We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Rustic Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Location & Rustic Atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I had originally booked a single bed roughrider cabin, but when a friend was able to join me for a couple of nights in Yellowstone, I was happy to have been able to change my reservation a week out to a cabin with three double beds. The cabin was spacious and had the essentials for a relaxing and restful night's sleep. As other have reported, there is a wood stove for heat and a 20" box fan for cooling. We stayed in mid July and it was neither hot nor cold at night . . . perfect for sleeping. Our cabin (#54) was right in front of the communal shower & restroom building so that was perfect. Especially nice was the free ice also located at the restrooms building. Guest receive a more than adequate supply of bath towels and wash cloths so no need to bring your own. I look forward to staying here again when I return to Yellowstone. For the price, you cannot beat the price for lodging INSIDE the park!

Room Tip: Plan on staying here for at least a couple of days if you are interested in wildlife viewing in Lama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimeshareVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    141
    41
    15
    2
See reviews for
149
124
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed three nights at the Roosevelt Lodge in late June and would definitely go back. We rented a handicapped accessible cabin so that we would have a private bathroom (suggested by the reservations agent, not me). At the age of 60, I'm long past using a shared bath/shower facility. We loved the area! Our cabin was small, but very comfortable. Our daughter's family had a more rustic cabin without a private bath, but they had no complaints. We only ate two meals at the lodge, and they were both average - nothing memorable. The staff was friendly and helpful. This area had a feeling of authenticity to it, as you were surrounding by lovely vistas rather than parking lots. Since this is on the north end of the park, it is a long drive down to Old Faithful and the Paint Pots, but after staying at the Old Faithful Snow Lodge, I preferred the Roosevelt Lodge accomodations.

Room Tip: If you want a private bathroom, but an ADA room. Higher in price, but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvsBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed in one with a single bed and no bathroom. The bathrooms and shower were not far away, and each time we used them, they were exceptionally clean. My daughter thought she was going to die not having TV, but we got a deck of cards and had a great time playing all evening, as the weather did not cooperate for roaming around outside. The location is great for wildlife viewing. We were able to walk to the end of the drive and see a black bear in a field across the road. The cabin was clean and tidy. There is a wood stove for heat and a fan for cooling. All in all, I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chedanemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I was not sure what to expect before we arrived but I certainly am glad we stayed here for our 3 day trip to Yellowstone.We had a spacious cabin with 2 double beds. It was basic as expected and clean.The communal toilet block was modern and well maintained. The restaurant at Roosevelt was excellent and good value. We visited other areas in Yellowstone and this was by far the nicest. The other places such as Canyon are too touristy. I would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Julian62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Roosevelt Lodge is in a great location to visit the Lamar Valley. However, it is worth the money to upgrade the room. Otherwise, you will have a shared bathroom and a wood stove for a heater (which you will need, even in summer). Our stove stopped burning in the middle of the night, and my partner had to go out in the cold and dark to get more wood and then spend a while getting the fire started again. While I crazily found this experience to have some rustic charm, I think we just should have just paid a little more for a nicer room. That said, the restaurant in the lodge was good, and you can't beat the location for the Lamar Valley.

Helpful?
Thank NC_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

A recent bad experience at a Custer State Park lodge in South Dakota reminded me that we should give Roosevelt Lodge Cabins some big love for the three times we've stayed there. Can't rave enough about these cozy 1920s cabins -- full of history, charm and simplicity, and a tremendous value. What else do you need but a solid bed, table, woodburning stove and a few hooks on which to hang your stuff? The shared bathrooms are always clean and uncrowded, the dining room has great food (we always tip our hat to the noble TR's photo over the desk when entering, snickering slightly at the elk antlers some wag placed right above it), and the international staff is always wonderful. Roosevelt's peaceful evening porch sitting, a staple of good lodge life, is outstanding. There are several great trails nearby; some of our favorites are the Yellowstone Picnic Area Trail, which has outstanding river and meadow views, and the Lost Lake Trail beginning right behind the lodge. This is our favorite area in the park, much less crowded than Old Faithful, Canyon or Lake, and we love the proximity to the Lamar Valley and its wonderful early-morning and evening wildlife. You'll go to sleep to the sound of crickets and coyotes and wake to the lovely chirping of birds. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ever_wanderlusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed here on July 2nd after a terrible stay at Canyon.We expected basic and it was but comfortable,bu we found the cabin dirtyit had not been cleaned with even dirty towels in the cabin when we checked in,again we have stayed in many NP accomodation over the years and only look for a dry ,clean place to sleep at night not much to ask you would think but Yellowstone lets itself down big time,come on Yellowstone get your act together,the park is world class,a must see in your lifetime but the accomodation is terrible

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrewcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Executive Director, Operations at Roosevelt Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Roosevelt Lodge.

I was disappointed to read about your recent stay at this location. We work diligently to ensure that our rooms are kept up to basic expectations.

Please rest assured that the situation you experienced is rare and we are working on making improvements to ensure this never happens again. Until then, please accept my sincere apologies. I hope this didn’t negatively affect your overall Yellowstone experience.

Thank you again for your comments. If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me via the information provided below.

Mike Keller, C. H. A.
Executive Director, Operations
Xanterra Parks & Resorts
PO BOX 165
Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
(307)-344-5206
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
25.0 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,047 reviews
14.6 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,974 reviews
36.7 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
737 reviews
17.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
16.9 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Lodge Cabins

Property: Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Address: PO Box 165, Tower-Roosevelt Junction, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190-0165
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Lodge Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Roosevelt Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing