We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all Yellowstone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
McFarland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's all Yellowstone”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This lodge was exactly as advertised and as we expected. The convenience made up for any shortcomings. The Park was very busy, so it felt great just to come back and take a shower and relax after a long day of hiking and outdoor activities. It was unusually warm during our visit and our room was secluded, so not much air through the windows, so we did feel the lack of air conditioning, but I think that was just a combination of factors. I'd recommend it as one of the better options in the Park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjd53558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    586
    284
    102
    45
See reviews for
475
611
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
670 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Snow Lodge CABINS for 3 nights and it was totally awesome!

If you want to be right in the thick of things and see Old Faithful whenever you want and not break the bank then pick the Snow Lodge CABINS.

Yes, they are old but we had a duplex with 2 dbl beds, good shower and desk for our laptop. Very large room with clean carpet. Again, they are just old. Check out the prices at Old Faithful Inn and the Snow Lodge itself and you will understand why I say these are AWESOME.

We had a coyote outside our door and some deer behind our cabin.

You are half way into the Park and it allows you to have plenty of time to explore the rest of the park and see Old Faithful every sunrise and sunset :)

Room Tip: Book your cabins early because they go quickly. Also, be awar of weather conditions for the roads.
See more room tips
Green Features: I always support an environmental friendly hotel. We hang the Do Not Distrub sign up the whole time and we separate our recyclables. Kudos!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thesteevesgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We decided to splash out and stay here for 2 nights as we wanted to be close to the geysers and theres really not much choice except Xanterra. We chose Snow Lodge as I needed a fridge for medication and the cabins don't have them. Finding the hotel was difficult due to poor signage and a confusing road system at the hotel/cabin/parking area. The staff are aware of this so not sure why it hasn't been improved!
The lodge itself was nice and modern, nicely decorated and clean. The room was on the small side with a very small window but had almost everything you would need to be comfortable. The bear soaps in the sink area were a nice touch.... Our room had a common seating area outside it so we did get a lot of noise from other guests so beware where your room is. However my main gripe would be that I always feel as though Xanterra takes full advantage of being the monopoly in the National Parks. Internet access was extortionate and this was the ONLY accommodation on a 5 week trip that did not provide it for free. Yes they are remote but so were a lot of other places we visited...We travelled throughout Montana and Wyoming. Also the restaurant was not the best -serving up what I would call "school dinners" by stressed and disorganised wait staff. We had to wait till part way through our main course to get our bottle of wine. Loud and busy-romantic it was not!
That said the location cannot be faulted as you are right there at the geysers and the walk along the boardwalk was amazing. Its a once in a lifetime thing so I am glad we stayed there. A few finishing touches service wise and the hotel could have been really good.

Room Tip: Beware common seating areas outside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thesprouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Old Faithful Snow Lodge Cabins were reasonably priced compared to the Old Faithful snow lodge itself. Spent one night - the rooms were spacious with 2 queen beds, a large closet, and a convenient sink outside the bathroom. No TV or internet access. It was a little bit of a walk to get over to the Old Faithful visitors center but not too far. We were up early to catch Old Faithful by 815 am; unfortunately the visitor center was not open until 9 am so we weren't sure when the next expected Old Faithful eruption was to take place. Later we noticed it was posted inside the snow lodge - so you know to go there to find out if you get up early.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuvtoTravel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in the Snow Lodge cabins during our recent trip in June. The cabins were just "meh". Not much in the way of decor and somewhat cramped for 4 people. The beds and pillows were pretty lousy and it was a little difficult to adjust the temperature at night with the electric baseboard heaters. There is no ice or vending machine near the cabins, so you have to walk all the way back into the main lodge for that. Not a terrible walk, but not what you want to do at 10:30 at night. The room was clean and we weren't in it all that often, so it isn't a big deal. Just don't go expecting Luxe accommodations in the cabins.

The amenities at the Snow Lodge were excellent. We liked the restaurants and the general store. Of course, being right across the street from Old Faithful and the visitor center was a big plus. The main lobby is inviting and was a great place to relax with a drink after a day of sightseeing and hiking. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our requests (extra towels, etc.).

Room Tip: If you get one of the cabins far away from the lodge, you WILL see wildlife in the morning. Bison g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are nice but quite sparse. There were no pictures on the walls. They were clean but on the small size. If you are on the third floor you get a small window. The windows are bigger on the second floor. The lobby is nice but there are just too many columns. It was supposed to look like a forest. The staff is great.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Let me start by saying that we stayed in 3 different Xanterra properties (lodges) while in Yellowstone, and I was pleased with all of them. Old Faithful Snow Lodge was the newest of the properties that we stayed in, and it was the priciest. It was perfectly situated right next to Old Faithful Visitor's Center, Old Faithful Inn, and the surrounding village amenities (gas/general store). We stayed in the main lodge building. The rooms are not big, but they are clean and comfortable. In July, they do get hot (we were on the 3rd floor) because the small windows don't allow for much air circulation from outside, but there is a small fan in each room that helps some. On site restaurants were fine, although I wasn't impressed by the breakfast buffet at the sit-down restaurant. Only negative of the experience was laundry facilities. There were 4 washers, but only 2 worked, so that caused a bit of a back-up for people trying to get a load done at the end of the day. There were plenty more dryers available (6, I believe). Overall, I would stay here again if visiting Old Faithful! Just keep in mind, that in park accommodations fill up fast - we booked over a year in advance.

Green Features: Loved the recycling containers around the Xanterra properties and in room recycling bin.
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank chillyjilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.1 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
989 reviews
36.5 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,963 reviews
14.4 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
684 reviews
19.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins

Property: Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Address: 2305 Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Lodge
Old Faithful Snow Hotel
Hotel Old Faithful Snow
Old Faithful Snow Lodge And Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing