We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite place to stay in the park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ohio
Level Contributor
174 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay in the park”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

If you want a place to stay in the park that is laid back and you are not crushed by crowds this is the place to stay. Our cabin had three beds, two bedside table, desk and pot belly stove to keep the chill off at night. Only a handful of rooms have their own bathrooms so book early. The shared bath houses were not kept as clean as I would have liked. The one closest to our cabin (there are three bathhouses) wasn't cleaned for a full day, considering the usage they should be cleaned twice a day. The bathhouses have private showers with shampoo, conditioner and body wash provided. They also have toilet stalls and sinks (which are open). The lodge isn't as grand as some in the park but rustic and has great BBQ ribs at the restaurant. Great place to stay as it is near wildlife viewing at Lamar Valley and close to the chuckwagon dinner excursion.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buckeye02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    136
    39
    14
    2
See reviews for
143
120
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent one night in a Rough Rider Cabin, our first night in Yellowstone. The cabin was rustic but cozy and clean. The beds were very comfortable, we were pleasantly surprised. We especially appreciated the woodstove, as the night we were there it was raining. The woodstove heated up our little cabin in no time!

Our cabin had a shared bathroom, which was okay. We skipped taking showers there, they didn't look the cleanest. (We were in the lower loop).

We ate dinner at the restaurant, which was pretty good. (Especially in retrospect, after eating at other restaurants in the park!) Our family appreciated their vegetarian options, especially the black bean chili. We only wish that you could find more vegetables in the park-- the best they can seem to do is iceberg lettuce! The restaurant service was friendly and efficient, despite the fact that the place was *packed*.

The northern part of the park was our favorite, we wish we had stayed there longer. Quiet, rustic, and lots of wildlife. We went on an amazing hike from the Yellowstone River picnic area that took us out along the river and canyon. We were amazed to see 3 female Bighorn sheep and 5 sweet little lambies at the end of the trail.

If you enjoy nature and solitude, stay in this part of the park. There is so much to do and see! We prefer it to the Old Faithful area, which is full of crowds and scarce on wildlife. And the cabins were great! We will come back for sure someday!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hiker_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent one night in the Rough Rider cabin. They have electricity, but no AC. Thanks to the cool night, we were very comfortable anyhow. There is a little woodstove with "biscuits" you can burn for warmth if needed. No cooking is allowed in the cabin. There was a night stand, desk and chair in addition to the double bed. Ours had no bathroom, but it was just a short walk to the shared bathroom over 3 rows, which had showers. Linens were provided. We felt fortunate to get this reservation for two cabins just the week before we were going to be there, thanks to a cancellation. I just kept calling the Yellowstone accommodations reservations number till something opened up. Once the taxes and fees were added, it was about $78. There is no wi-fi available at Roosevelt, unless you pay for it, like anywhere else in Yellowstone. It is on the north side of the park, near the road out to the east entrance, which is a great area for wildlife watching, especially wolves. However, the road coming up from Canyon Village to Roosevelt Lodge has construction so we encountered about a 30-min. wait at one point. We would gladly stay in one of these cabins again since we don't mind eating out of a cooler. Motel prices in W. Yellowstone and Gardiner are exhorbitant - we spent $170 at Super 8 in Gardiner the night before and did not sleep any better. There is something about being IN the park!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marijayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

"We had previously stayed in Old Faithful lodges and felt much happier here. Smaller cabins, but beautifully appointed, much more rustic and close to nature. A mule deer walked right past our cabin as we arrived! I didn't mind the communal bathrooms and showers, as they were regularly cleaned and kept tidy. It's very basic but I loved it.

Although you do have to wait for food in the restaurant when it arrived it was excellent. The servers are a little over worked so you don't always get the attention you should but if you have time it's worth it."

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samdixey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We loved our stay at the Roosevelt Lodge! We were lucky enough to get a cabin that had a bathroom. The cabin was small and cozy. They provide linens which was a plus because the cabin holds four and we are a party of five, so one lucky child slept on the floor. We requested extra linens to make it comfortable for him and he was fine. We were a little warm the first night and turned on the fan that they provide, but by the second night we eventually learned how to open the darn window and it provided a nice, cool breeze. Parking on the side of the cabin was a plus for loading and unloading the car. Coffee maker inside the cabin is a plus for us, too. They even provide body wash and shampoo and conditioner, which smell minty.

The area is very nice. We hiked up to Lost Lake which is directly behind the cabin grounds. It was beautiful! We also did the chuckwagon bbq. If you can get a reservation, get one! It was a nice experience and the food was actually good. The kids were excited to try "Cowboy Coffee," which was entertaining to watch them try. We were schedule for horseback riding, too, but the weather stopped us about 20 minutes into our ride and we had to head back. Unfortunately we couldn't reschedule because that was our last day at the Lodge and the rest of the rides were cancelled that day, too.

We never dined in the Lodge, but we did have our night caps of brownie sundaes and wine for the evening. The kids really enjoyed this part of the evening. The gift shop is small but have just about all the essentials you're looking for.

From the Lodge, we headed into Lamar Valley a couple of times. Instead of paying $80pp for the wildlife tour bus that leaves that Lodge at 8am, we decided we were getting up early and heading out. We woke up at 7:00ish, told the kids to get in the car in their pajamas and hit the road by 7:45 for wildlife viewing. Luckily we did because we saw so many animals and lots of bears! We headed out of the park for breakfast into Silver Gate and were lucky to see bison in the front yards of houses. On our way back into the park and heading to the Lodge, there were a ton of cars and people outside the Lodge entrance and that only means one thing...animal sighting! We crossed the four-way stop into the Lodge and asked the ranger what was going on. Bear sighting right there, roaming around in the grassy brush! We couldn't believe how close it was just roaming around and all the flashes going off! We were enjoying the view from our car, I just couldn't imagine being so close to where all the people were gathered. It was a great way to end our animal watching that morning.

We loved our stay at the Lodge and would definitely go back if we were in the area. It took us months to get a 2-night stay in a cabin with a bathroom. Once we got those reservations, we planned our trip around it because we weren't going to be able to change those days easily.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esther C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We loved the area, the lodge, and the staff. We stayed in a Roughrider cabin, which means we had to share a common bathroom/shower space. The bathrooms were not kept up, the showers were disgusting, and the toilets were overflowing. This happened in the lower level area. We found ourselves walking to the larger bathroom because it was cleaner and more spacious. The cabin was small and got very cold in the evenings, even with the stove going. The cabins were not very soundproof, so we hear everything going on. Honestly, we loved the area, but could not wait to move on to our next place!.

Room Tip: Reserve a fontier cabin if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maddymaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in Frontier cabin # 85 for two nights. The cabin is standalone, so no neighbors. The cabin has two comfortable double beds and bathroom with a shower. There was a night table with an alarm clock between the bed. Dispensers of liquid soap, shampoo, and conditioners were provided in the tub/shower and soap and moisturizer at the sink. There is no A/C. When we were there in mid-June, it was cool in the evenings. There is no radio or TV, but who needs it with Lamar Valley and Tower Fall nearby. The cabin was heated by a propane heater which had a digital display of the set and room temperature. When needed, the heater quickly warmed the cabin. We found the cabin to be well insulated, so the heater was seldom needed.
The cabin appeared to be recently remodeled . The cabin is well maintained. Maybe we were lucky, but we kept breakfast bars and apples out in the open in the cabin and did not have any problems with mice. The water pressure is good. The cabin has its own water heater. We had to allow time for the heater to recover between showers
At night, the area is generally quiet. The cabins are closely spaced, so you will hear people leaving in the dawn hours. This is an ideal area for traveling to Lamar Valley or Tower Fall; both are in close proximity. There is a stream running on the west edge of the property. This area will be generally more active than most Yellowstone cabin areas. Most families are using the grills to cook meals. With the old West feel and activities such as the Cowboy cookout, families with young children will love this area. This is the place to stay if you plan dawn or dusk trips to the Lamar valley.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pablo312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
25.0 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
14.6 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
36.7 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
17.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Lodge Cabins

Property: Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Address: PO Box 165, Tower-Roosevelt Junction, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190-0165
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Lodge Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Roosevelt Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing