We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property/room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful property/room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed for two nights with a family of four. Comfortable beds. Great bathroom with separate sink area in main room. Great décor. Fantastic staff. Very friendly and knowledgeable. Onsite laundry facility was indispensable. Obsidian Dining Room is fabulous. Went there for both dinner and breakfast. Very convenient to all of the other facilities at Old Faithful. Will definitely return here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    579
    275
    100
    39
See reviews for
461
598
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here two nights and had a great experience. Old Faithful is impressive, an American icon that attracts big crowds in the evening.(Plenty of seating too) There are lots of other geysers, hot springs and mud pools nearby all connected by well maintained paths and boardwalks. Chances are you'll also see wildlife on these trails such as elk and bison,

We dined both here and at the Old Faithful Lodge and enjoyed our meals on each occasion. There are a number of retail shops selling a wide range of goods and souvenirs.

We did a number of walks in the day and dined at about 8 each evening so we did not miss TV or internet access, Our rooms were fine but parts of the hotel were hot as they seemed to have the air conditioning cranked up. Overall, however, we really enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GACASydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

A Western Cabin is upscale in that it has a bathroom. Yes, this is not a Hilton. It was clean and roomy with a desk, dresser and closet. Beds were comfortable. We had an excellent meal at the Old Faithful Dining room. Service was great. The head chef came and talked to me regarding my GF diet.

Only complaint was the potholes in all the driveway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just a basic room, no TV, no free Internet and no A/C. We knew all that when booking so cannot complain but room was hot in summer. Opened the window but that was not enough to cool the room down. Small table fan provided though. Worst of all, room was facing the front entrance and just above the heavy metal lid dustbin located at the front entrance - so you can imagine the loud noise whenever someone uses the bin and slammed the lid shut! Very irritating!!!

Snow Lodge was quieter than staying at the Old Faithful Inn and lobby has lots of sofas for relaxation. Ask Reception for chess and checkers if you want to play - floor above the lobby has playing tables.

Overall, not a good value for money. If you want an Old Faithful lodging experience, stay at the Inn instead for historical reasons. Otherwise, would advise staying in West Yellowstone if you want a base for visiting the west part of this park. At least you'll have more affordable lodging options there and food choices.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing main entrance!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2trav3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent one night here during our recent trip to Yellowstone, and were pretty disappointed. The room was nice enough, but there was no A/C and no TV - I know, most people don't go to Yellowstone to watch TV, but it's nice to have it before you go to bed and when you get up in the morning. This is the first hotel room I've ever stayed at that instead of A/C had a fan in the closet. Really? I'd expect that from a college dorm room, not a hotel I spent $260 on. In addition, you had to pay an extra $15 a night for Wi-Fi.
I doubt I will stay in the park again, and if I do, it won't be here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawnwendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The room was so stuffy and hot. It was 80 degrees or so during our stay and there was a fan and a small window. If there was an outlet to put the fan near the window it would not have been so bad but but you could not. It was so hot even when the temperature dropped at night to mid 50's.

It was a fine room with a phone and a mini fridge along with toiletries and a Keurig coffee maker.

The hotel was a bit noisy but not terrible. I think it was just a very busy time for them.

Our check in experience was a mess. I handed the desk agent my printed confirmation and he till proceeded to check us into someone else's room. My husband brought our son to the room and the agent asked that we go get him and get our bags that were dropped even though it was the same exact room we booked. Anyway it was just a bit annoying after a long day. Our expectations were higher for the 2nd best rated hotel in the park.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eurotripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Although the amenities at the Snow Lodge in Yellowstone National Park were the best we experienced during three different nights at or near the park, the room temperature was over 80 degrees. There is no air conditioning available. The room we had on the second floor of the lodge had a very small window that had an even smaller opening. Even with a fan placed strategically in front of the window, neither of us could sleep due to the uncomfortable room temperature. We paid the most for this room of the three different places we stayed on this trip but had the worst night's sleep experience. Will never stay there again! Dave and Denise

Room Tip: Any room would be good if you were there in the winter vs. summer.
See more room tips
Green Features: Because this hotel is in a national park, they definitely emphasize environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.1 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
36.5 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
14.4 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
19.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
19.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins

Property: Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Address: 2305 Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Lodge
Old Faithful Snow Hotel
Hotel Old Faithful Snow
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing