We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed and breakfast, lovely and hardworking owner”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seneca Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
VanCleef Homestead Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Seneca Falls B&B and Inns
sarya78
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable bed and breakfast, lovely and hardworking owner”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a very comfortable stay at Van Cleef. Carol, the owner, is really sweet and caring. She paid attention to our needs and did her best to make our stay pleasant. The breakfast was great, my husband was very happy that the b&b had a pool. Fun time, close to vineyards and some good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarya78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watervliet, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed two nights to do wine tours. Great location between Cayuga and Seneca lakes. The B&B was a bonus. Beautiful, charming house and bedrooms. Carol is a wonderful hostess and her breakfasts delicious. We felt very comfortable at Van Cleef and would definitely recommend to family and friends. Hope to go back again some day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whyvette48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleischmanns, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed with friends 2 nights for "It's a Wonderful Life" weekend in Seneca Falls. Most welcoming B&B I have ever stayed in! Carol allows you to feel like you are visiting a dear friend with her warm, sincere welcome. Nicely decorated for Christmas. Bed very comfortable. Rooms charming, and a tasty freshly prepared breakfast each morning. Carol puts much time and thought into the "little details". A real gem!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipmunkchatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We just returned today from a three night stay at the VanCleef Homestead. We enjoyed every minute of our stay! Carol was a delightful hostess - the breakfast offerings were delicious. We enjoyed relaxing in the living room and felt very at home. We would recommend the VanCleef Homestead to anyone interested in exploring the NY Finger Lakes region.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveh51896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We spent two nights at the VanCleef Homestead. Great hosts, very clean and spacy room. Nice comfortable common living room. Good breakfast. Wifi was spotty, but we were told they would be improving this. Nicely located in Finger Lakes wine region. Interesting town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We have a 4 year old son and were surprised that very few B&B's here in the US will accept children. However, the VanCleef Homestead does and we were so appreciative of their hospitality. The owner Carol is lovely and was so welcoming to our little boy. We had the most lovely stay and would highly recommend this B&B to couples, single people and families. The B&B was immaculate, warm and nicely decorated and there is the use of a pool and very pleasant lounge. Carol's breakfast was delicious each morning and everything was fresh and homemade. Thank you again to VanCleef Homestead and Carol for welcoming children - it's a shame more B&B's weren't like this one!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADM40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

A rare find - a B+B that is kid friendly! We bought our 16month old and we were offered use of a pristine pack-n-play and highchair! We stayed in the downstairs suite which had a huge bathroom with a shower and claw-foot tub. It was also had the benefit of being a little further from the other guests so we didn't have to be worry about early morning excited shrieks waking any one up.

The common sitting room was lovely. It really felt as if you were sharing someone home, cozy and comfortable. A yard outside has a hammock and kid-swing which we also enjoyed. There is a lovely pool too though we didn't have time to use it.

The owner was lovely and very helpful with recommendations for the area. Breakfast was hearty and delicious with many homemade breads, eggs and fresh fruit.

You can walk to town from the B+B. There is a park which is great for kids to run around in. We had dinner at the local diner but there is not too much in the town of Seneca Falls - the only con i can think of. However, obviously there are a lot of fabulous places, lakes, wineries to explore only a short drive away.

If you have kids i highly recommend Seneca Lake. Per the B+B recommendation - We parked at the chamber of commerce (free parking) walked along the waterfront of the lake to the State Park. There is a huge playground, great splash-park and a Beach. We were there for hours!

Room Tip: Ask for the downstairs suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamingofHorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seneca Falls
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
0.6 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
10.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
3.8 mi away
The Gridley Inn
The Gridley Inn
#1 of 2 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VanCleef Homestead Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VanCleef Homestead Bed and Breakfast

Property: VanCleef Homestead Bed and Breakfast
Address: 86 Cayuga St, Seneca Falls, NY 13148-1230
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Seneca Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Seneca Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1825 Federal-style home with cozy, but large guest rooms. All have private baths. We offer a comfortable, quiet common area with fireplace, large-overstuffed chairs and couch; porch with rocking chairs; and lounges and umbrellas in the pool area. The bed and breakfast is located in the village close to restaurants, museums, and the waterways. We are well-suited for romantic getaways, families, girls' weekends, traveling with friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing