can tell you all about most of the local wineries and restaurants, and she did not steer us wrong.

If you are tired of the cookie cutter hotels, this place will make you feel at home!

Room Tip: Call and talk to the hosts to get a clear description of the rooms available. We stayed in Grandma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomMeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seneca Falls
0.4 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
16.6 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrister's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrister's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Barrister's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 56 Cayuga St, Seneca Falls, NY 13148-1226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Seneca Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Seneca Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrister’s Bed & Breakfast is a stately village inn located in New York’s Finger Lakes Wine Region. It’s the perfect location to anchor your visit, whether you’re here for wine tasting, golfing, shopping, touring storied historical sites, or simply enjoying a restful romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing