We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Full Service Campground” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grant Village Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grant Village Campground
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Fantastic Full Service Campground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Grant Village Campground is a very large campground with around 400 sites across 11 or so loops. My wife and I tented 3 nights in J Loop which was a nice location although there were some issues with noise due to it's proximity to the Grand Loop Road and the elk in rut bugling through the night within a 100 or so yards from our site. Restrooms were clean and always well stocked. Fantastic shower facilities available nearby that are included in your nightly rate. The general store, laundry, and gas station are also in nearby Grant Village. Firewood was pricey at $7.42 a box but a past visitor had stocked up quite a bit of deadwood in our site so we burned it to conserve our purchased firewood. The location is great for drives to Canyon, Old Faithful, or down to Grand Teton. West Thumb Geyser Basin is a few minutes away also. Sites are reservable online through Xanterra which is nice, though there are no site preview options like recreation.gov offers.Overall, Grant Village was a great campground and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wadie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    66
    27
    10
    3
See reviews for
67
52
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here with two other couples. It is very pretty, though quite crowded. .There is a nice short walk to the lake. It was centrally located for day trips to all the sights on our motorcycles. The only big negative is that the spaces were rather small for large RV's. We had tree limbs that were hitting the top and sides of ours, making it difficult to get in and out. We even did some damage to the top of our 5th wheel. We would stay there again, but trim some branches before setting up.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sewready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

It was our first camping experience so I would say for us this was the best as it had all the facilities. It is though not good for regular campers as there are a lot of people around. Even we were bothered by people to not talk in the night which was ridiculous. I don't think quite hours even mean that you can not talk. We were not laughing out loud but just sitting beside the campfire. So that was a bad experience but apart from that the experience was good

Room Tip: You can check the campground map in advance to understand your need and decide on a loop where you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asit_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was a nice campground. Not very private, but clean and tidy. Didn't like the fact that you have to drive the opposite direction on a one way "path" through the campground to park the RV as the sites are all a "Pull-Off" not a "Pull-Through". Friendly people, all amenities are close, and the lake is a hop, skip and a jump away. Good Times!

Room Tip: Get a site on the right side of the road with an RV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, KS
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My adult son and I stayed here on Monday Night, August 5, 2013 during our 9 day Great Western Epic Mountain Bike and National Parks Adventure. It was crowded, but what do you expect from the most popular National Park. We noticed a large amount of international visitors. Not a problem, just an observation. We had a basic tent campsite with a fire ring and picnic table. We weren't too very far from the bathroom but it was a walk when you needed to go. (no going behind a tree here, waaaay too many eyes and ears). The bathroom was clean, small but adequate with two sinks, toilets and urinals. The bathroom building also had a deep sink for washing dishes, (sorry cold water only). The bear boxes sit in common locations to be shared. (Grand Teton's Colter Bay has one bear box per campsite which was nicer). The shower/laundry building lady was very nice and professional and the clean and hot shower area was very nice and much needed. The campground is close to the southern edge of Yellowstone Lake (which is HUGE) and has the geyser/bubbling mudholes nearby which are very interesting to see. (again, we saw more international visitors than Americans, in my opinion). We also visited Old Faithful and saw it blow. Stirring!. Great pics. Went inside the Old Faithful Inn, a place I had wanted to see since seeing it on a Wonderful World of Disney episode as a kid in the 60's/early 70's. Glad I did. Would love to stay there some time.
Lots of rules at the campground but with all the diversity and the essentially overcrowded conditions some stern rules are a must.

Room Tip: They assign the campsite. Make reservations as early as you can and arrive as early in the day as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Beautiful site, clean and spacious. Stayed four nights. Only 30 minutes from Tetons so we were able to go see that area too. Very cold at night, 39 degrees each morning. Firewood is $7.00 per box- expensive for what you get. Elk walking through the site. Bathrooms were clean but need remodeling. Showers were a short drive- very clean, hot water and no time limit! Soap was available right in the shower in case you forget yours. Towel rental available too. Nice laundry facility with change machine and soap to purchase if needed. Coffee available with free refills! Loved Grant village! Hope to go back some day. Remember all food and cooking utensils and toiletries need to be packed in your car or a bear box. Your grill also needs to be put in a bear box. Take care to not over pack. Awesome place to camp!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Woodtick26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Spacious campsites (we tent camped...2 adults, 4 small children...because we're crazy.)
Two free showers per night per reservation
Lots of trees and shade
Plenty of bathrooms (none of the campsites are "far" from a bathroom)
Laundry mat was immaculate
Staff was courteous, helpful and friendly
Close to the lake
Short drive (relatively) to Old Faithful and other cool stopping points
Moose and Elk both spotted, daily in the campground

Cons:
Tent camping with 4 small children (did I mention we decided to buy an RV when we get home?)

The only thing I would have changed about our trip (other than tent vs. trailer) is I would have stayed 3 or 4 nights in Grant Village and done everything within an 1 1/2 hour drive of there and then picked up camp and moved to Canyon Village and done everything closer to that area. As it was, there were a couple days when we drove north to do something and ended up being in the car for 4 to 6 hours (roundtrip) and our two youngest had had about enough of their car seats when all was said and done. This trip was amazing!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Icestorm106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
13.8 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
20.6 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
41.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lake Lodge Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins
#6 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
14.1 mi away
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
#7 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Village Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Village Campground

Property: Grant Village Campground
Address: Grant Village, Yellowstone Lake, Yellowstone National Park, WY
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Grant Village Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Grant Village Campground Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing