We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downer 2nd time back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridge Bay Campground
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Downer 2nd time back”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Ok we stayed here last year and I wrote a great review. This year not the same experience. When I checked in the person checking me in was rude to start. He acted fine with the other ones in front of me but then I also noticed that the other people were older in age so maybe they did not like that we were younger. When I requested our same spot as last year, explained that they did not have that area open and that they were putting all campers in the open area in the front. When I asked how long they knew they were going to do that they could not answered. I then asked why didn't they notify us that we couldn't be in the same spot so I could have made other camping arrangements and they stated that was to hard to call everyone that makes reservations. We then got our spot......and I should have guessed it, but we got the spot right across from the registration window. It was so loud. You could hear every car drive by and the view sucked watching people drive in and out of the camp. They don't care about you, you are nothing but a $ sign to them. The place is so popular that they don't have to worry about their customer service. It's sad. If this would have been my first trip I would have never gone back nor would I tell my friends to go here. Pick another campground if you can.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TheChad6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    73
    43
    17
    12
See reviews for
87
51
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I read a lot of mixed reviews and was quite worried after booking. We got a great site (if you are tenting ask for one of the tent only loops). Our site was quiet and overlooked the water. We could hear cars go by but it wasn't at all that loud. Our site was very large, close to washroom. If you are camping in June dress warmly!! It got VERY COLD at night!
The volunteer site police come through regularly, and if you leave your site for 2 mins to go to the washroom and the fire is going even slightly or your cooler is out, they lecture you. (and believe me I literally left for two minutes)
Overall enjoyed and would camp here again. Bring your own wood- it's pricey if you buy it there.

Room Tip: Campers ask for a treed site on a tenters only loop for the best sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank zoodles23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

As an individual who has camped in NH, but never this far west, camping at Bridge Bay Campground over Father's Day weekend 2013 was my first "western camping excursion". Upon entering the park at 6am, I saw that this was the only campground left in the park with vacancy, so I immediately traveled from the West Entrance straight to Bridge Bay Campground. I found the campground very easily and was pleased to find vacancy for the night (camping in Yellowstone can be very difficult due to the limited number of tent sites - - especially over a holiday weekend!).

The campground is massive! It has many different loops and I was lucky to get a site in loop G which is high up in the campground and more rural than some of the alphabetically earlier loops. The tent sites are rather small, but it was okay as it was just me camping in a compact one person tent.

There was an amphitheater with evening programs, an area to purchase tickets for a scenic cruise of Yellowstone Lake, and a country store right on the campground property. I would highly recommend staying at this campground. It is a great place and certainly lots of fun!

Enjoy folks :)

Room Tip: Ask for a higher loop like F or G. Loop A and B are wide open - - no privacy whatsoever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is not a park run campground. In terms of campgrounds, it does it job. However, the campsites are close together. If you are a tent camper, you will hear everything your neighbors are saying and all the car doors slamming. Bring ear plugs. Also, quiet hours start at 10pm. There were RV campers who were playing music through speakers after dark, which made it hard to fall asleep. The bathrooms are decent with flush toilets and cold running water. They have a dish washing station as well, which is nice for tent campers. Every campsite is equipped with a table and fire pit. I would not stay there again. I am sure it is nice for those who are in RVs or campers.

It is in a great location for exploring the east side of the park, which was my favorite section. It is close to Hayden Valley, where wolves can be spotted.

I would like to see tent campers and RVs/Campers separated to avoid the loud noises of cars, heaters, and water tank pumps operating during the night.

Room Tip: Check out a map of the campground to help you make a decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelatravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo
Level Contributor
461 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The Bridge Bay Campground is perfect for a stay in Yellowstone. We especially love the upper loops as they are in the trees and are ideal for sitting back and relaxing in the outdoors. The nightly programs during the summer months are a lot of fun for the whole family. We like this campground because it's fairly central to the park. You are pretty much 20-30 minutes away from Old Faithful, Grand Canyon, West Thumb, Norris Geyser Basin, Tower, while only being 10 minutes away from Hayden Valley and Fishing Bridge. I would recommend booking a campsite 6 months in advance as they tend to fill up quickly.

Room Tip: Request an upper loop if possible and reserve your 4-6 months in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mea37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We booked a campground on Loop F facing the auditorium for five nights. The campground had space for a medium sized (4 man) tent. The area had a paved parking space for our car, a shared bear locker, picnic table and fire pit. Loop E and F are both very well appointed and are close to Yellowstone Lake. The restrooms were always clean and had toilet paper. The camp staff were very helpful and nice. They told us about the nightly shows they had at the auditorium and gave us information on nearby things to do. This campsite is surrounded by Yellowstone Lake and is very peaceful. There is a nearby store at the Yellowstone Lake's boat dock that has basic necessities. The front office sells fire wood.

We took showers at the nearby Fishing Bridge camp ground. The showers were not timed and there was not much of a wait the afternoon we went.

I will say that the front loops A-D was basically a parking lot and they are very close to each other. Loops A-D have mixed RV and tent camping sites. I would not have stayed in sites and would recommend that you find other arrangements if these are the only options available to you.

Yellowstone is very spread out and this camp ground is not close to many of the restaurants, ice cream, or other amenities that you would find near mammoth hot springs and old faithful. If you are looking for a remote area than this is for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vjack0887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The largest campgrounds in Yellowstone National Park, including Bridge Bay, are managed by a private company (Zanterra) sp? and are noisy, expensive and overpriced.

The queue for checking in to the campground was ridiculously long. The staff were friendly, but clearly they need more staff. And their computerized reservation system is farked- Bridge Bay is the largest campground in Yellowstone National Park and we were sent all the way to the "H" loop, only to discover that our spot was already occupied. And the nice folks there told us we were not the first to come by with a double booking.

So we had to ride all the way back to the "check in" area, and I cut the line, because dammit, enough is enough, it's getting late, my kid is tired and hungry and we need to get this sorted. Again, the staff were very nice and apologetic and confessed that their computer system doesn't work very well.

Why is it that the corporate campgrounds are the most expensive, are understaffed and can't handle reservations, while the the old school campgrounds still managed by the National Park Service (Tower, Lewis, etc.) cost way less and work just fine?? Just another example of privatization run amok...

We were supposed to be in a "tent only" area but ended up surrounded by noisy RV's. It was late and I didn't want to ride all the way back to the check-in area a third time, so we stayed put, but in the future I will make a point to avoid the "corporate" campgrounds at Canyon, Bridge Bay, Madison and Grant Village. (And I discovered over the course of our trip that these corporate campgrounds exist in many National Parks and they are all equally over-priced, under-staffed and are lousy "value-for-money" compared to the remaining campsites that are still managed by the National Park Service.

Room Tip: Might be nice in the off season, but it's a zoo during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank T0nyBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
1.3 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
989 reviews
14.7 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
918 reviews
32.2 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,487 reviews
23.3 mi away
Lake Lodge Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins
#6 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
722 reviews
21.1 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Bay Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Bay Campground

Property: Bridge Bay Campground
Address: West Thumb-Fishing Bridge Rd., Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Number of rooms: 432
Also Known As:
Bridge Bay Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Bridge Bay Campground Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing