We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay on Princess land tour accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge
Copper Center, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best stay on Princess land tour accomodations”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The staff, scenery, hotel are all top notch. It is far off the beaten path, but well worth the travel time to get there. Staff is especially friendly and accomodating and offer the best suggestions. Breathtaking scenery.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view. Unfortunately, Princess always seemed to put us on the top most floor, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    112
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
69
170
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have been to this hotel a few times over the past 10 years or so and it's a treat every time. The location is amazing with great views of Wrangell-St.Elias National park. There is a kids area to explore along with a good restaurant and very nice rooms. The Klutina river is not far off for fishing and you can get to other fun spots like Valdez or Kennecott. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have stayed in four of the five Princess lodges, have eaten in the Denali Princess but never stayed there. They are all excellent facilities. Since we have a summer place about 70 miles due east of the Copper River Princess, I eat there often for lunch on my way to or from our home in Anchorage. My wife and I like to stay there as well, just for fun, even though our place is only a three hour drive away. Try for a two night stay at this lodge, minimum.

The Copper River Princess is located on the west side of the Copper River not far from the Richardson Highway which runs north and south and parallels the Copper River. The Princess lodge is not within the park boundaries nor are the Park headquarters. The Park begins on the east side of the Copper River and runs all the way to the Canadian border.

The lodge itself has a very large main room with massive fireplace facing the mountains. Much of the decor reflects the local copper mining era from the first half of the 20th century. Princess chose that location since it had an excellent view of the main peaks in the western Wrangells. Better view than where the Park Headquarters are located even. The best view is just a few miles further south at an area where the Richardson passes by Willow Lake. (Note: be sure and visit the Park headquarters, just a five minute drive away, believe the shuttle will take you there anytime.)

The dining room is quite large and so is the bar. The hotel rooms are nice and first class for a wilderness setting, but actually they are not much more than a decent hotel room in a big city. What is distinct about them, is that they are in out of the way locations where class accommodations are rare (Exception: Fairbanks Princess is on the Chena River and relatively close to town.) The meals are very good and reasonable. You don't find this class of cuisine in remote Alaska locations very often.

During the summer you can eat out on the patio. It is not true that the lodge is the only place to eat in the area, providing you have your own wheels there are a number of other locations. It may be that the lodge shuttle will take you to some of these as well. However, my recommendation is to eat at the lodge as I do on my way in and out from our place in the Park.

What to do there? Well, they have a variety of options, as I mentioned, take in the Park headquarter pavilion not far away. But my number one recommendation is to go into the Park's heart and/or take an extensive flight see of the St Elias, Wrangell and Chugach Mountains, so, take one of the tours to McCarthy/Kennicott, why?

The theme of the Copper River Princess Lodge is based upon the Wrangell-St.Elias National Park and Preserve. Wrangell St. Elias is the nations largest park, which also includes much of the Chugach Mountains. It butts up against Kluane National Park in the Yukon. The entire area is one of the most spectacular mountain wilderness areas in the world and one of the largest if not the largest area in preservation status on earth (approx. 20 million acres). However, it is so immense it is very difficult to see it all; actually, you need more than a day or so and have to fly much of it. For instance, the Chitina River is the big tributary to the Copper River. It flows out of the Chitina Glacier that runs west off of Mt. Lucania and Mt. Logan. These peaks are in the St. Elias range and on the Canadian side. Logan is the largest mountain mass on the face of the earth and only a tad shorter than Mt. McKinley. The St.Elias Mountains are the highest coastal mountains in the world, exceeding the Himalayas in vertical relief. By far the area contains the largest concentration of peaks over 14,500 feet in North America.

The Kennecott mines are where the Kennecott Copper Corporation got its start. They closed in 1938, richest copper ore the world has ever seen, and the Park Service is doing an excellent job of preserving many of the mine's buildings just five miles north of McCarthy at the corporation's original mill site. The Kennicott Glacier runs up Mt. Blackburn, (highest in the Wrangells, 17,300 ft). One enjoys world-class glacier and mountain viewing from the Kennecott mill site looking up this huge geologic amphitheater. Almost every day you see the peak, it seems anyway.

Best to fly into McCarthy from the Princess Lodge. But you can drive by yourself or take a day shuttle bus from the lodge. The road from the Princess lodge to Chitina, about 45 miles, is paved, but from Chitina to McCarthy it is another 60 miles of gravel that follows the old railroad bed. It is still gravel, but in recent years it has been significantly improved.

If you are a hiker try and spend a couple of days and stay at the Kennicott Glacier Lodge which is located right in the heart of the mill complex and climb up to the old mines. You will not ever forget the view on the way up to any of the three mines located on the west side of Bonanza Ridge. Or stay five miles south in the old sin town of McCarthy, at the McCarthy Lodge. We call McCarthy the sin town, as a joke, because that is where the old miners and mill workers went to let off steam in the old days. Another option, and cheaper, if you have a car you can drive to Chitina, catch a Wrangell Mountain Air scheduled flight (three times a day) to McCarthy. It is only a 25-minute flight and you see lots of country and mountains on the way.

A lot of this area is very close to the way God originally made it, hardly touched by humans, it borders on being a "closely guarded secret", so you aren't going to have to contend with overflow crowds. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a mountain view, looking east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
191 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and some friends recently returned from a land tour/cruise to Alaska.
We stayed at four Princess properties and they most definitely varied in quality.
By far, the best lodge, was the Copper River Princess. The setting is outstanding but beyond that, the property itself- the public areas and the rooms were well maintained. We also thought the quality of the food in the restaurants was quite good and reasonable..for Alaska.

I don't think I have met a more hands on manager...he and his management staff boarded the bus when we arrived and personally welcomed us. He oversaw a flag ceremony each evening celebrating our country and honoring veterans. He acknowledged each person that was celebrating a birthday or couple having an anniversary. Nice touches,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Theroadwarrior12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We visited as part of a cruise tour with Princess. We really enjoyed the lodge. It is very luxurious for the area (but a little more basic that a luxurious hotel in the lower 48). The views from the lodge are beautiful as you would expect for its location. We were there for 2 nights and enjoyed the restaurants, as well. We did some off site tours that we enjoyed as well. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2596982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We started a land/sea trip and cruise in the Princess Copper Center Lodge and found it to be very comfortable and welcoming. The staff met the coach with a believable a greeting. They did special things for veterans, with flag lowering ceremonies and recognition. Coupled with a sign it book for veterans, allowing continued recognition.

The views were exquisite, the excursions (a jet boat trip and white water rafting trip) were better than expected. The rooms were comfortable, the staff friendly and welcoming making for an experience that was better than expected.

Room Tip: The main view of the mountains was from the lodge, which is rustic and comfortable, a great place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton Grove
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was our last lodge on the land tour. We enjoyed the views between raindrops. Finally saw the mountain top right before we left. Because the season would be over in two days, we felt the staff was not as enthusiastic as they might have been. No place to eat other than at the lodge, making meal options costly. We would not hesitate to recommend this Lodge to Alaskan travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sidrasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copper Center
1.5 mi away
Old Town Copper Center Inn & Restaurant
12.7 mi away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Sawing Logzz
Sawing Logzz
#2 of 10 in Copper Center
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Aura Borealis Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.4 mi away
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
#8 of 10 in Copper Center
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge

Property: Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge
Address: Brenwick Craig Road, Mile 102 Richardson Highway, Copper Center, AK 99573
Region: United States > Alaska > Copper Center
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Copper Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper River Princess Wilderness Hotel Copper Center
Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge Copper Center, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing