We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We visited here after driving the Denali Highway, and we were pleasantly surprised. Our room had a great view across the valley to the mountains. The staff was wonderful- really friendly and helpful, advising us about activities. We had some choices to make due to an unforeseen change in our itinerary and they advised us well. Good laundry facilities, free wifi and 2 restaurants. The food in the bar was very mixed- I had a delicious scallop dinner, whereas my friend ordered a pesto flatbread pizza which was terrible. Order carefully!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    112
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
69
170
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Very nice, quite and clean with average size rooms. Great views and walking trails on the property. The staff was very helpful. We had breakfast in the dining room and it was fair. We had dinner in the bar and the food was very good. There is wifi in the lobby but we were unsuccessful in getting connected. Just passing through for one night and it was a very nice refreshing place to stop.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room with a view or you get the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaBugQH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camino, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent two nights here to visit McCarthy and Kennicott Mine. Had an okay room, older furnishings and parking lot view. Meals were all very good. Didn't like that WiFi is only in the lobby not in your room, not too handy. There are two computers to use on the second floor lobby. Front desk people all helpful but found the tour desk person not very helpful and they charged $10 more for a shuttle than if we would have booked ourselves. When they cleaned the room for the second day they didn't empty the garbage, thought that strange. There is not much around this hotel, thought we would find some snacks for our long shuttle ride, had to go miles for a small convenience store that didn't have much of anything, so bring whatever you need!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kruizerkarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This was our 2nd tour to Alaska in the past 6 years and our 1st to Copper River Princesss Wilderness Lodge. The accommodations were great and the views were tremendous. We definitely would stay here again. We read some of the average and poor ratings and that is what prompted us to write this review. Those who did not rate this outstanding were probrably some of the more "prissy" visitors that can not give a good rating unless their catered to for every little thing. And yes, we were cruise line guests and don't like the fact that those negative people put down cruise line guests. And guess what, we aren't senior citizens!!!! This lodge is outstanding and we would come agian and again. We want to thnak the manager for the outstanding ceremony that he and his staff did for our vetereans which is done every night as they lower the flag.

We want to thank the front desk and staff for a superb job, the park ranger for the walking tour, the Princess Cruise Line for offering such a beautiful place to stay and the resturant employees for the great menu and meals. Congratualtions to all for a job well done.

For the naysayers and they are very few, maybe they need to stay in their 5 star hotels in Paris, France or New York City, then they can live in their sound proof rooms and enjoy the city traffic and their caviar!

Princess.......this was a great experience and we thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend this hotel and stop to anyone whether you are on a cruise package or just passing by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gisye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Indiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of our Princess land tour but we hope to come back again on our own! All the help was super friendly and helpful.....all the way from front desk, restaurant, bar, gift shops, maids, etc. In fact, the gift shop lady lent me her super glue to fix my shoe when they had none to buy. The view from the lobby is unbelieveable!! We spent hours just watching the mountain view. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The nightly flag ceremony was great! There are trails to take short walks and the grounds are beautifully kept. The meals in the bar and restaurant were all very good with generous servings.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choicegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devine, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We arrived late, but were still given first class service. The restaurant was closed during our visit, but the smaller grill area was open and served us a fantastic meal. The surrounding views were stunning. We had driven almost all day across one of the most treacherous highways I have ever seen, so we were quite exhausted. Our room was comfortable, quiet, and relaxing. I think this is a great place to stay and should I ever be back to this state, I would like spend several days at this facility.

Room Tip: I do not think it will make any difference which room you get as this is an awesome place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We left Fairbanks at noon and were really exhausted when we arrived at this property 5 hours later. The desk clerk welcomed us and had us laughing despite our frazzled state. We had a room on the top floor overlooking the mountains which was a great room. We were able to have a wonderful Salmon BLT in the bar for dinner. The dining room wasn't open at 9:30, but the bar was just fine. The waiter was from Utah and spent time with us talking about a recent trip we had had to Utah. The bed was comfortable and we slept with the window open it was so quiet. We slept so well that we didn't have breakfast until 9:20 and the staff still took care of us despite how late we were. The room was clean and had everything we needed.

One point.. this is a Princess property and it handles people who leave on tourbuses early in the morning and leave their luggage outside the door at night. It puzzled us how that works as we were not on a tour... but they seemed to be out of the hotel by the time we got up, so it didn't impact us at all. As we had one of the best rooms in the hotel and we only stayed for one night, it didn't appear to us that the hotel favoured the tourbus folk.

As always, in any hotel, if you want a room facing the mountains on the top floor... just ask for it.

Room Tip: The AC is not really required, open your windows and enjoy the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkmdgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copper Center
1.5 mi away
Old Town Copper Center Inn & Restaurant
12.7 mi away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Sawing Logzz
Sawing Logzz
#3 of 11 in Copper Center
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Aura Borealis Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.4 mi away
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
#9 of 11 in Copper Center
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge

Property: Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge
Address: Brenwick Craig Road, Mile 102 Richardson Highway, Copper Center, AK 99573
Region: United States > Alaska > Copper Center
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Copper Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper River Princess Wilderness Hotel Copper Center
Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge Copper Center, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing