We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid campground”
Review of Madison Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Madison Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
138 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good solid campground”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We made this reservation approx 30 days in advanced. Campground is clean and quiet. This is just situated where the Firehole and Madison rivers meet. So, the river is an easy walk for the kids to play and fish in. There is no market or store there. So, you'll need to stock up prior and or at the other visitor centers during the day. There were many families when we were there. Our kids played frisbee and capture the flag after dinner. We took an evening trip to west yellowstone for gas. West Yellowstone is a disappointment as far as markets go. I didn't check the prices in yellowstone for gas. But, its probably better to pay the Nat park price. However, there were a lot of good fishing spots along the madison. Also, the swimming hole at the end of firehole rd is good. Norris is close to old faithful and norris. Didn't make it to Mammoth(yet). Yellowstone lake and grand canyon is reachable but plan for those to be your destinations and not stop enroute for those days activities. We spent 4 days in the park. Day 1: Old faithful area. Day 2: Grand Canyon area. Day 3: ice lake/norris. Day 4: Hayden valley/Yellowstone lake and start driving home. Day 0 was in the Tetons. Lamar, was a bit to far to make the itinerary the first three days. Mammoth had road construction. So it will have to wait. Campground was a lucky find with the late reservation. I thought it great. It does need a store with ice cream though. Perhaps if Norris or Maddison were to upgrade to have a store, and fuel. A minor point. Madison is good for geysers (not necessarily for fishing and wildlife in the Hayden valley and yellowstone lake/river).

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    84
    32
    10
    1
See reviews for
87
75
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winter Springs
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed two nights at the Madison campground and loved it. I had read a few negative reviews but our experience was very positive. There are no utility hookups and no generators allowed after 8 PM but this wasn't a problem There are also no shower facilities but the rest rooms were very clean and well maintained. So if you understand what you will be getting in exchange for an extremely inexpensive price you should enjoy your stay.
The RV sites are spacious and easy to navigate and the check in process was efficient and friendly. The other campers were very pleasant. The only negative is that the highway leading into Yellowstone from the west entrance runs right by this campground so it was a little noisy at night.

Room Tip: Look for a camp site close to the river and away from the nearby road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the-traveler1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed two nights at Madison . I would recommend staying in the back loop. A short walk from there is the Madison River where wildlife frequent often. My husband went fly fishing on the river and we saw a grizzly bear about 150 yards away ! It was a pretty campsite with friendly staff. The bathrooms are close and clean. They also have dish washing sinks too. Although they do not have showers you can take them in West Yellowstone or at the Old Faithful Inn. We went to the Old Faithful Inn and enjoyed a drink and a fiddle player afterwards:)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This campground is in a great location, and the price was perfect. However we visited in mid May, just after it had opened up. It was about 1/3 full, so pretty quiet. It was very cold however, and I noticed those in tents, were struggling. We were in a RV so no problems keeping warm for us. Buffalo wandered through the campground in the early morning. Great river access, though no fishing until Memorial Day. I heard it is crazy busy during the summer, which I can believe due to its convenient location and beautiful surroundings. Lots of shade as this campground is in the forest. You do need to book this campground as early as possible. It is full before the season begins.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank utemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had 2 separate families book reservations last summer. We had issues at check in as it seemed the employees were not too familiar with computers. The check in process is quite slow. However we were given sites next to each other (drive thru), it was clean & quite nice. Full hook ups are not avail but picnic table & fire pit at the campsite.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsytripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was the only campground open before Memorial Day weekend. If you come this early, get reservations. No, there's not electricity if you're tent camping but the only thing we needed it for was blowing up the air mattress. We bought an inverter to plug into the car for that. There aren't showers but there are other places you can shower. The bathrooms were nice and were heated. The Location in Yellowstone is good. It doesn't take long to get across the park. If you don't have food at night, go out the West entrance and there will be several choices. The town out there looked really cute.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msu_gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Tent camped here for several weeks. This isnt your basic primitive campground. Although there are no facilities on site, this campground is much better suited to RV campers than those tenters looking for some privacy and solitude. The sites are small, close in without much tree cover and privacy. It is about a 15 minute ride to the village of West Yellowstone which would be your closest shower and laundry options. It is however, a 2 minute walk to the Madison River and some great fly fishing. The staff is friendly and courteous as you will find with all of the staff in Yellowstone..If you are looking for a bit more privacy, check out Lewis Lake which defines primitive camping or the tent section of Canyon Village.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
26.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
989 reviews
25.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
923 reviews
25.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
9.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
684 reviews
13.4 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Campground

Property: Madison Campground
Address: West Entrance Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Number of rooms: 277
Also Known As:
Madison Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Madison Campground Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing