We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful stay that was worry free for my food allergies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
John Morris Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Seneca Falls B&B and Inns
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful stay that was worry free for my food allergies”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a night. We were a bit worried about my food since I have a quite intensive list of food allergies, but the hosts were very attentive to our needs. While he and others had a 3 course breakfast, I had a delicious 2 course breakfast that left me more than satisfied. They were incredibly accommodating. The yellow room was adorable and we loved it! We had a private bathroom as well and it was perfect for us. If we ever go back to Seneca Falls, we're more than sure to stay here again! In fact we've already told others to go to this B&B if they're ever in the area.

Room Tip: The yellow room was very cozy and great if you want a private bathroom- it's a stand up shower w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dru B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    25
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
79
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Williamsville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I went on line and tried to get a B&B for a weekend getaway with my husband. I must have called about 10 different places and they were all booked. I happened upon this little jewel by accident. I read the reviews (good and bad) but it looked to warm and inviting in the picture, I thought I would give it a chance. I am so glad that I did!!! Our host (Tony who is amazing) met us at the door and after talking to him for about two minutes, I felt like I knew him forever. He was sweet and fun and the most fantastic cook! The place was clean, cozy and Tony and John were the best hosts ~ Tony went out of his way explaining about the area, places to eat and shop and giving us directions, and when we came in at night he had a plate of Italian pine nut cookies waiting for us (I still need that recipe!!) We chatted about our kids and where we grew up, work, etc. and by the time we left we felt like we had made a new friend. Would we go back??? In a hearbeat, the breakfasts were to die for and the place was so nicely done. Don't hesitate, this one is hard to beat!!!!

Room Tip: We slept in the pool room - with the jacuzzi tub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We had a very relaxing stay at John Morris this past weekend. We were traveling with our 8 month old boy and I must say that the rooms are amazing soundproof. We called ahead to get the okay to bring our baby as many bed and breakfasts do not want children. Please always ask about children policy when making a reservation at a B&B as a crying baby can dampen a romantic weekend for other guests. Your hosts will generally know if it will be okay with other guests to have a little one around.

Both Tony (whom we had more interaction with) and John were friendly and quite helpful. They guided us toward good food, fun wine and delicious goat cheese. There were menus for local restaurants and they had printed directions from their place to various restaurants. Tony even entertained our little boy so my husband and I could eat breakfast at the SAME time on our last day as there were no other guests (so do not expect this but it was a very welcome bonus for us). The breakfast was great as well. One morning we had a strata (I had never had this before and really liked it) and another day was bacon and pancakes. Based on the food alone, I would recommend this B&B.

The house itself is quite comfortable and kept clean (not full of spiderwebs as some B&Bs are). We were in the Morris room which had plenty of space for our pack-n-play and other baby whatnot. And the shared bathroom is HUGE. One day of our stay was rainy, so we spent the late afternoon and evening in the parlor, ordered a pizza and relaxed. It was perfect for us.
And the dogs are very friendly and nice to pet.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This was the most unpleasant stay in over 30 years of going to B&Bs. The main host was completely unfriendly to us from the minute of our arrival. The first words spoken --in a nasty voice-- out of the host's mouth when I went to the kitchen for an early cup of coffee was "It's not done yet!" and then he very reluctantly "allowed" me to have coffee from the pot he brewed for himself. I truly felt that I had to slink around the place and try to avoid the host for fear of getting a nasty comment or reply to any question I might have. I thought B&B hosts are supposed to be friendly and accommodating to their guests, not be nasty and negative and basically unwilling to help meet their guests' needs.



The grounds outside were lovely but the common areas and rooms have are way past their prime. Grey and drab.



And watch out because there is NO WIFI, so no internet. (To which our host added why would we want need internet)...It made it impossible to check restaurant reviews or to find and map out routes for our bike rides.

All in all the our stay at this B&B ruined what was otherwise a beautiful early fall weekend in the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We took our first trip to the Finger Lakes region over the long weekend and had a charming, comfortable, and perfect stay at the Manor. Tony and John were the most wonderful hosts! One-hundred percent professional with a delicious layer of personality and warmth. I don't think we could have had a better first B&B experience. Tony made sure that we ate *very* well, and John offered great recommendations for our day trips along the Cayuga and Seneca wine trails. It is surely a good sign that the local establishments know them well. They are doing wonderful work with the rustic manor, where we found ourselves frozen in time in a safe harbor from the city life (NYC dwellers- this is an easy trip!). Down the street is Lake Cayuga State Park, where we rented a pontoon boat on Sunday afternoon and baked in the late summer sun. Afterwards, we lounged about the backyard pool, bottle of wine with glassware provided by our hosts, then retired to our quiet, spacious, and immaculate room- I'm not going to tell you which one, because we want to make sure that it will be available for us next time!

Room Tip: Ok, it was the Yellow Room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thinkfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We spent 3 nights at the John Morris Manor over the Labor Day weekend. The setting is quite nice and well situated for visits to the many local vineyards around Senica and Cayuga Lakes. The grounds are well maintained, the B&B is set quite far back on the property and away from the road. The rooms were good size and clean with lots of old fashion charm. Although we didn't use the pool the water was clean the area is well appointed and very colorful. Both Tony and John are gracious and social hosts and we enjoyed spending time getting to know them. The breakfast fare all 3 days was tasty and plentiful with a bit of a New York Italian flare. The dogs, Bender and Bear, are delightful characters and enjoy visiting with the guests. We look forward to a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emme Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I had a lovely holiday weekend at the John Morris Manor. Our dear friend traveled with us, staying in the room beside ours. The home is clean with lots of character, gorgeous, manicured grounds, hearty breakfasts, a serene porch to relax on. B&B location was perfect, very close to the Cayuga and Seneca Falls trails. What could be better? The inn keepers are friendly without being intrusive. Loved Tony’s self-depreciating humor and sarcastic wit - we heard plenty of his stories because we happened to ask. The pool was surrounded by potted plants with brightly colored flowers, and looked clean and looked refreshing - although we did not use it as we were too busy hitting the wineries! We enjoyed the other guests, a diverse group of ages and ethnicities, and especially the dogs. Bender and Bear were very sweet and well behaved! We will miss them, and hope to visit with John and Tony again soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandit500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seneca Falls
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
2.4 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
337 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Morris Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Morris Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: John Morris Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2138 State Route 89, Seneca Falls, NY 13148-8508
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Seneca Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Seneca Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — John Morris Manor Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Morris Manor is a full-service Bed & Breakfast in Seneca Falls, NY. Situated atop a secluded hill on 5.7 Acres of spectacular natural beauty, the house is located on Cayuga Lake Wine Trail. Our comfortable lodgings are available to guests year round and we welcome functions and groups of all kinds into our comfy space. Our B&B features five spacious, furnished guest bedrooms, three with private baths and two with a shared bath. Among our many amenities are fresh baked cookies served daily along with our famous breakfast treats. During the summer, you are free to lounge by our large pool. In the winter, you might find our den with cozy fireplace a charming respite. The Manor also features two bedrooms in the west wing that have been designed as pet friendly for dogs and their well-behaved owners. Nestled between the north ends of Seneca and Cayuga Lakes, our area is known as the "gateway" to the Finger Lakes region. We are right on the wine trail and are close to other attractions like cheese farms, distilleries, local microbreweries, premium outlet shopping, and a wildlife refuge perfect for birdwatchers and nature lovers of all kinds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your John Morris Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Morris Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing