We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot natured living colors” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mammoth Hot Springs

Mammoth Hot Springs
Book In Advance
More Info
US$715.00*
and up
Yellowstone National Park Flight and Ground Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful limestone formations make this hot spring unique.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hot natured living colors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We drove out of the way from Big Sky down to Jackson to see this north part of Yellowstone and it was well worth it. The hot liquid spewing out of the ground was intense and the many colors were vivid. The hot springs terraces formations that were created were detailed and amazing. We also enjoyed seeing the historic town that surrounded the hot springs. Along the way off the highway, we saw a few grizzlies and many bisons. It was worth the extra hours on our detour. No regrets...I highly recommend visiting this place and bring your camera.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    385
    165
    33
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“breath-taking nature on display”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

When we drove into the town square, the bull elk was herding his "girls." What a huge animal. He was part of the entertainment for the next 48 hours as the rangers had to make sure that no stupid tourists got close. We had to run across the street from the hotel to the restaurant to escape him.
Basic but clean hotel-nothing fancy. Good restaurant. Great star viewing. The Terraces is a great study in nature. Make sure your camera is ready.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AZLover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Where's the water!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Having already seen the majority of the geysers in yellowstone (including Old Faithful, Norris basin and mud volcano areas), I was disappointed when we got to the famed Mammoth Hot springs. Yes the geological formations are neat and yes the area is constantly changing, but I didn't see much currently activity. The other areas seemed more fun to see because activity was current, eruptions were going on and bubbling and steam clouds etc. It is a pretty area to see but don't expect to see a lot of action.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JackVettriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Interesting Geological Formations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is definitely worth a visit if you are in Yellowstone. It probably makes my top 5 list. The formation is not as active as Old Faithful, but the terraced 'pools' make for a very interesting landscape. As with most of Yellowstone, I took many pictures at this formation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nature in action 24/7”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We enjoyed our visit to these hot springs during a recent visit to Yellowstone NP. This particular part of the park featured terraced hot springs that steamed and bubbled vigorously. An easy walking path has been built around the hot springs and affords a good view of each. The view from the top down toward the hotel in Mammoth Hot Springs is very nice when viewed in the morning hours. If you're a photographer, you'll find plenty to photograph here. Remember not to expose your lenses to the steam coming off the fumaroles...it can etch your front element if not protected with a filter.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank detennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mammoth Hot Springs also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing