We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious campsites at convenient and scenic location”
Review of Mammoth Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mammoth Campground
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
270 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
“Spacious campsites at convenient and scenic location”
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Spent two nights here while touring the northern part of Yellowstone National Park. This campground does not take reservations; simply show up and check with the volunteer camp hosts to see what's available. We arrived around 9 a.m. and secured tent site #85, a spacious site with a parking spot, picnic table, campfire grill and, lucky for us, a gravel pad for the tent. We had a thunderstorm our first night but woke up to dry ground thanks to the good drainage. (Smart thinking on the part of the National Park Service, which operates the site, to install gravel pads. We stayed later at the Bridge Bay campground operated by Xanterra and discovered the grassy site was actually a bog.)

Our site at Mammoth was conveniently located near the washrooms, which were clean and well maintained. The camp hosts also make regular checks through the campground aboard what looks like a golf cart to be sure that everything is in order. Campers, both tenters and those in RVs, were quiet and considerate of each other's privacy. The only noise we heard was from the road below the campground, but it was really quite minimal and certainly didn't keep us awake at night or waken us in the morning.

The location is convenient to the town of Gardiner, so if you need groceries or prefer to have a restaurant meal, it's only a short drive away. You're also close to the park headquarters with its visitor centre, post office, hotel and restaurant, and Mammoth Hot Springs is close, as are a selection of hiking trails. The campground itself has a small outdoor amphitheatre where park rangers give interesting talks in the evening. At $14 a night, Mammoth is half what you'll pay at a Xanterra campground (for site fee + reservation fee) and twice as nice. And it seems to be easier to find a spot at Mammoth than at some of the other NPS campgrounds. We drove over to Norris twice (largely because of good reviews on Tripadvisor) only to find that walk-in sites were all that was available. But no regrets -- we found Mammoth a really good campground and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tripsterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    17
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

This NPS-run campground is a great alternative to the many run by Xanterra, the private concessionaire. Not only is it substantially cheaper, but it's a more reasonable size (under 100 sites) and is staffed by great volunteer campground hosts. There aren't many trees, but the views north toward Gardiner are great. Be prepared for the ground squirrels to start squeaking before sunrise. June is a shoulder season in Yellowstone, and this campground was filling in the early-mid afternoon.

Bathrooms are average, and although the campground itself has no showers, you can pay (or sneak in) to use the common showers in the Mammoth hotel just up the hill.

One word of warning: there's a half-mile trail connecting the campground to the developed Mammoth area, but it is very steep -- hard to climb up, a bit slippery coming down.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lenin1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We stayed 2 nights here & 3 at Bridge Bay. We got here early & were able to pick our spot. Check in is quick & easy. Campground was clean yet rustic. The mountains were right across the road from us. It was the best of both worlds - camping in the mountains yet close enough to modern conveniences.The road does have a lot of traffic which does wake you up early (5:00 am) but we wanted to get up early to see wildlife & we did. There are spots farther away from the road.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxworth, Mississippi
Level Contributor
225 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

A nice campground to camp in the park. It is clean and safe. The sites are a bit tight though. Because of the bears the rules are strictly enforced!!

  • Liked — convience in the yellowstone park
  • Disliked — the closeness of the sites
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank southernchelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

This campround is nice but be prepared to be awakened by cars early in the morning and late at night. This is also the hottest part of the park so prepare for warm nights. This campground is the only one in Yellowstone that is open year round. Campsites are well spaced out.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank hikingluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

Stayed here 2 nights in June. The campsites are pretty well spaced from one another, which was a huge bonus over Madison Campground. There isn't much tree cover, so you're pretty exposed amongst the sage brush. Some sites (like ours) is fairly close to the road up to Mammoth Lodge, so it can make for an early morning wake-up as traffic picks up. The campground hosts were very friendly. Elk roam throughout the campground, and we even witnessed a black bear hunt down an elk calf 100 yards from our site. The location is great because it is a nice drive through the north section of the park to Lamar valley. Also, the campground is 1/4 mile from Mammoth Lodge area with gas/general store/showers. Also, some nice trails near-by.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank stl_cardinals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2007

we use to live in cody wy and camped at this campground many times over the years it is our favorite of all the campgrounds in ynp the restrooms are always clean the rangers and camphosts are always friendly and very informative and the elk walking through the campgrounds is always an added treat and the small town of mammoth is also very nice and clean with a lot of things to see and do there and also gardnier mt is another great little town just out side the park the scenery is beautiful just a great place to be.

  • Liked — the scenery and wild animals
  • Disliked — everything was great
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rettenmairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
0.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,960 reviews
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
987 reviews
41.2 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
721 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
14.5 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Campground

Property: Mammoth Campground
Address: Mammoth Hot Springs, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Mammoth Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Mammoth Campground Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing