We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a tent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than a tent”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

No doubt this is an amazing area, but the Snow Lodge is just adequate. The staff was good, not great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    596
    289
    102
    47
See reviews for
486
619
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Villarimboud
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The room is below the U.S. average. No coffee, no refrigerator, no TV. Lot of noise in the rooms. For that price of USD 247. - (If anyone wants a copy of the invoice available). The advantage they have exclusive if you want to be among the geysers

Room Tip: Plan to be at Old Faithful geyser to see mid-morning and go to sleep outside the park. Otherwise cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Manager at Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at the Old Faithful Snow Lodge. We use feedback like yours to assist us with improving guest satisfaction levels here in Yellowstone National Park.

I was discouraged to read that you felt your accommodations were 'too expensive.' We work diligently to provide guests with clean, high-quality and reasonably-priced lodging in an effort to add value to their visit to Yellowstone. Based on your comments, we missed expectations during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies; I hope this didn't have a negative affect on your overall experience at the park.

Again, thank you for the feedback. If you happen to revisit Yellowstone in the near future, please ask for me so I can personally ensure your complete satisfaction.

Mike Keller, C. H. A.
Executive Director, Operations
Xanterra Parks & Resorts
PO BOX 165
Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
(307)-344-5206
mkeller@xanterra.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, MN
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I was nervous about my stay at the Snow Lodge based on the various reviews of the property on the web, but other than it being very noisy, it was more than acceptable. I like newer lodging, so the Snow Lodge (open a bit more than 10 years) was a perfect choice. My room was on the second floor, overlooking the drop off area of the hotel. At first I objected to this, but the front desk assured me that it was for drop off only, not pickup. There were two queen beds, comfortable with nice linens (but weird pillows); a sitting ledge by the window, a chair, a desk, two closets, a refrigerator, a neat one-cup coffee maker, a desk fan, and a phone. The sink was outside of the shower/toilet room. It was clean and in good physical condition. As someone who cannot live without air-conditioning, my main worry was that the room would be stuffy and hot. I can see how it would be in the summer - the window opens out and not very wide - but the fan helped tremendously. Given that none of the in-the-park lodgings have a/c, this was a fine choice in late May. The location is fantastic too - steps from Old Faithful but far enough away from the Old Faithful Inn madness.

I would certainly recommend this property in this area of the park - I would return there with no second thoughts, but not in the summer. A tip that I picked up from another reviewer - bring an extension cord if you plan to use the fan. The outlets are in odd places and the fan cord didn't allow much distance. And bring a pair of earplugs if you are a light sleeper - hall noise, plumbing sounds, etc. will keep you awake without them.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spacrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were only in Yellowstone for 2 days, so wanted it to be special, and rented two nights INSIDE the SnowLodge. There are outside cabins, but I'm glad we weren't there as it got muddy with the rain and snow this last week of May 2012. The rooms are pricy and have to be booked through Xanterra for the Park Service, and there are NO TELEVISIONS, but we knew that going in. The rooms were lovely, the beds comfortable, and the soap was shaped like a bear!! The lights in the room match those in the dining room, decorated with outlines of forest/bears. Very clean and nice, with lots of cushy reading chairs, sofas, roaring fire in the lobby for socializing, and a fabulous restaurant with great service; we ate their twice. Internet cost extra. There is cell service in this area; some places in park do not have it. Front desk folks are very knowledgable about the roads and passes and will update you if asked; there is also a posted sign with next expected eruption of Old Faithful.

Room Tip: I would stay inside, so I didn't have to walk through mud to go to dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Clean, friendly and a great location are the selling points here. Rooms are sparse but serviceable. Walls are thin so expect noise from fellow travelers especially those with children. No television or radio, but that is not why you visit the park. Food was better than expected. Would recommend for those staying in the park.

Room Tip: Wonder if the top floors are more quiet. Sounded like bowling or wrestling above us on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OB1canOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a night while visiting Yellowstone National Park. We found the lodge to be very comfortable and clean during our visit. We enjoyed the lobby area with all of the wood and found the staff to be be nice. The decor of the lodge makes people feel that this lodge has been been around for a long time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saturndriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Face it. Any place in the Park will have some limitations in amenities, but this was well compensated for by the staff who were almost too cheerful and helpful. Everything is run efficiently and the room was comfortable. Didn't miss a TV as we did not come to Yellowstone to watch the tube. Despite a large number of guests including tours the dining hall operated smoothly. The menu is limited but covers most tastes and the food was OK - not haute cuisine - but very acceptable. The staff all wear name tags giving each person's state of origin which leads to chats with wait staff and others. We would call this a good place to stay given the options if you wish to stay in the Park

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank yankoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.1 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,050 reviews
36.5 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,974 reviews
14.4 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
694 reviews
19.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins

Property: Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Address: 2305 Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Lodge
Old Faithful Snow Hotel
Hotel Old Faithful Snow
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing