We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at cabins in the national parks before and usually they are on the small side. The cabin (701) at the Old Faithful Snow Lodge was a good sized room. There were two double beds, the sink is separate from the bath and toilet which was great for my son, husband and I (hard to get ready when they are in the bathroom). There were plenty of space for luggage and sitting. Driving to the lodge and cabins were complicated from the Old faithful lodge but the walk was easy through the buildings. I could walk to see old faithful erupt with no problem. There is no TV or phone but there was coffee.

Room Tip: The Park rooms are almost always gobbled up by tour groups, reserve early up to a year or more, keep...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel and the park make it easy for patrons to recycle with receptacles everywhere, even in your rooms. Everyone together doing their share makes a difference.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonoluluLocalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    596
    289
    102
    47
See reviews for
486
619
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I were on the Total Yellowstone Package, 5 nights for about $2500, included:
Five nights lodging (3 at Old Faithful Snow Lodge, one at Canyon Lodge, and one at Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel)
Meals
One welcome gift per adult
In-park transportation
A scenicruise on Yellowstone Lake
A stagecoach ride
A photo memento CD
Baggage handling
This was just what I wanted and it was great. I know Yellowstone park, it's history, and all it's activities. Our guides Karon and Greg were fantastic, the 40 year old bus provided a special touch, our 34 other travelers were great, te food was mediocre (eat the bison when offered, it's fresh, and the rhubarb/ strawberry gazpacho at the Lake Lodge). I consider our trip a bargain, I highly recommend the package.....BUT!

Here's the BUT: We arrived at 1:00 PM, were told that our room would be ready a 3:00 "go and enjoy your afternoon." We did, and arrived back at 4:00PM. "You're rooms not ready" I sat in the lobby and watched two tour buses arrive and 60 rooms handed out.

I paid a premium for my vacation, I'd guess I paid 40% more for my room then the tours. The clock approached 5:00PM. I informed the desk clerk of my frustration, I spoke loud, a young woman, I assume the Desk Manager, went to a computer and handed me a key in less then a minute.

This was no way to treat a guest that bought your premium package.
The Total Yellowstone Package is great, management needs a heads-up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you are in to geo-thermals this is the place for you to base yourself. Snow cabins large and comfortable with plenty of space to store things. Good location. Food in the Snow Lodge the best of the 3 Xantera locations we stayed in. Great service too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaffney, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent two nights in the Snow Lodge cabins. Very nice room and walking distance to everything in the Old Faithful area. (Next time I will ask for a cabin on the outside row closest to the road. We brought a game camera with us and were hoping to catch some wildlife during the night.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewanddonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Frontier cabins in Yellowstone indicate that you have your own bath/shower. These also had a coffee pot. They are in the process of roofing and renovating many of the cabins,so a review of the worn out state would be moot. This area is quiet,but next to the hub-bub surrounding Old Faithful and other Upper Geyser attractions. Probably the biggest challenge was the poor road signage directing you to the Old Faithful Snow Lodge vs the Old Faithful Lodge. Maybe I'm the only one that had issues,but I doubt it! The Xanterra staff was their usual friendly and efficient selves.

Room Tip: Can't usually choose.
See more room tips
Green Features: Individual containers in the rooms and area provide ample opportunities for recycling.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed 4 nights in a Snow lodge cabin; it was OK, but we would have appreciated a fridge. Room was clean enough, everything was about average motel standard. Heater worked really well in the cabin but inadequate in the bathroom. Being at Old Faithful is of course a huge plus, but really I think Xanterra take the mick a little with the rates they charge - they could do with a little competition. And don't start me on the service in the restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mindyournose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Snow Lodge for 2 nights in June. Booked just 3 wks in advance - so check back in case people cancel. It happens!

The Old Faithful Snow Lodge was more comfortable than I thought based on reviews. No TV of course but otherwise the room and lodge was very well appointed.

Walter was a concierge that helped us after check-in and he went above and beyond to answer questions about Yellowstone, help us finalize our itinerary there, and he gave us an orientation of all the nearby options for eating, drinking, and sightseeing. Very welcoming way to start our experience at the park.

Plenty of space for family of 3 or 4. We were on top floor, end room, 3055 and I didn't hear a peep from any other guest.

Great location to explore old faithful area but we ended up spending most of our time driving to explore the northern part of the park. Would stay more central next time - maybe in Canyon.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mab45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.1 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,047 reviews
36.5 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,974 reviews
14.4 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
19.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins

Property: Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Address: 2305 Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Lodge
Old Faithful Snow Hotel
Hotel Old Faithful Snow
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing