We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Showers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Madison Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Madison Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“No Showers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The biggest let down is that most of the campsites do not have showers. To shower we had to go to canyon, Old faithful Inn, or Grant. Old faithful in was 3.50 a person to shower there, more if you didn't bring your own towel. But the bathrooms/showers were clean and very fancy.

We stayed in campground G. You can still hear the road traffic, but it is a tent only area so no generators (no offense to those of you lucky enough to have one). The tent area had lots of trees and we asked to move to a different site because my screen tent couldn't fit over the picnic table (it was raining) because the trees were closely around the table. Because we showed up early (at 11am), we were able to switch spots. I would show up early to ensure you like your spot and if not, can try and move.

Lots of critters come into camp at night. Saw elk and a little fox scurry off out of sight. The river is lovely and my little brother panned for gold. The campground is clean with flush toilets and there are lots of bear boxes around to put your stuff in. Also, they don't want you washing your dishes anywhere but in the SINGLE dishwashing room located in the bathroom building. You have to be fast because a line forms behind you quickly. I would recommend heating up the dishwashing water, washing your dishes at camp, then go dump and rinse the water in the SINGLE room.

Oh, and you don't get reception very well in the camp and the only outlets are in the bathroom. Well one outlet anyway. And people will leave items hooked up to charge them all hours of the day. I had a Goal Zero solar panel and car charges, so didn't need the outlet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Vacationer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    80
    31
    10
    1
See reviews for
82
75
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend this campsite to anyone tent camping in Yellowstone! The location in the park near the west entrance is supreme! Staff was excellent. Bathrooms were spotless and well kept. Campsite was clean and all campsites seemed to be very near a restroom. A fabulous site for around $20!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was the only spot left in Yellowstone when I called for reservations. We got a nice spot with only Tent campers around us. We like that a lot. However, those spots are REALLY close. We were literally 20 feet from another tent (with two little girls in it who didn't want to go to sleep) That's my only complaint. Otherwise, the setting is beautiful and it is close to major attractions. Fishing stunk but I can't really blame the campground, can I?

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank boulderjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This campground would only be mediocre in my mind if it weren't bordered by the beautifully sparkling Madison River and if it weren't in one of the most beautiful parks in the world.
It's a perfectly situated spot in Yellowstone, about 30-60 minutes away from all major Yellowstone areas.
The campsites are quite exposed and nothing special at all. Beware of lots of bison droppings that may be in your site. The piles are quite large.
For that matter, the bison are a plus to this campground, since they wander about so freely here.
The area is clean as are the restrooms.
There are no amenities aside from an ice and vending machine.
I wish they had showers here.
For us, we found it easiest to get food outside of the west entrance in West Yellowstone, only a 25 minute drive.
This is a convenient and inexpensive way to enjoy Yellowstone.
I would stay again, but with no showers, three nights is my max.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank LittleLily29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We reserved 5 spots at this campground for our July stay back in January. We requested to be near each other, and that request was granted. We love this location for its beauty and the lovely Madison river that flows along the campground. It's especially beautiful at dawn and dusk. The restrooms are well maintained, but there are no showers, which is the main negative. You'll have to drive to Canyon or Old Faithful for a shower.
Our sites were close to the road from West Yellowstone, but we didn't find the noise to be a problem. There are no stores in the area, so come prepared.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wishesUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent three days in Madison Campground and it was our first three days in the park. This campground isn't near stores. wifi, gift shops, visitor centers or anything like that. It is near the Firehole Canyon (with it's great swimming hole). We were in F loop. The only problem with the campground is that a lot of the sites are near the main road. This is the road people entering from West Yellowstone come in on and it's very busy and noisy. Otherwise the place is great. The Gibbon and Firehole rivers converge here and it's a beautiful site. The Ranger talks were also very nice and took place every night.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Koobeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
187 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was able to get a reservation for our small RV at the Madison Campground with six weeks notice for mid-July ... very lucky. The campsite is in a wooded area, as others mention, near the stream. Sites are far enough away from each other that one does not "share tent pegs". Campsites are assigned as you arrive, rather than by reservation. However, there don't seem to be many (if any) undesirable sites. There is some highway noise at night.

There are no hookups (except for permanent party). Generator quiet hours are 8:00 PM - 8:00 AM. On-site RV dump and potable water are available to registered campers.

The campsite is 18 miles from the Old Faithful area ... a bit of a hike, but there are several interesting stops along the way.

Bottom line: Excellent place for a family.

Room Tip: Sites are assigned upon arrival
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cigano-Gitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
26.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
25.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
25.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
9.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
13.4 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Campground

Property: Madison Campground
Address: West Entrance Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Number of rooms: 277
Also Known As:
Madison Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Madison Campground Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing