We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper Moose B& B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copper Center
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copper Moose B& B
Ranked #1 of 11 Copper Center B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

I was provided a comfortable, clean, and quiet place to stay for the night. It was a stopping point for me before I made the drive into Wrangell St. Elias National Park. I wanted to be fresh and take my time as I drove the 50 plus miles on the gravel road into the park on that following day. The breakfast was great, with honorable mention going to Kim’s biscuits! I wanted to put a few of those in my pocket!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatParkTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
151 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at the Copper Moose one night. It is located off of the road that leads down to the town of Chitina, the old Kennicott mine, and the Copper River. This is B&B is NOT in Copper Center, it is several miles away. Fortunately, the website gives accurate directions on how to find the place.

We were greeted by C.D., the owner. He is a personable guy with a lot of knowledge about Alaska and the area. For the arriving guests, C.D. had baked a rhubarb pie and served it with vanilla ice cream, which was quite a welcoming treat.

There are four rooms downstairs, and two bathrooms. The room was nice, and the bed comfy. My only (minor) complaint is that the doors all close with heavy latches, so when anyone goes out to use the bathroom at night, you hear the noise of the door latch from their room and from the bathroom door.

We used Copper Moose as a stopping point between Valdez and Anchorage. Rather than spending our last night in Valdez, we drove out to this B&B, and that saved us about an hour and a half of driving the next day (so we didn’t have to drive the entire distance all at once).

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmore, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We only spent one night at The Copper Moose B&B ... because we were just passing through .... otherwise it would have been a very comfortable place to stay for multiple nights, with much hospitality!! Our host told us that when we were settled in ... to join them upstairs for dessert!!! How wonderful it was for our host to open up his home to us ... and treat us like family!! The dessert was terrific as well as a delicious breakfast the next morning. I loved LOVED the two dogs that greeted us as we pulled up the road. Everything about The Copper Moose was excellent - Our room were beautiful and spotless. The bed was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape cod
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

My wife and I spent 3+ weeks in Alaska. We stayed at a total of 10 B&Bs during this time. Our three days at the Copper Moose were the best, bar none. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Food was fresh, creative, and more than ample. But what made this such an enjoyable experience and earned them five stars was the host and hostess, Kathleen and CD, and their friends, who all pitched in to make us welcome and part of the family. Nothing was "staged," these are genuinely warm, loving people who know how to run a B&B, placing their guests first. I cannot say enough good things about the Copper Moose.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Spent two nights here in July 2012. CD and Kathy were great hosts and CD makes a great homemade breakfast and pastries! The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. We parked our car there while we went to Kennecott Glacier Lodge using a shuttle to pick us up and return for our second night. We would highly recommend this B&B not only for it's location but also for the friendliness and help of CD and Kathy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August. We came to the Wrangell-St. Elias area from Denali - what a nice change! No tour buses from the cruise lines, no "glitter gulch" - just the Alaska we came for. And on the top the nicest hosts we met on our three week trip. The room was nicely decorated, spotlessly clean, Wifi worked really good, and the shower was nice and hot! The view from the kitchen/living room area to the Wrangell mountains is spectacular! The breakfast in the morning was delicious. CD, Kathy and their helping friend Kim are great hosts, making you feel welcome and really leave as a friend. We had two wonderful evenings with lots of fun and learned a lot about live in Alaska. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tokaleya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe, Az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I stayed w/ CD and Kathy for 2 nights in Sept, 2012. It was absolutely the best lodging experience we had on our AK road trip. Friendly, good food, quiet. Now wish we had stayed at least one more day. Bob & Yvonne Corley, Globe, Az.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copper Center
18.1 mi away
Old Town Copper Center Inn & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
19.0 mi away
Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
#9 of 11 in Copper Center
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
20.7 mi away
Sawing Logzz
Sawing Logzz
#3 of 11 in Copper Center
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Moose B& B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Moose B& B

Property: Copper Moose B& B
Address: Box 227H HC 60, Copper Center, AK 99573-9703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Copper Center
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Copper Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Copper Moose B& B Copper Center, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing