We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Charming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seneca Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
VanCleef Homestead Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Seneca Falls B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly and Charming”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was our first time at a B&B with our young children (8 and 5). Most B&Bs do not welcome children so we were very happy to find one that would. We felt right at home at VanCleef Homestead.

The four of us shared the Swaby Suite and were very comfortable. The beds are great! We really appreciated the iced water in the rooms and the advice that Carol gave us regarding where to shop, where to eat etc. Having the swimming pool available to use was a big bonus as well.

This is a good base from which to explore the beautiful surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We arrived later than expected due to poor weather, but Carol had a plate of cookies waiting to greet us in the dining room. She is warm and outgoing, and knowledgeable about area restaurants and activities. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. She even had a pitcher of ice water in each room. The public living areas (living room, dining room) are nicely decorated and feel welcoming. My husband and I stayed in the upstairs king room and our traveling companions stayed in the downstairs room with the claw-footed tub. Both of us agreed that the beds were comfortable. Carol was very accommodating for dietary needs during breakfast. As first time B&Bers, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HokieGal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigantine, New Jersey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were not sure of our arrival time in town and when we drove in that evening and called around, Carol welcomed us. From the moment we walked in Carol took care of us and made us quite at home. We loved our downstairs suite; very warm, quiet, cozy. Claw foot tub was very relaxing. Carol checked with us to ensure we had the breakfast we needed before we headed out by bicycle. Breakfast was complete and had special touches and delicious. Carol also has beverage treats always available; small refrigerator available too. The homestead is easy to find and in a lovely part of town; comfortable porch and yard. Parking is convenient in the extra large driveway. Carol is very knowledgeable about the history of the house and area and excited to help guests. Carol is very genuine in her desire to provide a wonderful guest experience. Carol also helped us so that we could bicycle for three days and return to the Van Cleef. We felt like we returned home even to the note on the door saying 'welcome home' and our same room. Thank you Carol!! We wish you the very best :-)

Room Tip: Our first floor suite was comfortable with easy access. We enjoyed the gas fireplace, claw tub with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTF602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were coming through on a last minute decision and found Carol to be more than accomodating! A gorgeous home, hot meal, open arms hospitality and a great friendliness was experienced by both myself and Max. The home was clean, and comfortable and very close to area attractions such as the wineries and historic Seneca Falls.
Thank you Carol, for everything!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at this B&B during our annual trek to Lake Cayuga for the Wine & Herb festival. The rates were very reasonable at it was only 5 minutes to Montezuma Winery and 10 minutes from Swedish Hill. The Innkeeper was very nice and welcoming. The rooms were very well maintained and surprising large bathrooms given the age of the home. The innkeeper set up a table for us in the living room to play a game on and had complimentary drinks in the dining room. Breakfast was great with multiple courses and requests taken the night before. This is the best place that we have stayed on Lake Cayuga!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron_from_Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancleefhomestead, Owner at VanCleef Homestead Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
It is wonderful to know that the little things we do for our guests do count and are appreciated. We always encourage guests to make themselves "at home", and playing games or listening to music and drinking wine while visiting in the living room is a common scene. More and more young couples are enjoying the pleasures of a B&B, and it is a particular treat for me to host their stay. It reminds me of my own kids having friends over or bringing their friends and roommates home from college. I miss that! Thank you, Bryon from Philly, for your kind words and for choosing VanCleef Homestead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend and it was lovely! Carol greeted us as we arrived and gave us a quick tour of the house. There were cookies waiting for us in the dining room, and we were invited to play our own CDs in the living room should we want to. Our room was clean, comfortable, and (perhaps most importantly) warm. There was also a small selection of DVDs, books, and magazines in the room, which was a bonus! In the morning, Carol prepared blueberry pancakes (after asking us if that was to our liking) along with an array of other breakfast treats. It was all delicious. Carol was also well-versed in the town's history and current going-ons, which was helpful to our tourist-y inclinations! All in all, we loved it, and we look forward to staying there again should we find ourselves in the area!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the clawfoot tub, and, boy, was it worth it! Who doesn't love a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenBlythePihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This was our second time staying at the VanCleef Homestead and we had yet again a wonderful experience! The breakfast was delicious and Carol made us feel like we were at home. We're looking forward to staying here again!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ilissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancleefhomestead, Owner at VanCleef Homestead Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
The biggest compliment we can receive is having guests return. More and more young couples are appreciative of what a bed and breakfast has to offer, and it isn't uncommon to have our B&B full of 20 and 30 somethings. Our goal is to make every stay memorable so they will come back - again and again! Thank you for your kind review! It is easy to treat wonderful guests like family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seneca Falls
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
0.6 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
329 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
10.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
11.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VanCleef Homestead Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VanCleef Homestead Bed and Breakfast

Property: VanCleef Homestead Bed and Breakfast
Address: 86 Cayuga St, Seneca Falls, NY 13148-1230
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Seneca Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Seneca Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1825 Federal-style home with cozy, but large guest rooms. All have private baths. We offer a comfortable, quiet common area with fireplace, large-overstuffed chairs and couch; porch with rocking chairs; and lounges and umbrellas in the pool area. The bed and breakfast is located in the village close to restaurants, museums, and the waterways. We are well-suited for romantic getaways, families, girls' weekends, traveling with friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing