We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in snow lodge rather than snow lodge cabins.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stay in snow lodge rather than snow lodge cabins.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

The best part if staying at the snow lodge and cabins is the location. We stayed in the snow lodge cabins. The Snow Lodge rooms are much nicer. We had a mouse join us in our cabin during the night. Fortunately my husband constructed a trap out of the trash can, curtain rod, shoe strings, toilet paper roll and peanut butter to catch it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pizzalover245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    578
    275
    100
    39
See reviews for
459
598
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

If you stay on site at Old Faithful (and I highly recommend you do ) then this is the best place to stay by far. But I warn you that in summer the rooms are very very hot - tiny windows and no a/c. Everyone complains. they give you a fan but it really doesn't help. Also the rooms can be noisy - east rooms overlook the dumpsters, south rooms the entrance (we had a tour bus leave at 4 a.m. and the earliest we heard people checking in/out was 2.30 a.m.! We have stayed here 4 times and the west rooms are the best - but very very hot. Having said all the negatives, the beds are really comfy and rooms are furnished beautifully and clean and it is the best lodging by far at old faithful. And there's nothing like walking out onto geyser hill first thing in the morning when the steam fills the valley. For Dining, only the old faithful inn takes reservations (Do it in advance or it will be full) but the food is not great - it used to be much better. If you use The Snow Lodge restaurant you will have a long wait and it is very hot.

Room Tip: see full review
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merionvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed in one of these cabins because all else was full. We reserved 6 months ahead of our planned vacation. The cabin we got was ugly, had terribly stained carpets, two broken windows that were hanging off their hinges, no Wi-Fi, to TV and cold. The beds were comfortable enough and I am glad for the good location to the boardwalk. Don't attempt to eat there, though. Seasoned Yellowstone travelers like us, (5 visits: 3 in Lake Yellowstone Hotel, 1 in this cabin and 1 in Canyon Area Cabin, which was very nice.) know to bring as much of your own food as possible. Every place we have eaten serves terrible food. The park is beautiful and can get over the cabin rip-off as soon as we leave. We only have to sleep there.

Room Tip: try, try,try to get a freshly re-modeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank auh2o5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Very modern accommodations in the park. After reading lots of reviews of Yellowstone lodging , our expectations were not high as many stated lodges and cabins were old, dated and overpriced. Not so with Snow Lodge. We found Lodge to be very modern, clean and a great place to stay. Lodging in Yellowstone IS overpriced, however for similar pricing you can expect to find this Lodge your best value. New, clean and the feel of a modern camp lodge. I know you will not
Be disappointed. Oh, at first we were unable to get a room, but I called daily to see about a cancellation and was excited to find open rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The rooms are clean and nice enough, there is no wifi or Tvs in Yellowstone accommodation, but perhaps this is a good thing as the sound insulation is non existent. As you lie in bed you hear every footstep of those in the rooms around magnified by the creaks of the woodwork. I have never stayed in a modern building as bad as this one. Yellowstone itself is amazing and there is obviously more demand for accommodation than supply that accounts for the prices charged and the lack of availability, next time I will consider staying outside the park boundary.

Room Tip: Perhaps the top floor is quieter, but otherwise don't expect to get much sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alitravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I was so excited to be staying in Yellowstone and I was pleased we had booked inside the park. Snow Lodge is a modern hotel within the Old Faithful Village. It is not as attractive to look at as the Old Faithfull Inn across the way but probably more comfortable! Large room with comfortable beds and coffee machine in room, as well as fridge. No TV but that is standard for National Parks and we were so busy that we didn't miss it. We ate in Restaurant on two nights (there isn't a huge choice) and both times had to wait for a table. Service was good and food okay. Limited menu but acceptable standard of food. Bit expensive but you can see why because of distances food is shipped in. Staff at hotel were nice and helpful and hotel so close to pop across and see Old Faithful Geyser, ranger station and also visit the other hotels. We ate in Old Faithful Inn restaurant one night, where room was lovely but food nothing special. We had three earthquakes whilst staying, being shaken awake at 5am by first one. They have a lot of little ones but these were apparently close to surface so seemed quite violent. Exciting but weird! I walked over to watch Geyser go off at dusk. Was very dark walking back with no one much around at all, there is lighting but not huge amount! You got woken most mornings by noise from corridor - probably coach trips leaving early. Corridors were very wide which probably amplified noise. It lived up to my expectations!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was the sixth out of eight hotels we stayed in during our trip around the West. We were only here for two nights but managed to speak to others staying in different hotels. The Snow Lodge appears to offer the best rooms and we were certainly pleased with ours. We dined in the other hotels to get a feel for the whole area. Can't rally add to what has already been said by others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.4 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
36.5 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
14.4 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
19.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins

Property: Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Address: 2305 Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Lodge
Old Faithful Snow Hotel
Hotel Old Faithful Snow
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing